Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 19, 2010 Share September 19, 2010 http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showt...6587#post166587 Her secret? http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showt...6808#post166808 Thank you guys :-) The primal lifestyle DEFINITELY helped me get there. I've always been a small girl, no matter what the hell I ate, but I suppose I was that "skinny fat" through middle and highschool, then started working out (lots of hard cardio and mild weight lifting) and watching my diet around 15 or 16, about four or five years ago. I've been on a paleo diet for just about a year now. I went heavy on the HIIT workouts for awhile to lean myself out more, but it was SO physically taxing (although it was sort of like a sick pleasure ;-) Yes, I have that Crossfit mentality...) I've come to discover that intermittent fasting (generally a 16 hour fast/8 hour feed) and doing very intense, heavy lifting sessions about three times a week (calisthenics, baby!) has given me a more stronger, lean physique without burning me out like HIIT did. Becoming a personal trainer this year is giving me even more motivation to keep myself looking strong since unfortunately, looks can sell! ;-) Batty, SPRINTING!!!! ;-) I've never really touched a barbell. Jenn, I am 5'4", 106-110lbs., at around 17% BF via a caliper reading about 6 months ago. I'm glad I inspire you! It's totally achievable if you have the right mindset and dedication :-) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 19, 2010 Share September 19, 2010 Want a study on eating mostly fat? Here's a good one: http://www.jbc.org/content/87/3/651.full.pdf Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 General mention dude. Re: Deadlift, return no weight drop, negative important and posture. Deadlifts have been taken off quite a few programs due to the fact not a lot of people can execute a proper deadlift without popping their backs out. A slight turn of the head, distraction, can cause a painful experience. Not like I'm an expert on all this, but videos can be misleading, and the old saying goes true, "Monkey see, monkey do" and that is where all the finger pointing will start. Been there and had it. Re: Third para. Ans: Precisely. Re: final para. Free public forum, free to air your views. Unless wrong, no apologize needed. How so? How are their heads up in their rear ends? They got ego problem ah? How you tell? From the blog or video ah? I've met and trained with some of them before - don't have such thing. Those videos are FORM CHECKS for olympic lifting and deadlifts - not for hao lian purposes. No comments on the kettlebell thing though. And re your comment on negatives, how do you negative when you do a clean? The motive is NOT hypertrophy. IThunk u go into other forum challenge people to fight - when people ask you to meet them in competition, you back off like a bloody chee bai. Kene ban already do this sort of nonsense. I don't normally bother about this, but you come and pollute this forum with your nonsense too. Want to talk about training (WHICH YOU NEED), diet (WHICH YOU LACK) etc feel free to do so. But don't come in with your farking smear campaign. KNN. Others - sorry for the sidetrack. Will be my last post on this issue. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 (edited) Bro. My wife and sister look like that, thanks to the change, wife final=ly got rid of her long time companion, small tummy, aka bicycle tire. http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showt...6587#post166587 Her secret? http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum/showt...6808#post166808 Thank you guys :-) The primal lifestyle DEFINITELY helped me get there. I've always been a small girl, no matter what the hell I ate, but I suppose I was that "skinny fat" through middle and highschool, then started working out (lots of hard cardio and mild weight lifting) and watching my diet around 15 or 16, about four or five years ago. I've been on a paleo diet for just about a year now. I went heavy on the HIIT workouts for awhile to lean myself out more, but it was SO physically taxing (although it was sort of like a sick pleasure ;-) Yes, I have that Crossfit mentality...) I've come to discover that intermittent fasting (generally a 16 hour fast/8 hour feed) and doing very intense, heavy lifting sessions about three times a week (calisthenics, baby!) has given me a more stronger, lean physique without burning me out like HIIT did. Becoming a personal trainer this year is giving me even more motivation to keep myself looking strong since unfortunately, looks can sell! ;-) Batty, SPRINTING!!!! ;-) I've never really touched a barbell. Jenn, I am 5'4", 106-110lbs., at around 17% BF via a caliper reading about 6 months ago. I'm glad I inspire you! It's totally achievable if you have the right mindset and dedication :-) Edited September 20, 2010 by Mazdaowner Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Bro. My wife and sister look like that, thanks to the change, wife final=ly got rid of her long time companion, small tummy, aka bicycle tire. I have no doubt! Same story over at my house... