Lex250 Clutched October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Ok I confess I used to live at this Condo TS was interested in until the fateful incident. in the first year, parking was a night mare! People used to park in the driveway, around corners and handicap lots! You could not get a proper lot if you got home after 10 pm. When the elected mgmt committee took over and subsequently changed security provider, wheel clamping was put into effect. And it was an overnight success. Parking shortages miraculously cleared up! We figured a lot of non-residents from the flats across the street had been parking for free and denying residents of proper lots. So the situation is this TS, if you buy a condo and paid maintence charges. Would you like your security to be a bit on the ball? Unfortunately, their duties cover parking as well and not just security. We are paying little actually but expecting these guys to do a lot. But the fact is they are effective at what they do and if you bought a unit there, you know you will have a good team working for you. What is so bad about that ? Of course, the security officer in question could have dealt with you in a firm but non-rude manner. You can always write to the mgmt or security company should you have an issue with how unfairly you were treated. You DO have recourse. Would you like to try and vent your frustration that way? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 security is about letting the right person come in and leaving the wrong ones out and not about looking at parking lots!!! A condo in Hillview...Never once in so many years of going in and out did I ever tell them whom I am visiting...I only say "picking up resident"...they let me in without fail....however my fren got clamp for parking in resident lots recently...well the lots were 99% not occupy as it was rather far for convenient...yes...visitor lots are even further...she visit her grandma every weekend for many years already...we know the parking situation there...yes...the guards there were good for wheel clamping cars...but not in filtering out strangers...you love them ?? I am not refering to right or wrong here...obvoiusly we go against the rule...we are wrong...but flexibility should be exercise should there is a need to... Guards are not about security. It's about manpower enforcing what the council feels is important. Unauthorised parking is the most visible sign of "bo hue" in a development. Some council also use guards to play the RSM role, identifying which unit display items that bring down the value of the property. No one can say this is not job scope of the guard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 The other day we went to see an apartment for sale at Hillview Regency near Bukit Batok. Drove in, security said park at Level 4 mscp, turned right couldn't find it... hundreds, literally HUNDREDs of empty lots so just parked. After that, one guard straightaway come up and said park at multi-storey - so lan lan got back in the car to drive to the other tower side and found the mscp. Already late for the appointment, but nevermind. Went to Level 4, it was full, but all the other storeys not full so I park on level 2. Guess what? They bloody wheelclamp my car and then in the end even after all the argument made us pay $107!!! [rifle] Want to shoot that fat lady manning her post - rude as well. She forced us literally by EXTORTION means saying that if we wanted our car back, we'd have to pay, no choice lorrr...GRRR what would you do? even if you had a lambo or type R, got to pay still got to pay. Make matters worse, only pay by cash... agent offered to fetch us to the ATM, cuz we didn't carry large notes with us. The RE agent also couldn't believe how stupid the security is.... this is the best way to chase off buyers. Guess what, the STUPID condo has got 82 units up for SALE. Don't ever buy from this LOUSY condo with such shitty pighead idiots running the show. Never met such a dumb condo security. i think u guys might have some problem with the security at the start. normally when i visit any condo, i will try and be friendly with the security. so far no problem for me. maybe u should have asked the security before u park and say u late for appointment. somehow those security like to be treated with respect. give them respect and they treat u like a king Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rncw 5th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 these kind of security guards are normally lazy bums, good for nothing, and their IQ or level not very high type one lah... maybe she knows that you are only there to rook-see-rook-see, then she dare to clamp your car lor...knowing you won't be the resident there... hey, shes not stupid after all...earned 107 bucks out of nothing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Read his post again...he was actually warned once not to park his car anywhere but he did it a second time...guess the guard tulan the fellow ignore him, so clamp... Dun think it occured to him to play by the rules set by others...but it does seem kind of a self pawnage by putting his experience up here for all to shoot.... i have a strong feeling that TS must have pissed the security in the earlier stage. if not, why got security so free go track his car wherever he park?? from the 1st parking place to the 2nd. Furthermore, he was told to shift his car after he parked, machiam kena stalk like that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Actually I do agree with Spade for some part of his arguement The condo security should have known if there are available parking on level 4 in the area. If its full already, they should have allocated him a lot somewhere or tell him to park outside. Which they didn't. Spade is at fault too for not going back to the security to ask for "open" lots. Oh well. Actually I think the main problem the TS has with the security is that she is being very rude (maybe the TS has antagonized the security somehow) However, the TS needs to understand that the security is doing her job and I believe all these things can be averted if the TS talked nicely to the security. