Urgent Help Needed - Car Cannot Start

Zhihao

Hi !

Anyone got any lobang for any workshop which open during the third day of CNY?

My car couldn't start ...

PM Mr.KB Lee for help he staying at Yishun.

Call him hor

Sigh. Now is my turn...

My car cannot start this morning. Can lock n unlock, radio can also come on. But when I turn the key to start engine, there's no response, no sound. What could b the reason? Thanks.

Sigh. Now is my turn...

My car cannot start this morning. Can lock n unlock, radio can also come on. But when I turn the key to start engine, there's no response, no sound. What could b the reason? Thanks.

Brake pedal cannot step, it's stiffer than normal.

Actually when turn key to crank, the lights on the dash board lights up, and there's a very soft n faint 'wishing' kind of sound, but the engine doesn't try to crank at all.

As brake can't depress, the gear at P position cannot move to other position. Pressed the gear release, changed gear from P to N, and when it moved past R, can feel a very minor jerk of the vehicle, but turned key still no cranking at all. At N, even the very faint sound of 'wish' also dun have...

My mechanic not reachable today...

Anyone can help?

Tks...

Brake pedal cannot step, it's stiffer than normal.

Actually when turn key to crank, the lights on the dash board lights up, and there's a very soft n faint 'wishing' kind of sound, but the engine doesn't try to crank at all.

As brake can't depress, the gear at P position cannot move to other position. Pressed the gear release, changed gear from P to N, and when it moved past R, can feel a very minor jerk of the vehicle, but turned key still no cranking at all. At N, even the very faint sound of 'wish' also dun have...

My mechanic not reachable today...

Anyone can help?

Tks...

Motor starter up the lorry liao.. Need to service (re-condition) or replace new one.. suggest you tow the car to your trusted mechanic or search under motor starter in the forum to find a WS that re-cons the starter.

Edited by Buadongdong

Motor starter up the lorry liao.. Need to service (re-condition) or replace new one.. suggest you tow the car to your trusted mechanic or search under motor starter in the forum to find a WS that re-cons the starter.

Thanks. Roughly how much is a new one,would you happen to know? It's an old wish, which I just renewed coe for...

my suzuki sx4 new one cost $550.. re-con is $200..i chose re-con... depends on how long more you intend to drive the wish..

Thanks thanks... renewed for 10 yr, so likely will get new one... tks lots. Yours had the exact same symptoms too? I hope there's no other problems... what could be the cause of this leh? Is it anything to do with driving habit or maintenance or???

Starter motor will usually fail after a number of years, normal wear and tear.

Ok tks. Haiz...

Can jump start n go workshop or not huh? Or must tow for sure?

Ok tks. Haiz...

Can jump start n go workshop or not huh? Or must tow for sure?

If you jump start can work, it means the battery fault, not starter motor.

Mai panic 1st. 

1) Off a/c and radio. Then check your gear is put in P (auto car?) - Put to P.

2) Check battery. Was your battery strong like a bull yesterday or there were signs of weakness? - Call a battery. 

3) Check got petrol.  Out of petrol but petrol indicator no accurate? Walk to nearest petrol kiosk to buy petrol.

Let us know finally how you solve.

what is your location? (Warning do not put exact address, IC no, phone or bank acct on internet) 

Edited by Matrix0405

Mai panic 1st.

1) Off a/c and radio. Then check your gear is put in P (auto car?) - Put to P.

2) Check battery. Was your battery strong like a bull yesterday or there were signs of weakness? - Call a battery.

3) Check got petrol. Out of petrol but petrol indicator no accurate? Walk to nearest petrol kiosk to buy petrol.

Let us know finally how you solve.

what is your location? (Warning do not put exact address, IC no, phone or bank acct on internet)

A/c n radio both off.

Gear is in P. I even pressed shift lock to move to N to try.

Batt was ok. Checked that it was dated Jun 15 so it's just less than a year old. No sign of weakness.

Buy if anything that was not routine in the last week: I had gone to a/c workshop to change control valve, as the aircon was not cold after leg is off accelerator for maybe 20 sec. Aircon was ok after that.

And in the middle of the week, on a rainy day, the stw 1000 alarm have problem. It couldn't disarm via the remote control initially, and alarm went off on using key to unlock. And since it was still armed (and couldn't find the bypass button to press to manually disarm), also couldn't start engine when key was turned. The alarm had a history of giving problem on rainy days, often can't unlock/disarm using the remote.

Petrol still have. Just last night went out dinner till about 10 pm reached home all ok...

Oh, staying at kovan area.

Tks

Edited by Atrecord

1.5 years is about time to change battery liao.

My present battery 30 months still ok. My previous one was more than 48 months before I decided to change cause started to go jb about twice at month.

My starter motor failed me around 9.5 years or 250k mileage. Replaced with a used one for about $150.

The initial symptom was car unable to start. Waited for few minutes and tried again and it was ok. After some month/s same happened again and again waited for few minutes before starting again.  Finally decided to get a workshop to check and it was the starter motor. 

Edited by Dumb

So you didn't buy a bigger mpv?