Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

Eyh kuay kah chng, check out the marinated wings!

Lontong: if gravy is made with coconut milk, it's the only thing you can eat in the dish besides the veges. The rice cakes are pure refined carbs. The seed oil they use to cook it is unhealthy.

Chicken chop: can't have a batter and leave out the sauce. The seed oil they use to cook it is unhealthy.

Fish soup: don't drink the soup. MSG.

latest research has indicated that dietary cholesterol has nothing to do with serum cholesterol, and serum cholesterol is not a good indication of any disease....it's just a number lol

Animal fats are saturated fats. Latest studies show that saturated fats have nothing to do with blood vessel damage, in fact it could protect against such problems. The real culprits have been shown to be blood glucose and high insulin.

Sorry lor,"saturated" or "unsaturated" can't really remember.

But my sis-in-law,who is a pharmacist in practice, really said animal fats could cod blood vessels lor.

maybe u want to read the earlier pages, and see the latest research and evidence posted, that for the last 30 years, most doctors and professionals in the medical field, from the highest professors, to the lowest nurses, have all gotten it wrong.

And what's up with the lor?

But my sis-in-law,who is a pharmacist in practice, really said animal fats could cod blood vessels lor.

do take up e effort to read e last 30 pages n u shall c some lights in wat we ve been sharing n highlighting. Best if can read e whole 100 odd pages -_-

Actually I'm re-reading all the postings. [:p]

Monday and Friday routine:

1) 60 pull ups split into 4 sets

2) 250 incline push ups split into 5 sets

3) 60 body weight dips split into 4 sets

4) Six 2-minute planks

5) 40 handstand push ups split into 4 sets

Above is CBS weekday routine. And I measure against what he's doing.

1) I can do 15 at one go. But maybe 4 or 5 when I try to do a 2nd set after 2 minute rest.

2) I can do max of 40 pushups - 1 set only

3) 40 dips 1 set only

4) 2 2-min planks - enuff for me

5) I can't do handstand push up. Can't balance balance myself [laugh]

Back to training for the marathon. Last 2 days did 35 min run with a 30s sprint at end.

Edited by Topgun

Now improve a bit already, hehe.

Pull ups numbers still the same, just better form towards the end.

Incline push ups can do 60 per set now and can go for 8 sets for a total of 480.

Can do 2 extra sets of dips now for an extra 30 reps. Tricep definition is definitely clearer now.

Never do planks anymore cos I don't wanna grow my waist area. My abs are getting plenty of work through the pullups and pushups already.

Now I do overhead presses with the logs near the east coast hawker centre in front of the bicycle rental instead of handstand pushups. I find my shoulders getting more growth from it than handstand pushups.

Doing more 5km as-fast-as-I-can jogs. Will do it straight after circuit training days cos I wanna deplete as much glycogen as quick as possible and send my body into ketosis for more fat burning. I wanna see if I can really hit 10% body fat.

Seems to be working. Went to Topman and bought 2 pairs of jeans today. Now size 28. Size 30 drop to the floor now. Yay.

Edited by Chickenbackside

http://karlmacphee.com/2010/05/19/the-detr...primallow-carb/

The Detriments of Eating Paleo/Primal/Low Carb…

The Paleo community is growing just as quickly as the Primal and Low Carb parties are becoming much more sexy in the world of nutrition. I remember when I was studying Fitness and Nutrition in Collage being specifically told that eating Low Carb is dangerous, and there were many studies to show how terrible this style of eating can actually be.

So, as a highly qualified Personal Trainer, I made sure that I told everyone about how dangerous eating higher volumes of fat, moderate protein and low carbohydrates could actually be for their health. Fast forward a few years, and I fell into bed with a group of friends who wanted to save the planet, so I followed suit and decided that the best way to do so was to omit animal products from my daily nutritional program.

While I did this, I had great health, so much so that I was sure that my current style of eating was the best way for everyone to eat, so I preached to family, friends, and colleagues. I even blogged about it for a while.

But then we had a family explosion I began to eat more meat, more out of convienience than anything because raising premature twins was not the easiest thing to do, especially while planning and preparing meals. Friends and family dropped off plenty of meals which made life easier, but the problem was that all of the meals which were given to us were filled with artery clogging meats and cheese.

We did not have a choice, so we changed very quickly from a high carbohydrate vegetarian diet to a more balanced diet that would look very similar to the food pyramid – high in grains, vegetables, fruit and some meat/dairy.

