Is it just AIG? Or other insurers do that too?

Cloudywind

A couple of mths ago, my friend was involved in a freak accident in the carpark where this aunty reversed wifout signal and wifout chking blindspot and hit her ride. But this aunty decided she was not at fault (said my friend followed her too closely) and decided to claim insurance, so my friend went ahead to repair her ride in her preferred workshop and claim 3rd party (the repair cost was abt $1500).

Abt 1-2 mths later, AIG sent my friend a letter that the other party is claiming 3rd party insurance as well and asked her for details. So my friend approached the workshop and they replied on her behalf. After another 1mth now, a lawyer for AIG sent my friend another letter that she needa go to their office to tell them more abt the accident.

Do u guys have the same experience claiming 3rd party insurance? I dun rem having to go thru so much hassle claiming 3rd party or other ppl claiming 3rd party on me, in my previous insurance. Thought all these shd be transparent to us? Is this some kinda new SOPs? Or is AIG just been kiasi?

Normally, if it is rear-bang.. it is 100% the person behind who is at fault.. but as u mentioned, it is a freak accident.. of cos need her to give her statement for AIG to contest the claims. Skalli ur friend change statement in court.. dunnoe who will pay the lawyer fees..

Yap. This is a tough situation.

You will have to prove that the aunty reverse and hit your friend.

Unless you have witness, it difficult to prove your friend's case.

Nowadays, i also learnt from some ppl on this liao....

When see ppl reverse recklessly, i will honk to get attention.

If really hit, my best hope will be someone will hear the honk and be my witness...

Also, don't follow too close when you are driving up the ramp.

The front car may just roll back and hit you. Same situation....

aiya, at the end of the day.. insurance coys juz wan $$$ from us and all refuse to pay for claims one lah... tis is typical of sg insurers...

Nowadays, i also learnt from some ppl on this liao....

When see ppl reverse recklessly, i will honk to get attention.

If really hit, my best hope will be someone will hear the honk and be my witness...

Also, don't follow too close when you are driving up the ramp.

The front car may just roll back and hit you. Same situation....

Alamak, no wonder these days I often get people to honk at me when I back out, especially since I appear not to be looking back. Well, when you've reverse camera, reverse sensors, good wing mirror converage, why would I need to look back ? !!

And the people who did it did not just stop at one toot, but almost continuously when I have the reverse gear engaged. That's really annoying!!

Alamak, no wonder these days I often get people to honk at me when I back out, especially since I appear not to be looking back. Well, when you've reverse camera, reverse sensors, good wing mirror converage, why would I need to look back ? !!

And the people who did it did not just stop at one toot, but almost continuously when I have the reverse gear engaged. That's really annoying!!

You are exactly the reason why motor claims escalated. You very Ya hor. When you are backing your car out of course you cannot see other cars lah! They horn you to wake up your idea to avoid an accident ok!!!! You think those gadgets can see other cars coming ah???

Gosh!

[knife]

You are exactly the reason why motor claims escalated. You very Ya hor. When you are backing your car out of course you cannot see other cars lah! They horn you to wake up your idea to avoid an accident ok!!!! You think those gadgets can see other cars coming ah???

Gosh!

[knife]

i think his camera got 360 degree view and sensors are all around his car.. [laugh]

aiya, at the end of the day.. insurance coys juz wan $$$ from us and all refuse to pay for claims one lah... tis is typical of sg insurers...

Sigh... how true! <_<

every yr collect $ fr u, damn fast wif their reminders. the moment u wanna claim, all kinds of SOPs will come out.

A couple of mths ago, my friend was involved in a freak accident in the carpark where this aunty reversed wifout signal and wifout chking blindspot and hit her ride. But this aunty decided she was not at fault (said my friend followed her too closely) and decided to claim insurance, so my friend went ahead to repair her ride in her preferred workshop and claim 3rd party (the repair cost was abt $1500).

Abt 1-2 mths later, AIG sent my friend a letter that the other party is claiming 3rd party insurance as well and asked her for details. So my friend approached the workshop and they replied on her behalf. After another 1mth now, a lawyer for AIG sent my friend another letter that she needa go to their office to tell them more abt the accident.

Do u guys have the same experience claiming 3rd party insurance? I dun rem having to go thru so much hassle claiming 3rd party or other ppl claiming 3rd party on me, in my previous insurance. Thought all these shd be transparent to us? Is this some kinda new SOPs? Or is AIG just been kiasi?

Sis, this is a tough situation. It is your friend's word vs the aunty's word.

It's a big eats small world..

If your opponent is AIG while yours is some low-end insurance agent, good luck to you.

yes, usually AIG (big company) will send lawyer to question you.

on the other hand, the low-end one just swallow quietly.. end up, you should know who will suffer..~ =p