Expertz 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 i suggest for ppl who r forgetful, set a note with alarm on yr mobile every time b4 u drive your car. I understand ppl can be damn forgetful, my wife is one of them.... and its incredible how absentminded some ppl can get. its like x-file for my wife! actually i recommend that if you plan on driving next week tuesday, then buy the license in advance afterall its only $20, if the day comes and you don't drive you won't lose much but who am i to say, i don't drive OPC maybe if i did, my thinking mentality would be different ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 more than 10 times per month? meaning u buy > 10 coupons per month? then might as well convert to black plate...?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swordwind Clutched September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 in my opinion, forgetting is not an excuse. i am an opc driver too. please don't forget, we can also forget about putting on safety belt, forget to signal before turning, forget to on headlights at night, etc etc. at e end of the day, these are just nt very valid excuses la.. :( like what tom_kkh had suggested, once u drive e opc out with the intention to pay only later, immediately set an alarm on ur phone to remind urself later. cheers to every opc drivers all there! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 actually i recommend that if you plan on driving next week tuesday, then buy the license in advance afterall its only $20, if the day comes and you don't drive you won't lose much but who am i to say, i don't drive OPC maybe if i did, my thinking mentality would be different and you still can change the date of use if you've changed your mind... with the mobilp@y that enables you to buy e-day coupon using your hp on top of 24-hour grace period... you really dont have any excuse... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtay 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 hiya....why must be so so so reliant on the government to do everything for us? must we get the government to remind us to eat our meals, to shower, to sleep? Come on....we are all adults here, it's time to take ownership of our own actions. i am an OPC car owner myself, and everytime I drive the car during restricted hours, I put numerous alarms on my phone just to remind myself to buy the e-coupon. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 (edited) more than 10 times per month? meaning u buy > 10 coupons per month? then might as well convert to black plate...?? cost saved by buying OPC = 17000 COE + 600 road tax per year x 10 years + 2% interest per year on 17k = 17k + 6k road tax + 3.4k = 26.4k 26.4k / 10 years = 2.64k per year savings 2640 / 20 = 132 coupons per year considering 12 months per year at 10 coupons per month you still save 12 coupons = $240 savings + potential to save even more if you use less than 10 coupons per month don't forget that since 1 month = 20 weekdays, you actually get to drive 1/2 the time Edited September 20, 2010 by Expertz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowrider 2nd Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 cost saved by buying OPC = 17000 COE + 600 road tax per year x 10 years + 2% interest per year on 17k = 17k + 6k road tax + 3.4k = 26.4k 26.4k / 10 years = 2.64k per year savings 2640 / 20 = 132 coupons per year considering 12 months per year at 10 coupons per month you still save 12 coupons = $240 savings + potential to save even more if you use less than 10 coupons per month don't forget that since 1 month = 20 weekdays, you actually get to drive 1/2 the time dont forget to factor in the money saved from less petrol you need... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jordanplus 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 cost saved by buying OPC = 17000 COE + 600 road tax per year x 10 years + 2% interest per year on 17k = 17k + 6k road tax + 3.4k = 26.4k 26.4k / 10 years = 2.64k per year savings 2640 / 20 = 132 coupons per year considering 12 months per year at 10 coupons per month you still save 12 coupons = $240 savings + potential to save even more if you use less than 10 coupons per month don't forget that since 1 month = 20 weekdays, you actually get to drive 1/2 the time Roadtax rebate only 500 per year, not 600. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear September 20, 2010 Share September 20, 2010 Roadtax rebate only 500 per year, not 600. old opc scheme is $800 if i'm not wrong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jordanplus 1st Gear September 22, 2010 Share September 22, 2010 old opc scheme is $800 if i'm not wrong yes old scheme 800, new scheme 500 only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheenang Neutral Newbie September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 Thought I should share this experience, though the loss seems too trival as compared to the $500 or $5000 fines others are facing. Every time I purchase the E coupon I see that statement 'you are encouraged to buy with a confirmed usage date' so one day I finally did. I purchased a dated coupon in advance because I planned to drive on a certain day. However I fell sick, took MC and did not drive that day. Later that day I tried to cancel that coupon in the one motoring system, since to me, it is 'unused', but it couldn't be done. I emailed LTA to appeal, someone called me to listen to my explanation, guess what? She said that they have no way to verify if I did not drive between 7am-7pm that day. How can that be? If they can check who drove during peak hours, and my car is not in the list, then I did not drive right? She said that that belongs to another dept. Anyway I told her about the misleading statement, that we are encouraged to buy with confirmed usage date, now something unexpected happens, and it cannot be cancelled. I feel cheated. She even doubt that that statement exists in the system, which means she is not familar with it. And the system is down from midnight till 6am? So I'm expected to wake up and go online to cancel the coupon between 6 and 7am, is this called user-friendly and convenience? Anyway no prize for guessing the outcome, appeal not successful. I lost $20 just like that, but that's