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 deadlift and squat are the two lift i get a trainer to help and advise me how to do it correctly. especially deadlift, the butt muscle. i use rubber band to contact my thigh open close to train my butt muscle. next day, my butt hurt like hell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Yeah, a change over skeptic. in only one week on zero and she dropped off (not completely, some more "work needed) the tummy area. I'd say give and tale 3-4 weeks more, she'll be there. BTW bro. I dropped further, slowly but surely this round. Patience being the key. Training has gone on double intensity, hey, you seriously should join me one day, and let me kill, sorry I meant HELP you. I have no doubt! Same story over at my house... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Deadlifts, squats and bench press all, free weight flies, need spotter to spot very important, I cut off deadlifts, do squats, and incline back pushups/lifts with a 20kg plate on the back of my head. I find rubber band for me, not cost effective, every few months, band will break at the handles, reconnect back, become shorter, changed like 3 already and then gave up the idea. Nike resistance band. deadlift and squat are the two lift i get a trainer to help and advise me how to do it correctly. especially deadlift, the butt muscle. i use rubber band to contact my thigh open close to train my butt muscle. next day, my butt hurt like hell. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Yeah, a change over skeptic. in only one week on zero and she dropped off (not completely, some more "work needed) the tummy area. I'd say give and tale 3-4 weeks more, she'll be there. BTW bro. I dropped further, slowly but surely this round. Patience being the key. Training has gone on double intensity, hey, you seriously should join me one day, and let me kill, sorry I meant HELP you. 我听了都怕! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 No need scared lah, I think I'm only slightly bigger then you now, as compared to when I was months ago. [laugh] 我听了都怕! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 i been eating very little carbs leh , but my weight didnt go down a lot , just 2 kgs , same as i started beginning of Sep till now ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 If you will take my advice, your food intake somewhere has some "outside" carbs sneaking in without you knowing it, eating out and cooking your own food has a lot of difference. 2kgs since you started is already better then nothing, this is a long term lifestyle change and not some fad diet which one goes on to drop weight then when that is done, start everything else all over again. No difference form any roller coaster fad diet. Have patience, Rome wasn't built in one day. i been eating very little carbs leh , but my weight didnt go down a lot , just 2 kgs , same as i started beginning of Sep till now ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Topgun Neutral Newbie September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 i been eating very little carbs leh , but my weight didnt go down a lot , just 2 kgs , same as i started beginning of Sep till now ..... Today's 20th Sept, barely 3 weeks since you started. 2-3kg weight loss is normal I would say. Everybody's body and start point dfferent. We also adapt and react dfferently. Your weight loss may accelerate suddenly and certainly in the comng months will taper off and finally stabalise. Also watch out for 'invisible' carbs. What are your 'favourite' foods that you're still consuming even as you tell yourself you're disciplined and sticking to a low carb diet? Maybe you cut but still take it in smaller portion and less frequently. Maybe it's your favourite home-cooked dish? For me, it's my usual kopi in the morning and mid-day, though I've gone kopi-o 'siu dai' but the sugars still there. The other thing is when you eat outside, even ordering chicken, or kuay chap, cut all the sauce and dressings. Those are hidden carbs that're in concentrated form! Even soup boiled with potatoes, beef stew, meat loaf etc. Those are the sneaky carbs! Haha. Don't kan cheong, you're on your way already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 i been eating very little carbs leh , but my weight didnt go down a lot , just 2 kgs , same as i started beginning of Sep till now ..... carbo sneaks in w/o you knowing it. I eat Indian curry fish head quite often of late. Weight gained 1.5kg :angry: , must have added some sugar for taste or something else........is back to roastie again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chickenbackside 