RIVERVIEW

Picanto

most likely. same name david.

If yes then he's 1 of the nicest chap i've met in TCS as he's ever so helpful together with the MadScientist gang [wave]

The fact of the matter is, I am only their customer part of the time; I am not their die-hard supporter. In fact, I would only go to them if I can't get the same level of service or competency anywhere else besides the authorized dealer. Most of the time, a car only needs a change of oil, spark plugs, or various filters. Those don't justify me paying a premium for it, and I get it done elsewhere. But for the times that your car has a serious problem, their service is invaluable.

It seems to me that you have a bias against the workshop - when I replied that they have the technical expertise and equipment to perform diagnostic services, you expressed doubt - without even (as you claim) having been their customer before. And your comments have been to highlight the workshop's failings despite the fact that there were more positives than negative comments.

If you are really as clear of conscience as you claim to be, then perhaps you need to carefully phrase your questions and comments lest they be misunderstood to be groundless accusations of what is a decent (but premium priced) workshop.

Mr. Mong, you would get my business more often if your prices were 20% lower than what they are now. I know you have often explained about overheads especially of expensive diagnostic programs and the need to spread the cost out, but I am sure I am not the only one that is priced out of being your regular customer.

this i seriously agree, labour may be abit on the high side. but their expertise is great, especially with complex conti electronics...

ever sent my friend's car for misfiring problems and blown abs fuse (the abs warning light came on), when some other workshop recommeded him change the entire abs pump.

Edited by Ahliew

Ivan, dun waste your time further on this Picanto joker... search thru his post and u will know that he is just a little boy loves to strir things up... u think he will show up and go to RV? dont dream, its not the 1st time he hide himself behind the screen whenever he was jio to come out....

i am not as rich as you.

i can't afford his prices, so why do i have to go there? u paying for me is it? if not just shut up.

Thanks Bro Toxic118, i am glad that you do know about genuine helper like me, chris and many others from TCS, given our credential, we would never ever bring down other ppl workshop, we hope to help them, ppl in TCS would have know how we help out Autosaver and some other merchant in our best of capability. We believe in helping workshop to grow to help us back, i am happy to see Autosaver and RV doing well and service the automotive community.

As for bro Adrian Li, pricing as mention is always sensitive in any business, i do hope vincent will be able to lower his margin but that would means he have to increase his volume exponentially! haha back to what i have quoted before, i also hope BMW 3 series can lower to the price of camry so that i can own 1 but we can't control that, can we? end of the day, workshop have to be liable to their company profit/ppl/reputation, i am sure you will be most understanding in appreciation of this. However, i will convey this message to Vincent next time when i met him, he is listening a lot from forum but he can't do all as he have other consideration as well.

Thanks for your kind understanding.

David

If yes then he's 1 of the nicest chap i've met in TCS as he's ever so helpful together with the MadScientist gang [wave]

Picanto, pls refrain from getting too overall agitated on this, i guess bro shark just hope you can drop by and explain your vision of how RV should be run to serve ppl in forum, Bro shark also a very enthusiastic person like u just that both of you on opposite side only. I guess Vincetn will be most pai say to let both of you squabble over RV internal affair. :)

If you do have time to visit RV, not for servicing but just a chat with vincent on what aspect did RV did to make u uncomfortable, he will be most glad to listen and try in his best capacity to change for the better. The mee goreng there is good + kopi-O, if vincent do not pay for it, charge to me lor, i pay if you go down to find vincent for a chat. He will be most glad to be of service to U. lol

David

i am not as rich as you.

i can't afford his prices, so why do i have to go there? u paying for me is it? if not just shut up.

i am not as rich as you.

this is so funny [laugh]

i am not as rich as you.

Hor?? you so cheap skate one ahh??? looking for sponsorship for your car servicing?? dun drive lah if you cannot afford...

Anyway, because you are the famous Picanto in MCF... i will do a 10K servicing FOC for your picanto. I ON YOU, oil, filter & labour, On ME!!