ok, I lost faith in the system too. I'm not going to purchase dated coupons in advance, because my schedule keeps changing, I won't be able to make sure that I'll use it, and not we are not given a grace period of 1 or 2 days to do the cancellation. Just need to remember to enter usage date after we use the car, it's a challenge sometimes, but what to do when the system is so unfriendly? Bro, this is a mistake I made, my schedule changes at the last minute often and I decided to take the route that you are suggesting, I buy after I use the car. But last friday, boom! mistake!!!! I used my car on Friday, and forgotten to buy until Sunday. I called LTA and was told to write in to their website, I also trie to buy online but too late, now have to wait for letter, hopefully its only 500 bucks fine. Anyway, I am going to do the reverse of you, if i have schedule to go out, I will just buy before I leave, even if trip cancelled , I will only waste 20 bucks. SO you need to think carefully before to reverse this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 Bro, this is a mistake I made, my schedule changes at the last minute often and I decided to take the route that you are suggesting, I buy after I use the car. But last friday, boom! mistake!!!! I used my car on Friday, and forgotten to buy until Sunday. I called LTA and was told to write in to their website, I also trie to buy online but too late, now have to wait for letter, hopefully its only 500 bucks fine. Anyway, I am going to do the reverse of you, if i have schedule to go out, I will just buy before I leave, even if trip cancelled , I will only waste 20 bucks. SO you need to think carefully before to reverse this. Bro.... you are only alone. In Mycarforum There is at least 3 others in the same situation as you "Friday drive, forgot to buy on sat, sunday then realise" Not to burst your hopes but, please prepare 1K minimum.....but don't worry cos by the time you got summon you already save more than 1k and numb liao....in other words...wait long long long for the case to be closed. Good luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vratenza Supersonic September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 Do our MPs earn the same millions as the ministers with portfolios? If so, can the certain group of OPC owners please continue to bug the MPs at the meet the people sessions with their sob-stories-meant-for-TVs to help get their fines waived. If not, can this same group of owners please bugger off? They have more meaningful things to settle like getting help for the poor and starving... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 very honestly, i have ever been in situations where i was so busy that i forgot to eat my lunch and nearly my dinner it was only extreme hunger and gastric during dinner time that i realized that i forgot to eat lunch and that it was already 9pm when i had thought it must be only 7 just because in YOUR opinion something is impossible, it doesn't mean that it is impossible for somebody else so pls stop generalizing most definitely there will be cases where people honestly forget, don't assume that people 'forget' to cheat the system if i own an OPC car and i drove all over singapore the day before, very obviously i will be detected right? why would i want to cheat when i already know very obviously that i will get fined? i can think of hundreds of things that are more important than logging into the internet or going all the way to an axs machine to make payment if your parent died, wife cheated on you, relative got into an accident, lost your job, etc do you think that your top most priority is to go and make payment? If always forget the best thing is drive a normal car, then you will NEVER have to worry you forget cos of some emegency. Afterall this is the nature of OPC, you sign on the dotted then u need to keep up your end of the bargain? Now if the LTA need to listen to whose pet died as excuse there will be 1 million excuse I can think of, stomach pain, feel giddy, vomitting, took wrong medication, split personality, Dementia? ..So no point be angry cos u forgot, mensrual cramps or gastric etc...Just pay & dont forgot again or better still drive normal car lor? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 I find MAzda2gal is a bit of a Joker. Why? Ok its like buy a ticket for play or movie, then didnt see the play or movie. Can claim ticket price back? Wah this driver KPKB cos cannot claim cos he/she buy wrong date...Boohoo.. Then next buy holiday ticket, last minute dont go can BANG table at Agent till the Money drop back into pocket? Its too JOKER already ley bro. . Next time order zhi char food at Hawker centre, then suddenly stomach pain or not mood to eat or gastric, I hope Mazda2Gal can tell off Hawker when he deliver the food, HEY I didnt eat yet, no need to pay can? I didnt eat yet ley . See what Hawker will do to him/her! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 To me, I always make it a point to buy the coupon via phone and until I receive a confirmation sms message first then only I drive off. Only 1 time I had to buy after I drive because the stupid system was down. Waited and waited for the call but never came. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
CWS78 Neutral Newbie September 27, 2010 Share September 27, 2010 (edited) OPC owner who had paid their fine, mind sharing what was time and place of your offence? Mine was caught at ERP gantry 8am... honest mistake, family issue, only remember on sunday, call up but rejected n told wait for letter... Edited September 27, 2010 by CWS78 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheenang Neutral Newbie September 28, 2010 Share September 28, 2010 Bro.... you are only alone. In Mycarforum There is at least 3 others in the same situation as you "Friday drive, forgot to buy on sat, sunday then realise" Not to burst your hopes but, please prepare 1K minimum.....but don't worry cos by the time you got summon you already save more than 1k and numb liao....in other words...wait long long long for the case to be closed. Good luck... yeah I guess have to prepare for the worst, hopefully luck will be on my side or at least let me present my case to them ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...