Astro 1st Gear February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 Hi need some advise badly. My ride was involved in an accident last month and based on the assigned adjustor assessment (Have spoken to them) the likely portion of responsibility on my part for the accident is 10%. What does that mean ? Will my subsequent insurance be loaded ? Given that the other party's car is totalled and my vechile sustain quite a costly repair bill, the total repair cost come up to a large amount and 10% of it easily works out to more then 10K. Should I declare this claim amount in my insurance application should I decide to switch insurance co. This is will likely incur loading for my next insurance renewal. IF indeed loading will be added, I was thinking of appealing against the approtioning as I strongly felt that it is the other whihc is at fault and I should not be penalised for his rash act. Any reply or advise will be appreciated. Regards. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 sorry,but what car got into accident with you and you're driving what car?How come your repair cost for both can at 10% is 10k?that's to say 100% fault is 100/10 * 10000 which is 100k?what car need that amount to repair?Ferrari or Lambo langa with you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged February 4, 2010 Share February 4, 2010 Hi need some advise badly. My ride was involved in an accident last month and based on the assigned adjustor assessment (Have spoken to them) the likely portion of responsibility on my part for the accident is 10%. What does that mean ? Will my subsequent insurance be loaded ? Given that the other party's car is totalled and my vechile sustain quite a costly repair bill, the total repair cost come up to a large amount and 10% of it easily works out to more then 10K. Should I declare this claim amount in my insurance application should I decide to switch insurance co. This is will likely incur loading for my next insurance renewal. IF indeed loading will be added, I was thinking of appealing against the approtioning as I strongly felt that it is the other whihc is at fault and I should not be penalised for his rash act. Any reply or advise will be appreciated. Regards. dun worry lah.. if ur liability is only 10%, ur workshop can do something for u to the extend that you wont need to pay anything. ask any workshop which do insurance claims and they will explain to u in more details. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leepee 1st Gear February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 It jsut means the two different insurance co will payout the repair cost for both cars in the 10% vs 90% ratio. Your ins co will bear only 10% of the costs, while the other part ins co will bear 90% of the total cost. You will not pay anything since you are insured. The REAL deal on why ins co like to appointe 10% blame to seemingly innocent drivers who did not cause the accident, is simply because they can give the excuse to increase your premiums the next year! Its a strategy to increase their profit lah. Last time my father days, you car kena banged from behind, you are 100% innocent and in the right. But now the ins co will turn around and say you stop too early and never give enough space in front of you, which Directly cause you to have to apply emergency brake, which IS THE CAUSE of the rear vehicle not able to stop in time and bang into you. So they give 10% blame on the front vehicle. Next year HUAT for the ins co, since can earn high premium from the innocent drivers asn he will not have a clean record anymore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toapayohkid 1st Gear February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 i thought always both parties would be responsible - so that insurance can jack up claims the next yr even for the guy who is "not at fault" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astro 1st Gear February 5, 2010 Author Share February 5, 2010 Precisely my point, why fault the innocent party when the accident was not casued by me. I just called my insurance company and was told that the NCD that was put on hold pending the formal outcome of the case will be reinstated should I be apportioned 20% or less of the blame. I queried will there be loading associated with my renewal, the co. refused to give a straight answer..... Probably should just accept it and pay the higher premium (if loading is added) and cursed my luck for it..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
