Bystander50 5th Gear November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 CD quality music can be found free for download on web if u know where to look perhaps thats why cd retailers are reeling... sigh Let's see how long CD RAMA can still hold on. Miss the old days in the 80s and early 90s where even those small CD retailers will be blasting their music in their small shops. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 Rental is no. 1 killer in any businesses here. No prize guessing who's in charge of most rentals here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 I think this shop is not moving with the times. There should shift their focus on letting ppl downloading music for a fee online. What most ppl are doing now cos of the ease of searching & downloading a particular song instead of buying the whole stupid album. Selling one song at a price(even with royalty fee) is more profitable dan trying to sell the whole album. What I think of such shops are slow in catching up with what ppl are doing now. With a website you dun have to have a chain of stores, dun need to pay such high rent, cut down the manpower for manning the stores. Internet shopping for music is easier & faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Orionong Neutral Newbie November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 Since all of us not willing to see it close down, let pool money to help it pull thru. Who knows it becomes mycar forum CD shop with the memebers become shares holders! haahhaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 Ezy video & poh kim do rental as well. and the places they are in mostly have cheap rent. That CD shop got very chio salesgirls with excellent service, its hard not to buy something... That CD shop got chio bu I agree but not the 'excellent service'.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robert Neutral Newbie November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 wrong for best sound quality .. vinyls are the bestest True Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 I think CD, only hokkien songs can make it nowadays, as the market targeted are not that internet savy. The make shift stall outside heartland mal seems to be doing well selling hokkien CDs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angmokio Neutral Newbie November 1, 2009 Author Share November 1, 2009 Rental is no. 1 killer in any businesses here. No prize guessing who's in charge of most rentals here. I know u know who control.ahem. not only retail, industrial & commercail space too are increasing in tandem, all in the name of shareholders interest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angmokio Neutral Newbie November 1, 2009 Author Share November 1, 2009 I think this shop is not moving with the times. There should shift their focus on letting ppl downloading music for a fee online. What most ppl are doing now cos of the ease of searching & downloading a particular song instead of buying the whole stupid album. Selling one song at a price(even with royalty fee) is more profitable dan trying to sell the whole album. What I think of such shops are slow in catching up with what ppl are doing now. With a website you dun have to have a chain of stores, dun need to pay such high rent, cut down the manpower for manning the stores. Internet shopping for music is easier & faster. sometime borbian, listed company must show to shareholders, must do something to please them, like expanding. another one is franchising. you see some franchise shop and wonder how they can survive but can tahan so long for years? my wild guess maybe change many owners already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 I think this shop is not moving with the times. There should shift their focus on letting ppl downloading music for a fee online. What most ppl are doing now cos of the ease of searching & downloading a particular song instead of buying the whole stupid album. Selling one song at a price(even with royalty fee) is more profitable dan trying to sell the whole album. What I think of such shops are slow in catching up with what ppl are doing now. With a website you dun have to have a chain of stores, dun need to pay such high rent, cut down the manpower for manning the stores. Internet shopping for music is easier & faster. easier said than done... they are just a shop... they have no say converting to digital media.... only recording companies can do that.... but they are resisting new technology due to conflict of interests Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nikamura Neutral Newbie November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 HMmm with this new age of media.. who needs those CD? Iphone, Mp3 players kill them all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultramega 1st Gear November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 This is a good example of "don't put all your eggs in one basket". If they had invested in some non-music businesses the outcome could be different. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WWbarb 1st Gear November 1, 2009 Share November 1, 2009 can survive until now not bad liao...many years back when i went to taiwan i wanted to buy some CDs there but cant even find one CD shop in their shopping district Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic November 2, 2009 Share November 2, 2009 i have gave up a long time back on "normal" cd shops because they don cater to heavy metal fans. i either use Roxy Records or Amazon/Vpost to buy LONG LIVE HEAVY METAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapahfai Clutched November 2, 2009 Share November 2, 2009 sad to hear this piece of news. yes, we are probably right that internet has killed it. nowadays, with music readily available on the internet, not many will want to buy album. dun be surprised, soon it may be the turn of those video retailers. gradually, we see people downloading movies & dramas from the internet. my friend told me he downloaded whole HK drama from internet. I mean, if everyone do this, who will buy/rent from shops? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged November 2, 2009 Share November 2, 2009 sad... i used to buy many tapes and CDs from them 10+ years ago... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Intervuurt Neutral Newbie November 2, 2009 Share November 2, 2009 SMC was a boring place. Prices were not competitive. Staff not very friendly. Locations not fantastic. RIP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged November 2, 2009 Share November 2, 2009 the world has changed and will still be changing all the time businesses got to keep up and be innovate. definitely internet and piracy has killed it.... and many other CDs shops will follow soon... why would ppl bother to buy CD when can download from internet for MP3 players? anyway, i must tell you guys that our SG prices for CDs are NOT cheap...... you go to overseas and buy CDs, its so cheap..... eg in UK, you can buy Singles for 1.99 pounds.... its NOT old singles... In US, the CDs are so cheap as well. In SG, its too expensive..... i wont pay $20-26 for one album look at HK movie industry..... it just disappear..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...