Pls dun come and give me any crap excuses hor. I believe a lot of other members here is also very eager to see your birdy face personally.

must give him a chance, he somehow reminds me of myself when i strongly advocate people not to drive to JB. For me, i rather BMW to JB, the stance hasn't changed a single bit. [laugh]

I am uncle weixiang liaoz...

now i recall... i think i ever get a set of sparkplug/ Big bore TB from you many 2

That show is Wheeler Dealers. :D

There is also Wreck Rescue and Overhauling where they take an old car and restore it. [thumbsup] Then if u wana see pimped out ride, check out Street Tuner Challenge and Street Customs. Previously MTV used to show Pimp My Ride too, but tis more of entertainment than educational. :D

==============

Yup. Two of my fav channels are 72 & 74. [thumbsup]

Picanto, pls refrain from getting too overall agitated on this, i guess bro shark just hope you can drop by and explain your vision of how RV should be run to serve ppl in forum, Bro shark also a very enthusiastic person like u just that both of you on opposite side only. I guess Vincetn will be most pai say to let both of you squabble over RV internal affair. :)

If you do have time to visit RV, not for servicing but just a chat with vincent on what aspect did RV did to make u uncomfortable, he will be most glad to listen and try in his best capacity to change for the better. The mee goreng there is good + kopi-O, if vincent do not pay for it, charge to me lor, i pay if you go down to find vincent for a chat. He will be most glad to be of service to U. lol

David

==========

Very nice reply. [thumbsup]

Shows your maturity & reflects well on your company.

I certainly wil consider trying RV out 1 day. [nod]

Cheers. [wave]

Hi Bro Pisces69,

I have to explain my postion here. I am not part of RV but have been friend with Vincent for quite some time and think that such misunderstanding should be clear face to face rather than using forum to "argue". I bet most will agree with me that forum should be use more for sharing knowledge than "squabble".

I do hope to see you in RV one day and allow Vincent to explain his system and his way of doing maintainance.

David

==========

Very nice reply. [thumbsup]

Shows your maturity & reflects well on your company.

I certainly wil consider trying RV out 1 day. [nod]

Cheers. [wave]

Hi Bro Pisces69,

I have to explain my postion here. I am not part of RV but have been friend with Vincent for quite some time and think that such misunderstanding should be clear face to face rather than using forum to "argue". I bet most will agree with me that forum should be use more for sharing knowledge than "squabble".

I do hope to see you in RV one day and allow Vincent to explain his system and his way of doing maintainance.

David

==========

OK thanks for clarifying.

I think Vincent is very lucky to have a fren like u to support him.

And I too feel car forum is better to share good stuff but also point out those not so good.

It is difficult to know for sure why TS started this thread but going from so much good comments about RV & his strong support, he muct b doing something right.

So forums r good to "test" the quality of WS for all to see.

Now with internet, its very good cos its so easy to get feedback from a wide spectrum of motorists.

Last time b4 internet, we only can depend on the small group of kakis to spread the good or bad feedback.

I wait to have the chance to try RV one day. [nod]

Hi Bro Pisces69, u mention something that i was about to say previously.

"RV must be doing something right" that attracts such support from masses.

Maybe let me share something out of the box, if you know Vincent, he would be that type of person that u loan him $100, he give u more than $100 back even at losses. The relationship from his regular is not a customer-workshop thing but a friendship kaki thing that u can call him anytime for automotive help. A simple eg, last week while i was in China, my car couldn't start due to battery, get my friend to slave it for my dad and drive to RV change battery, i return then settle with him. This is not just $$$ issue, tis more than that. Having running forum before, i do appreciate friendship more than car make, when ppl change car, they change club, in TCS, we have all sort of car around but we do meet as and when coz of friendship. Tis another level of link that bond ppl. To be frank, i started off thinking RV ain't "good" due to over pushing by a forummer in TCS, then i met Vincent i think 8 years back, we chat, we exchange view, we grow and the friendship just comes around. A genuine fellow. There is so much story to share that i hope to meet more ppl, maybe tis time i organise another Yishun Dam meet up!

I am glad that those i recommend to RV is generally happy with their services

cheers

David

==========

OK thanks for clarifying.

