Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 I personally have not been, but many friends of mine studying there (all Chinese) did mention the slight sense of racism :/ racism is everywhere...even if u say there is equality there will be someone who is racist even if it is not obvious. I rather applaud someone who admit that he/she is racist rather than those who are 'closet' racist and there are many out there who is in this category. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 i have done a bit of research many years back.. i had the same thoughts then.. mainly comparing with australia. jobs wise.. not as much as OZ, pay, also lower. tax they pay is higher than OZ, but i am not sure about now. if u are in IT, they are in more demand than in OZ (perhaps OZ had attracted more talents there.. read an article previously about young kiwis brain drain to OZ and how they could retain them in NZ) NZ and OZ PR can move between countries freely.. on natural disasters.. OZ has tropical typhoons (but depending on which state u are), NZ has earthquakes... it is on the quake belt (pls correct me if i am wrong..) OZ has more poisonous bugs and snakes.. NZ is better if u don't like crawlies petrol is also expensive.. not sure about now though.. property is cheaper than OZ, but if u stay within/near city, naturally price will be higher, and crime they don't have chinatown in NZ..but i recall there is a singaporean's club or something on official foreign language, chinese wasn't taught then (u got to check how is it now) some forums were complaining about the quality of school education.. but that is subjective.. at what age are u intending to apply/go over? do take note of their cut-off age for skilled migration. darryn, please correct me if i have gotten the above wrong/inaccurate now Australia is MUCH bigger than New Zealand, so there is a lot more regional variation. Australia is also a federal republic - meaning different states have different laws People always complain about education - to me, is more a case of whether want to learn or not means how good the system is While no official "chinatown" in New Zealand, there are some pretty coherent chinese communities. Chinese is taught as an elective in many secondary schools in NZ now - but do be aware that the standard will be very very low compared to here. To put it into perspective - I took Chinese language at uni, my P2 daughter could already ace that course (as you would expect from someone that grows up with the language) You forgot to mention that New Zealand has a better rugby team than Australia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 And you know the best part? There are so many sheep, they don't need to cheat on you... Lucky u! no wonder u chose sg to be ur 2nd home! so can anytime go back to you favourite sheep! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 You forgot to mention that New Zealand has a better rugby team than Australia. OZ got footy but never learn to appreciate the stupid game Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 you dun have to tell you kids about the law there LOL yes, that was the same response i saw in one of the go to nz forums.. well.. they will have friends right? and the moment people see cane marks, hong kan leow... i also don't believe in 爱的教欲 all the time...kids need to be spanked perhaps parents there discipline their kids with phone books over their butt? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 LOL yes, that was the same response i saw in one of the go to nz forums.. well.. they will have friends right? and the moment people see cane marks, hong kan leow... i also don't believe in 爱的教欲 all the time...kids need to be spanked perhaps parents there discipline their kids with phone books over their butt? Mine used to threaten with belt. Mum broke a hand mirror on borthers backside. Some use coat hanger. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 Mine used to threaten with belt. Mum broke a hand mirror on borthers backside. Some use coat hanger. the handle broke is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 the handle broke is it? No the mirror...so not only she angry for his misbehaviour, also angry about breaking mirror [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 No the mirror...so not only she angry for his misbehaviour, also angry about breaking mirror [laugh] wah,...7 yrs bad luck dude! joking! but if my father was a kiwi he would be in and out of prison so many time...all for child abuse! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 wah,...7 yrs bad luck dude! joking! but if my father was a kiwi he would be in and out of prison so many time...all for child abuse! if we have the kiwi law here, half the island become prison liao [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 wah,...7 yrs bad luck dude! joking! but if my father was a kiwi he would be in and out of prison so many time...all for child abuse! No lah... In New Zealand the law is actually pretty similar to here. You are allowed to use "reasonable force" in disciplining children. New Zealand has a good heritage of strict parents. Just that cane seldom used (belt or palm more common) so not so many visible marks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 if we have the kiwi law here, half the island become prison liao [laugh] so true! i gave my son a caning once in his life and it was at the back for making our guest toddler cry...one stroke and he had fever the next day. From then on he has been a good boy to everyone! Hope he says that way. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 No lah... In New Zealand the law is actually pretty similar to here. You are allowed to use "reasonable force" in disciplining children. New Zealand has a good heritage of strict parents. Just that cane seldom used (belt or palm more common) so not so many visible marks my father used his belt on me once and the buckle mark is still on my thigh till this day! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 my father used his belt on me once and the buckle mark is still on my thigh till this day! Buckle side reserved for super bad behaviour, is normally the other side... But my kiddo I use cane Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JazzaTeo Neutral Newbie October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 I wonder if Australian-born Asians experience racism in their own country? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 I wonder if Australian-born Asians experience racism in their own country? if the kids were raise understanding the behavior and 'language', it won't be that bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 OZ got footy but never learn to appreciate the stupid game And i thought American Football is dumb enough.. The term "Football" should be reserved for those that played under Association Football only... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnny_Lim Neutral Newbie October 2, 2012 Share October 2, 2012 Australia is MUCH bigger than New Zealand, so there is a lot more regional variation. Australia is also a federal republic - meaning different states have different laws People always complain about education - to me, is more a case of whether want to learn or not means how good the system is While no official "chinatown" in New Zealand, there are some pretty coherent chinese communities. Chinese is taught as an elective in many secondary schools in NZ now - but do be aware that the standard will be very very low compared to here. To put it into perspective - I took Chinese language at uni, my P2 daughter could already ace that course (as you would expect from someone that grows up with the language) You forgot to mention that New Zealand has a better rugby team than Australia. All blacks also thinking of moving to Aus or NZ soon, how is life there compare to here? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...