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 (edited) As I mentioned before, patience. If you really want to lose weight FAST, do this: 1) Cut all dairy, except butter and ghee 2) Cut all fruit 3) Cut all grains and legumes 4) Cut all nuts 5) Eat as much good fat and veges as you want 6) Keep lean protein moderate 7) Exercise HARD for 15 mins (like sprinting or climbing stairs as fast as you can or HIIT) 2-3 times a week BEFORE you eat your first meal 8) Exercise EASY for 30-45mins (easy jog or walking as fast as you can) 2-3 times a week BEFORE you eat your first meal. 9) Evaluate honestly if you're cheating too much with "acceptable" carbs or are eating things with a lot of hidden carbs (plenty when you eat outside). Plan and strategise to eliminate them. ** Again, this is a LIFESTYLE change. Find a way to make it feasible to do this FOR THE REST OF YOUR LIFE. If all you can manage is 50% adherence, then you will get 50% results. Some people are happy with that. Others are not. Take me for example, I DESIRE to have 5-6% body fat and have 8-pack abs, but I love to eat A LOT. Eating a lot makes my life GOOD. Eating A LOT feels better than eating less but having 8-pack abs. So, my line is drawn at having 10% body fat, 6-pack abs and being able to eat as much as I want. So find your own acceptance point/level, then sit down and think about very specific steps that will help you achieve your goals. For example, how are you going to put in 30-45 mins of walking a day into your schedule? Does that mean you will have to wake up 1 hour earlier everyday? Which means you have to sleep 1 hour earlier. But since you cook now, how will that affect your evening and family time? Is that acceptable to you everyday? If it is not? How about twice week? Once a week? Where will you be walking? What is the route that you will be taking? Do you have proper exercise attire? Shoes? .... Another example. How do you plan to minimize your hidden carbs if you MUST eat out? If you have pork throtter, you must tell them not to put sauce. But that is not enough. You must have a bowl of hot water to "wash" away as much of the sauce as possible as there is plenty of sugar on it. How are you going to get a bowl of hot water? Will you be able to handle your colleagues possibly thinking that you're weird? Would you want to plan to skip lunch everyday so that you don't have to deal with this? It makes it a feasible way to implement intermittent fasting whereby your body spends most of the time burning fat! .... The list goes on and on when you break an old habit and start a new one. It takes a lot of thought and effort to plan and follow through... Edited September 20, 2010 by Chickenbackside Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 thank u for all the bros advise , i must go n evaulate where have i been eating hidden carbs etc ... exercise , hmm ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Bro. this is due to genetics lah, some have 8 some have 6. I got 6 niah, even younger days pushed to lower BF prior comp. also 6, buay sai is bay sia, if genetically don't have, but can use marker pen draw 2 more. [laugh] Airbrush look more real. Take me for example, I DESIRE to have 5-6% body fat and have 8-pack abs, but I love to eat A LOT. Eating a lot makes my life GOOD. Eating A LOT feels better than eating less but having 8-pack abs. So, my line is drawn at having 10% body fat, 6-pack abs and being able to eat as much as I want. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bighappyjer 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 General mention dude. Re: Deadlift, return no weight drop, negative important and posture. Deadlifts have been taken off quite a few programs due to the fact not a lot of people can execute a proper deadlift without popping their backs out. A slight turn of the head, distraction, can cause a painful experience. Not like I'm an expert on all this, but videos can be misleading, and the old saying goes true, "Monkey see, monkey do" and that is where all the finger pointing will start. Been there and had it. Deadlift is one of the most important compound exercises of any strength, core and mass building exercise. No other exercise lets you push (with your butt) and pull (with your lumbar) at the same time, recruits forearm, gluts/ham, back strength, increases test production. I only regret I wasted so much years at the gym before finally learning the DL. And it's also a damn functional exercise - you don't get more "functional" than becoming damn good at picking heavy stuff up! You're right though.. I've seen too many people doing deadlifts with super rounded back, bent arms, lifting with back instead of butt etc. I sometimes see liao feel pain for them, but best don't be kaypoh and correct them, wait people say I geh kiang ah, hao lian ah, blahblahblah. Best just do my own sh!t and keep quiet. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...