Then for some crazy reason I started to decrease the grains, and increased the vegetables and changed the dairy to whole fat, added nuts & seeds, and then cut out the grains almost completely. These changes would pretty much match a Paleo style of eating, or even a modified version of the Low Carb programs such as the Atkins Diet, and more closely matched the Primal Blueprint style from Marks Daily apple.

This brings me to the title of my post. I couldn’t believe, after almost a year of eating this way, how detrimental this eating style would be to my health and lifestyle. Here are some of the terrible things I have noticed since falling into this Caveman style of eating and moving so far away from the recommendations of our Government’s Food Guide:

1) I have so much energy every day that I am constantly getting things done around the house, and when it is time to go to bed at 9:00pm as I had done for so many years because I was exhausted, I still have too much energy and have to stay awake until at least 10:30 or 11:00opm.

2) I can’t wake myself up with an alarm clock anymore! I wish I could still jolt myself out of bed with a loud buzzing noise that causes my heart rate to skyrocket, thus raising cortisol and waking me from my sleep cycle.

3) While on the topic of sleep, I can’t nap anymore! I used to nap almost every day, especially on the weekends. If I was at work and thus couldn’t nap, I would become very tired and then begin falling to sleep about 7pm. I wish I could waste more of my life sleeping in the afternoon, and more often at night.

4) I don’t get to workout as often. In fact, my weekly strength training routine has decreased from 5-6 hours a week to 60 -90 minutes a week at best. What am I supposed to do with my time now that I am not filling it with countless hours in the gym burning off those excess carbohydrates that I was eating while on my previous diets?

5) I don”t get to run and bike for 5-7 hours a week anymore. I love to ride my bike and I enjoy trail running, but now I only do it on nice summer days instead of obsessivly in the past. Here is an example, I don’t have to bike to work to maintain my preferred body composition and fitness levels so now I drive to work while listening to educational podcasts…this is terrible.

6) I still run my races in the same times as I did in the past, so that means that I wasted many, many hours training for races over the years and that is depressing!

7) I don’t get to eat food every 2-3 hours! This sucks because now I only have to eat 2-3 times a day, and that means that I have even more time that I have to fill with things like reading, learning, going for nice walks, playing with my children and talking with my wife. Back then, I was able to eat every couple of hours and if I didn’t get to do so I would get shaky, irritable and even sick with headaches and an upset stomach, but now none of these things happen and I am forced to figure out other things to do.

8) I don’t get to spend as much time on the toilet as well. In fact, I don’t even stink up the bathroom because my junk doesn’t stink anymore. Seriously, it comes out smooth, and only takes a couple seconds and I am done. This means that I don’t get to read while on the toilet with stomach pain and horrible gas anymore, now I have to help my wife clean, take the kids for walks, or just simply relax.

9) I don’t have an excuse to leave boring social gatherings anymore. Back when I used to eat right, I was always so tired that I would have to leave by 9:30 or 10 in order to get enough sleep for the next day. When I didn’t I would be really tired for the next 48 hours, but now even if I stay up really late I still have lots of energy the next day so I have to stay at the social gatherings longer.

10) I don’t have a reason to rush to Dairy Queen to get a blizzard anymore because my blood sugar is always balanced. This has significantly decreased my Blizzard consumption which is very bad for business.

11) I have to buy new clothes which is quite costly. Before when I was on the food pyramid and the vegetarian plan my stomach was always bloated and my clothes fit, but now because I am eating an artery clogging diet, my waist is more narrow because the bloating has vanished and I had to buy new shorts.

12) I don’t get to use soap when I shower, and I don’t get smelly like I used to. This is bad because people think I am weird now that I don’t use soap. I can use soap if I want to, but I noticed that if I use soap my skin gets really dry, and when I don’t use soap, it stays nice and smooth.

13) I have to lift heavier weight in the gym because I have become much stronger. I think this has something to do with these really short workouts and the change in foods, but the doctors and fitness people say that I should be working out more often. I don’t want to hurt their feelings, but when I can achieve better results in much less time, wouldn’t it make sense to keep doing that?

There are a number of other detrimental effects to eating Paleo, Low Carb or “Primal”, and I am sure the people who have been eating this way have also noticed many similar changes. What advice would you have for me given these negative side effects of eating foods that were created in nature? Should I go back to eating the stuff with the heart check label?

I would love to hear about the negative things you have experienced after eating this way for a long time because it may help me, kind of like a support group for people who have had terrible and dangerous things happen to them after making a nutritional change from the right way to the wrong way:)

Better and Better!

