Exercising without a gym

Sofarsogood

We definitely know very little about human biochemistry. It's complex and multi-faceted.

What we do is a shotgun approach. I mean, if a person is obese and has metabolic syndrome (high blood pressure, high blood sugars, high cholesterol...etc), a simply rule like "no sugar, or anything that turns into sugar" will do more harm than good.

But I think once a person is largely healed from metabolic syndrome, then the whole macronutrient thing is largely irrelevant.

It just so happens that many, if not most people, who want to lose weight and be healthier have damaged their metabolic machinery. A simple food rule like "low carb" is an extremely easy way to get the healing process going.

That's why I like the paleo approach. You can go high carb paleo like the Kitavans or low carb paleo like the Massai. The underlying common denominator is simply whole, unprocessed food with some fermentation thrown in.

Can't go wrong with that.

Interesting show I saw on Discovery Science.

We have microbes in our gut.. the interesting points raised are that they influence the amount of calories we can extract from food. Some get more because of these microbes are more efficient or over active, some get less. In famines, the people with these more active microbes can mean the difference between life and death. But in times of plenty, they will get fat..

Again its more than just FAT vs CARBS. there is so much more that influneces why some do well on high carb diets and some do not.

The program did not go into how one can nurture these "good" microbes or which microb is good. Its all a balance as well as good microbes can turn bad in the absence of other microbes.

I am still learning the whole healty living is not just micro-nutrients of the vitamin/mineral type, its also the source of calories mainly from fats. And now, as I have always known but science is just starting to research more, microbes.

The question now is, some people may be genetically and microbially made up so that they can process carbs better.

And we all know how gluten can destroy gut linings and affect microbes. Yet those that can process carbs better may also have more resistance to gluten?

Another allegation the program made was that we have altered our microbial make up in our bodies through use of anti-biotics. The extension is that these changes has caused us to be susceptible to asthma, allergies and more illnesses.

I just want to expand the spectrum of our discussion to see what else we can learn.

Edited by Chickenbackside

We definitely know very little about human biochemistry. It's complex and multi-faceted.

What we do is a shotgun approach. I mean, if a person is obese and has metabolic syndrome (high blood pressure, high blood sugars, high cholesterol...etc), a simply rule like "no sugar, or anything that turns into sugar" will do more harm than good.

But I think once a person is largely healed from metabolic syndrome, then the whole macronutrient thing is largely irrelevant.

It just so happens that many, if not most people, who want to lose weight and be healthier have damaged their metabolic machinery. A simple food rule like "low carb" is an extremely easy way to get the healing process going.

That's why I like the paleo approach. You can go high carb paleo like the Kitavans or low carb paleo like the Massai. The underlying common denominator is simply whole, unprocessed food with some fermentation thrown in.

Can't go wrong with that.

Can metabolic syndrome be healed? once you are insulin resistant, its life long? got to go low carb to manage it?

I know many people still argue what is the right way to lose weight or "right weight" ourselves. but whole foods with enzymes/microbes are still the best type of foods. Again, many people will argue what is whole foods and what is not. I'll not go into that.

Hey,

Statement not directed at you. Just pressed the reply button and did not notice it was posted as reply to you.

Sorry if I offended you.

No problem.

I tot you asked me mah. So I said to read the early pages cos I tot you newbie and wanna try.

For those interested. Dun try if you dunnoe what this is all about. People fail cos they dunnoe what is happening plus no discipline.

problem with this diet...........

every time i dine at ducky shop, everyone seems to be looking at me :blink:

machiam i like cave man eating with both his bare hand and oil splatter all over my face [laugh]

problem with this diet...........

every time i dine at ducky shop, everyone seems to be looking at me :blink:

machiam i like cave man eating with both his bare hand and oil splatter all over my face [laugh]

Ask them to chop it up la cave man ............

Can metabolic syndrome be healed? once you are insulin resistant, its life long? got to go low carb to manage it?

I know many people still argue what is the right way to lose weight or "right weight" ourselves. but whole foods with enzymes/microbes are still the best type of foods. Again, many people will argue what is whole foods and what is not. I'll not go into that.

It will depend on how badly the damage has set in.

My n=1 experiment has certainly yielded a resounding "yes".

My experience may not apply to all, but I think it would apply to most. If a 120kg, 173cm tall middle aged man with a 42 inch waistline, type 2 diabetes, high blood pressure, high triglycerides, high cholesterol, constant gout, constant flu episodes and bad dandruff can reverse all of the above symptoms (now 70+kg with 29 inch waistline) with a simple diet change and short but intense exercise sessions with zero medication while not counting calories, most "out of shape" people should be able to as well.

I'm pretty sure if I ate ice cream or a big plate of char kway teow once a week, it wouldn't make a dent in my health. But I honestly have lost the taste for junk food. Maybe it's partly psychological, but it's part of the process.

Health begets a healthy mindset. Just like how a bowl of ice cream tends to lead to a bag of chips the next day, a four-pack abs tends to lead to the desire to achieve a six-pack abs and keep them there.

Low carb is certainly not the only way to get there. But from my own experiences with different diets (low fat, calorie restriction, vegetarian + eggs...etc), it is certainly one of the most painless ways to get complete nutrition while eating less and not even knowing it.

JERF. Just Eat Real Food.

It's really that simple.

Problem is, people think whole meal bread and pasta is real food.

Edited by Chickenbackside

Yes. And PLENTY of it. :D :D

Today I ate 8 eggs. I think i am in trouble now. [laugh]

I just picked up 40 Lim Chu Kang eggs from NTUC earlier today.

Think should last me and wife until Friday at most.

Got to stock up lard and render a few bowls again.

me told friend that he can have all the eggs he wants as these are good cholesterol, but he replied that his doc does not approve.

anyway,also told him the last time i trusted a doc and in the end i ended up on a hospital bed <_<

Edited by Hamburger

I have close to 10 eggs a day, no special brand, those 30 in one carton NTUC ones. -_-

NTUC shd give you your own trolley with name engraved liao and lifetime membership.

with extra weights below, styled like truck nutz ...

Edited by Gz0707

Eggs are good! 2nd highest source for choline. First is liver. [:)]

Having eaten butter for the longest time, yesterday bought a small can of ghee to try [flowerface]

NTUC shd give you your own trolley with name engraved liao and lifetime membership.

with extra weights below, styled like truck nutz ...

They considering, because I ask them install GPS also. :D

Eggs are good! 2nd highest source for choline. First is liver. [:)]

Having eaten butter for the longest time, yesterday bought a small can of ghee to try [flowerface]

I donno about you guys, but deep fried pork lard gets me all excited. :D

my homecooked lunch for today . 6 scrambled eggs with sardine bits , lurpak butter , mushrooms and chili padi.

Careful about Lurpak butter. Some are not what they seem. I remember on an SQ flight, after I ate 12 packs of Lurpak "butter", I decided to read the label, and to my horror, it was mixed with vegetable oil. It wasn't pure butter.

I remember SQ using anchor leh.