I think Vincent is very lucky to have a fren like u to support him.

And I too feel car forum is better to share good stuff but also point out those not so good.

It is difficult to know for sure why TS started this thread but going from so much good comments about RV & his strong support, he muct b doing something right.

So forums r good to "test" the quality of WS for all to see.

Now with internet, its very good cos its so easy to get feedback from a wide spectrum of motorists.

Last time b4 internet, we only can depend on the small group of kakis to spread the good or bad feedback.

I wait to have the chance to try RV one day. [nod]

Maybe let me share something out of the box, if you know Vincent, he would be that type of person that u loan him $100, he give u more than $100 back even at losses. The relationship from his regular is not a customer-workshop thing but a friendship kaki thing that u can call him anytime for automotive help. A simple eg, last week while i was in China, my car couldn't start due to battery, get my friend to slave it for my dad and drive to RV change battery, i return then settle with him. This is not just $$$ issue, tis more than that. Having running forum before, i do appreciate friendship more than car make, when ppl change car, they change club, in TCS, we have all sort of car around but we do meet as and when coz of friendship. Tis another level of link that bond ppl. To be frank, i started off thinking RV ain't "good" due to over pushing by a forummer in TCS, then i met Vincent i think 8 years back, we chat, we exchange view, we grow and the friendship just comes around. A genuine fellow. There is so much story to share that i hope to meet more ppl, maybe tis time i organise another Yishun Dam meet up!

cheers

David

I fully agree with what you have said! =)

i am not as rich as you.

dear all... i'm relatively new... this whole thread took me a while to finish reading... i must say that when i saw Picanto post a shark pic for tigershark n his wife to enjoy, that is freaking damn bo liao... in the whole thread i sense in Picanto, anger, hate, fear, foolishness, rubbish... and of course, confusion...

i think the thread should have simply started with a question to answer whatever TS wanted to know... but i think TS kinda took everyone for a ride... maybe some felt like a fool...

let me add my part... i have not been to, heard of, probably will never visit this RV... but because of this PICANTO... i will surely go down see what kinda service my car can get... call me kaypo of watever... i am always in search of building good relationships with good/smart/knowledgeable mechanics...

So maybe Mong has benifited from this Picanto afterall... [laugh]

That show is Wheeler Dealers.

There is also Wreck Rescue and Overhauling where they take an old car and restore it. [thumbsup] Then if u wana see pimped out ride, check out Street Tuner Challenge and Street Customs. Previously MTV used to show Pimp My Ride too, but tis more of entertainment than educational.

Yeah, these are some of my fave TV shows of all time! Especailly Wheeler Dealers & Overhaulin'. Pimp My Ride and the rest mentioned above are not detailed enough for my liking!

Anyway back to topic, BYO engine oil to Riverview for regular servicing of my car. Was sent over to Gary at the other side of level 4, service was pretty good and the mechanic there (young guy with pony tail, can't remember his name laio [blush] ) rushed to finish a car just so he could accomodate mine. Then proceeded to service my car, finished the job at about 1:20pm without even breaking for lunch! Poor fella! Got the oil filter & spark plugs from them so they didn't charge me "corkage" for my 2 bottles of Motul 300V, pretty decent of them I must say [thumbsup]

Unfortunately for me, other problems were spotted during the course of my servicing [:(] Steering tie rods need to be changed, my rear brake discs & pads are gone as well. Damage? Was quoted roughly S$280.00 inclusive of wheel alignment [bigcry] . What do you guys think of the price??

cheers

David

Hear Hear!! Agree that this forum needs more meet-ups so we may communicate at face level, and not just as usernames/avatars behind a computer. You organise YD meet-up and I'll try my best to be there!

Who is Vincent by the way?? Been there 2 days in a row and have yet to meet him! Is he the guy in specs with a crewcut, who usually wears jeans and a white top? If that's the guy, the descriptions here really don't fit [laugh][laugh] And I don't mean that in a bad way! Because to me, he looks like a real tough guy, fierce & scary :ph34r: Hahahaha!!