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Actually I think the main problem the TS has with the security is that she is being very rude (maybe the TS has antagonized the security somehow) However, the TS needs to understand that the security is doing her job and I believe all these things can be averted if the TS talked nicely to the security. I would feel pissed too. the EQ leaves much to be desired of the security. Well, pay peanuts, get monkeys. At the higher end condos, those security folks are well mannered and normally v polite and friendly, Eg, 4 seasons, Richmond Park, etc...I teach tennis there and they are polite and they will advise and tell you where to park...kudos. Speak good english too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Actually I think the main problem the TS has with the security is that she is being very rude (maybe the TS has antagonized the security somehow) However, the TS needs to understand that the security is doing her job and I believe all these things can be averted if the TS talked nicely to the security. Security guards are providing security mah. You cannot mistake the guard as a customer service staff who provide some kind of service, must smile at you one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 these kind of security guards are normally lazy bums, good for nothing, and their IQ or level not very high type one lah... maybe she knows that you are only there to rook-see-rook-see, then she dare to clamp your car lor...knowing you won't be the resident there... hey, shes not stupid after all...earned 107 bucks out of nothing Don't label these people as such, lah. Yes, the general public's perception of them may not be good because the majority of people doing such a job are middle age and above and many do not have a good education but that do not give u the right to call them lazy bum or not so high IQ. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Rich? Both husband and wife don't even have $100 between them, in the wallets! Pathetic! Cool down cool down... no point doing personal attacks. My grandparents who owns multiple prime district properties & kopitiam also dun carry so much cash in their cash in their wallets Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Security guards are providing security mah. You cannot mistake the guard as a customer service staff who provide some kind of service, must smile at you one. hmmmmmm.......valvet service also ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 (edited) I always wonder if a robber will actually tell a secuirty guard they are going in to rob somehouse... Edited October 22, 2009 by Bavarian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 i have a strong feeling that TS must have pissed the security in the earlier stage. if not, why got security so free go track his car wherever he park?? from the 1st parking place to the 2nd. Furthermore, he was told to shift his car after he parked, machiam kena stalk like that Ya, my same sentiments also. Been visiting many condos and usually when i talk nicely to the guards and ask them to tolong abit, they usually oblidge. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rickster 5th Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 Security guards are providing security mah. You cannot mistake the guard as a customer service staff who provide some kind of service, must smile at you one. Of cos la... Wat I mean is, be firm not rude. Can you imagine if you speed and kena stopped by TP and straightaway the TP open his mouth and shout at u "#$&*^*&Q&* why u speed??" That is what I mean. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Help1 1st Gear October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 i support you the way sgporeans are brought up are like that they see everything as so anal, everything by the book its really a no brainer that the designated lots are full but u cant park somewhere else. its jus like the previous thread where one guy park his car in NUS bin area and left his number for pple to call and the whole thread started shooting him down. i really find this a problem with sgporeans, in life cannot see "open" in alot of things this one cannot, everything complain, why cant we live with more grace and flexiblity. i am sure if the guard talk nicely to TS in the first place, TS would have use the soft approach like ask the guard to "help" abit. TS, have you ever thought of asking the agent to contact the MCST there, theres no point arguing with the guards if they dont relent. MCST reports to the council, if the council knows they just lost a potential resident they might not be too pleased, that means come next yr all the management and sinking fees might be going up "i am sure if the guard talk nicely to TS in the first place, TS would have use the soft approach like ask the guard to "help" abit." ....errr u r in someone turf, shouldn't TS be more politely and use soft approach to resolve the issue? i think most ppl here will chiam siong with the guard if there are no more visitor lots, question here is if one to behave high and almighty, see these guards no up, eyes to the sky then i would say the parents failed to teach the children on humbleness. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 chao zi bai lah....... typical moron singapore behavior, or perhaps chinese Singaporean behavior.. Tink he/she more educated, richer than others, big fark issit.... U tink guard wheel clamp for no reason meh?? ken ni na hia.. Last time I ever see a Lambogini kena wheel clamp at Esplanade carpark for illegal parking also.. Put your farking big dirk head in his/her shoe, if he no wheel clamp, means he/she no doing good job, or even proper job. Wheel clamp liao hor, rich lambo owner will scold or worse complain hor tat y you wheel clamp my car, see lar, kns, now got clamp or scratch mark liao.. U better pay me a new sports rims... U tink the guard no scare such ting happen har. It is becoz of us, singaporean idiots who think owning a car big fark that bring shame to the society. seriously i dont know who dare to do the wheel clamp. i believe the owner have no problem paying the fine. question is, IF the clamp damage the paintwork or rims, who will pay the owner? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 "i am sure if the guard talk nicely to TS in the first place, TS would have use the soft approach like ask the guard to "help" abit." ....errr u r in someone turf, shouldn't TS be more politely and use soft approach to resolve the issue? i think most ppl here will chiam siong with the guard if there are no more visitor lots, question here is if one to behave high and almighty, see these guards no up, eyes to the sky then i would say the parents failed to teach the children on humbleness. correct, not only apply to condo. in any place like commercial building or shopping mall, u need to respect the security. i used to be a contractor and i know pissing off the security of the premise which u will be working in is a NO NO. buy them some kopi, ang kar with them and work will be alot smoother Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged October 22, 2009 Share October 22, 2009 the security guards at The Quartz overdid it in one of my encounters. refused agents and potential buyers to enter because the owner did not pick up call. even when owner tell them to authorize next batch of viewers in, they still call up again and because owner showing the first batch around the vicinity, the 2nd batch again had to wait outside the main gate. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...