RIVERVIEW

Picanto

Haha ok because your statement sounded very condescending la....

hahaha...maybe but this is the truth, no one can deny it, alot of ppl will prefer to be a staff and get pay cheque every mth then to do own business. Everyone will say better to be own boss than working for others, but the stress and pressure of being a own boss and a staff is very very different.

Hmmm???? Interesting

Stamford, Hanip and MBM are charging me lesser for my 40K servicing than RV, doing the same kind of servicing.

Which workshops have high profits??? I know Stamford is a public listed company and they can afford to charge lower than many other major workshop.

Very interesting, so need to charge more cover operating cost??? [hur]

the reason is these companies are large enough and can charge lower or even at a slight loss in certain works because they can cover back through other areas. Stamford is selling tyres, car accessories, car servicing etc etc whereas a typical workshop just do servicing. So Stamford can simply charge lower for car servicing but can earn back through tyres and accessories. Stamford also do tyre distribution business worldwide, what is the loss or small profit to them on car servicing....

very true...i come across workshops that employ SG workers, pay is little bit high but generally responsible, good working attitude and produce quality workmanship. MY worker also not bad. But if employ other nationalities, no doubt pay is cheap but workmanship, attitude and workmanship is questionable.

If i'm not wrong, RV has "new" Tiong mechanics..."new" as in I only saw them there a few months ago.

I trust that they are well-chosen for their skills and attitude....if not, then regardless of how low their salary can be, the damage done to any business is immeasureable....anyway i still prefer a local mechanic hehe

Help1's family owns a tire workshop.. [:p]

shh.....low profile man low profile....just sharing my thoughts coming from both ends

Edited by Help1

Agree. Alot of time we always compare the cost from car owner point of view. We try to save as much as we can by buying the spare parts and consumables from the stockist. Then we bring to the workshop hoping to be charged the lowest for labor cost. From workshop point of view, they lose out on the opportunity to earn from the spare parts and consumables to cover the overheads. Hence they have no choice but to charge higher for the labor or impose additional charge for BYO. Sadly most forumers do not understand this point. Soem even go to the extent of condemning them for charging higher. Workshops are setup as business to make money, to provide employment for the staffs. If we expect to pay the lowest and ends up the business is no longer viable, we as car owners will also lose out in the end for not able to service/repair our ride in the workshop that we trust.

as consumers there is nothing wrong with trying to save as much as possible.

shh.....low profile man low profile....just sharing my thoughts coming from both ends

wah....another towkay speaking. a silver lexus for you too?

If i'm not wrong, RV has "new" Tiong mechanics..."new" as in I only saw them there a few months ago.

I trust that they are well-chosen for their skills and attitude....if not, then regardless of how low their salary can be, the damage done to any business is immeasureable....anyway i still prefer a local mechanic hehe

paiseh i seen many guys here mentioned "Tiong", is it refering to PRC and if yes, how is it relates to? pardon me for being blurr.....hehehehe

hahaha...i dun drive, take BMW to work...cannot afford to buy car, i am still saving $$$ for a booklet of parking coupons

the reason is these companies are large enough and can charge lower or even at a slight loss in certain works because they can cover back through other areas. Stamford is selling tyres, car accessories, car servicing etc etc whereas a typical workshop just do servicing. So Stamford can simply charge lower for car servicing but can earn back through tyres and accessories. Stamford also do tyre distribution business worldwide, what is the loss or small profit to them on car servicing....

Then how abt Hanip and MBM??? Both of them are purely workshops. I believe MBM is as big as RV and many marqees and PI using them also.

Sorry, I do not study business admin in sch. I'm just a regular joe(blue collarworker) going to workshop that are reliable yet providing competitive pricing. :D

Then how abt Hanip and MBM??? Both of them are purely workshops. I believe MBM is as big as RV and many marqees and PI using them also.

Sorry, I do not study business admin in sch. I'm just a regular joe(blue collarworker) going to workshop that are reliable yet providing competitive pricing. :D

paiseh i duno how big is Hanip or MBM so cannot comment. But everyone has its own style/formula to run business, some fly-by night (do 1 time and run off), some long term (depend on regulars and fleet businesses). be it running as own boss or as a staff, impt is the monthly pay check must be able to achieve this at the miminum "cannot eat full but will not go hungry" if u translate to dialect....

why yr words so sour one. thou pigcanto is small car, at least still a car man. no need to feel inferior.

sour remarks for a sour face?

I done my computerise wheel alignment at RV at $30 nia.....did they charge me wrong? haha [laugh]

maybe cause you their regular vegetable head mah.... [lipsrsealed]

just kidding... really... i feel at workshops, when i pay more, i'm fine if i like the workmanship, attitude also, and if malufunction can go back to them, in other words after sales service... no point pay less, skimpy workmanship and when you go back to them... "its like this one"... nb when buying never say that... [laugh]

Edited by Ken4555

... yes of course you are right... save but save smart... cheap n good? shabby workmanship risk... die die want cheaper... then the word comes in...... CHEAPO... CHEAPSKATE... wahahaha [laugh]

Of course, there is nothing wrong for consumers to try to save as much as possible.

However it will be terribly wrong to go around slamming the workshop for [knife] and implying the boss is earning big bugs when driving a silver Lexus.

At the end of the day, $ is not everything in a business transaction from consumers' point of view. I look at long term relationship with the workshop that I am comfortable with, the kind of tecnical expertise and after sales service that they can provide. I have already spent alot in paying for the car, what is the cost of servicing as compared to the car purchase? It's really no point to save on the small $. I rather have a peaceful mind knowing that I can trust the workshop to handle my ride and keep it in the best condition.

I have zero knowledge about Hanip and MBM. Riverview's forte lies in repairing and not servicing. Vincent invested alot in his equipment and diagnostic tools for the different major car makes and he employs capable staffs doing trouble shooting and repairs, not merely servicing. The fact that they can repair Merc, BM and most Japanese makes is a strong proof of their competencies. All these comes with a cost which explains why you may have to pay a slight premium as compared to those which merely do servicing. Do visit Riverview if you have the time to see their setup and you will be amazed how much Vincent has invested in his company. He's continously investing to be in tandem with the latest technology available in the market for the benefit of the car owners and keeping his staffs up to date in terms of technical skills. So there's no way he can charge servicing like a one man operated workshop collecting $15 for labor cost.

bro, Wheel Alignment: $60.00 where got ex? some charge even more. $50 or less is if you bought tyres/suspensions frm them... or you regular or friend... how much you expecting? by the way wheel Alignment got computer type and also 'eye power' type. ^_^

anyone correct me if i wrong pls...

Oh so it's kinda normal? Was $50 the last time I did it so inflation kicked in somewhat huh? OK then, this price still can accept lah...