I'm reading a very interesting book on running, a hidden tribe and toughest race in the world.

Who do you think are the greatest running folks in the world? As a community, tribe, or population? People who run 100 miles a day or more!

Is it the masai? The africans (kenyans, euthopians, etc)?

Wait for the answers this evening. :D

Mave, we are all BUILT differently. No need to try and come up to CBS's numbers,

I told you before and I will say it again to you, DO TO FAILURE

if you can only do 8 reps in one set, and after the 3rd set you already exhausted yourself FULLY,

then you have achieved your training goal, and you will see your gains for sure!

If you train this way, "Oh, I do THREE, can liow" and walk off, then it's a waste of time.

Training to failure makes you go PAST your limit, I train to failure every time, and after that

the next training session will see an increase in weight, thus there is ALWAYS a challenge

in every training session,instead of the same old routine and the same old weight.

If CBS were to tie a belt to his waist, with a metal chain hooked on say 10kgs and do pushups,

(added resistance) and increase it every week or so, (CBS you know where I'm going with this)

I guarantee, if after TWO weeks of this tedious session, body don't change, something wrong somewhere!

when I first started squats, I could only manage 80kgs max, now I'm at 230kgs and going. (I weight in at 93gs,

after going on this change, and shaved off a lot of muscle mass in the process, still more to go, but I'm getting there,

I'm working to go to 85kgs, but with the mass I have, I may have to stop and be happy at 90-88kgs)

Ok back on, train to failure. You cannot go wrong there.

Actually I'm re-reading all the postings. [:p]

Monday and Friday routine:

1) 60 pull ups split into 4 sets

2) 250 incline push ups split into 5 sets

3) 60 body weight dips split into 4 sets

4) Six 2-minute planks

5) 40 handstand push ups split into 4 sets

Above is CBS weekday routine. And I measure against what he's doing.

1) I can do 15 at one go. But maybe 4 or 5 when I try to do a 2nd set after 2 minute rest.

2) I can do max of 40 pushups - 1 set only

3) 40 dips 1 set only

4) 2 2-min planks - enuff for me

5) I can't do handstand push up. Can't balance balance myself [laugh]

Back to training for the marathon. Last 2 days did 35 min run with a 30s sprint at end.

Eyh, tonight using that convection oven, chicken thigh, Tandoori style without the yogurt.

Ai chek mai? I take peekture show you tomorrow, make you lau nuah. BTW, the egg friend in the chicken fat

and marinade, wah, si bey power man! [laugh] [laugh]

btw, now, almost my whole family is on it, except for my 2nd son. :D :D

You ah... Food king! Always tempting me with shiok food. Luckily it all healthy, haha...

Nice!

Although in theory, we can eat unlimited number of eggs, it's better to eat eggs for 1 week, then rest for a week....alternate...

because i've read somewhere that over-consumption of eggs on a long-term basis can induce food allergies [knife]

so that's what i do, eat eggs on alternate weeks. But i do not limit how many i can eat. Usually i like to fry up a large omelette of 5 eggs hehe

I love eggs - especially fried ones - sunny side up :D

But boiling them these days are much easier than frying - less clean up also...hahah

My two dogs love eggs as well - they literally wolf it down in seconds

An aside - I don't think it's allergies that I am worried about but more a case of too much estrogen as excessive female hormone could lead to "man boobs"...hahah

I think you meant "clot"

Anyway, you are talking to a couple of undead guys here...our hearts stopped beating a long time ago

Must be all those saturated animal fats that was responsible...tsk tsk tsk

At least they kept our brains functioning and our bodies so well preserved that we are now the living dead [laugh]

Hi Csnewbie.

Firstly, welcome to the thread.

As you can see, we're a weird bunch here who go against conventional wisdom. A common trait among the small group of people who actively participate in this thread is personal responsibility over health. We don't just believe what the doctor or pharmacist tell us. We ask why and if there is a better way of solving health problems without drugs. We look at the human biochemistry supported with science, both old and new, and have come up with a very specific approach.

The approach is simple. We eat what humans have eaten for most of our existence.

If you're interested, go through the whole thread and all the science in it. The people who have are reaping the rewards.

Otherwise, if you're healthy and don't need or want to reverse any disease of civiliation like obesity, diabetes, high blood pressure, cancer prevention...etc, I understand there is no reason for you to embark on this huge education process.