A_korusawa 5th Gear February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 if you are very very sure its NOT your fault, you should not have reported to your own insurance. you should go for 3rd party claim & sign all liabilities with you. this means that your own insurance is not 'touched'! you could demand your assigned workshop for 100% liability claim instead of 10-90% did you report to your insurance for the repair instead? leepee is damn right! its these 'chow kuan' insurance nowadays to purposely load 10-20% into their customer to lock their NCD & raise the premium..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leggt Clutched February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 Precisely my point, why fault the innocent party when the accident was not casued by me. I just called my insurance company and was told that the NCD that was put on hold pending the formal outcome of the case will be reinstated should I be apportioned 20% or less of the blame. I queried will there be loading associated with my renewal, the co. refused to give a straight answer..... Probably should just accept it and pay the higher premium (if loading is added) and cursed my luck for it..... I am in the same situation as you. Checked with my insurer and have got a verbal confirmation from two of their CS that I will be re-imbursed with the missing 30% (on 50% NCD) once the discharge form is signed. My workshop requested me to go for re-inspection since the 3rd party is disputing a clear-cut case. I am getting really annoyed by the insurance companies today. Since I started driving ten over years ago, insurance claims had never been so difficult and the process being so long. This case has been on the tray for almost half a year already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sbtyong 1st Gear February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 Hence, when buy insurance, just go around shopping for the cheapest quote. Insurance company these days all the same when it come to claims, so why buy higher price & having wishful thinking of 'better' service (no such thing now)? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 How did the accident happen ? http://www.gia.org.sg/pdfs/Barometer%20of%...%20Jun%2008.pdf The file maybe of interest to you. (shows you liabilities of both parties) Anyway...regardless of how the accident happen....the sad thing is...you are basically screwed. Unless you wanna take a case against their finding....which is gonna be costly to fight for that 10%.... Your NCB will not be effected if I am not wrong. Anything more than 80% against the other side, is a basically you win situation. Your premium will raise slightly next year. Generally if 1 accident a year (choy !!!!) is ok...but if you suay like me....1 year kenna bang 3 times...your premium is gonna hurt. 1) Stop at Zebra crossing pple bang me from the rear. (like you...I also kenna 10% liability) The only thing I can think of is wrong place at the wrong time. 2) Pple brake on x'pressway I stop....pple bang me from the rear Again...10% at fault (wrong place wrong time) 3) Heavy jam on x'pressway...start stop traffic...I move off then brake cos the car in front has stop...pple bang me. Again...10% at fault. WTH !! All 3 add up...my premium went up....LPPL gotta pay. Dunno who's dumb idea was it to come up with this crap about liabilities. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 (edited) if you are very very sure its NOT your fault, you should not have reported to your own insurance. you should go for 3rd party claim & sign all liabilities with you. this means that your own insurance is not 'touched'! you could demand your assigned workshop for 100% liability claim instead of 10-90% did you report to your insurance for the repair instead? leepee is damn right! its these 'chow kuan' insurance nowadays to purposely load 10-20% into their customer to lock their NCD & raise the premium..... Isn't it a contractual requirement nowadays that you're required to report ANY accident, no matter how minor, to your own company. Even if it's for "record" purposes only? The insurance contract I got when I bought my wife a car even stipulates how the NCD will automatically be reduced if I failed to report an incident to them, but they came to know about it somehow. Doesn't matter if I'm in the wrong or not, doesn't matter whether the other guy made a claim against my insurance, etc. Simply failing to report to them means I would lose NCD if they found out. Insurance companies and GIAS are a ridiculous evil cartel now. In my travels to the UK and US, I've never seen such ludicrous policies, and their cars and premiums are much cheaper, too. I partly blame the gahmen, since they could easily put a stop to this nonsense if they chose to. Edited February 5, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 It jsut means the two different insurance co will payout the repair cost for both cars in the 10% vs 90% ratio. Your ins co will bear only 10% of the costs, while the other part ins co will bear 90% of the total cost. You will not pay anything since you are insured. The REAL deal on why ins co like to appointe 10% blame to seemingly innocent drivers who did not cause the accident, is simply because they can give the excuse to increase your premiums the next year! Its a strategy to increase their profit lah. Last time my father days, you car kena banged from behind, you are 100% innocent and in the right. But now the ins co will turn around and say you stop too early and never give enough space in front of you, which Directly cause you to have to apply emergency brake, which IS THE CAUSE of the rear vehicle not able to stop in time and bang into you. So they give 10% blame on the front vehicle. Next year HUAT for the ins co, since can earn high premium from the innocent drivers asn he will not have a clean record anymore. i do believe you're right.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 Isn't it a contractual requirement nowadays that you're required to report ANY accident, no matter how minor, to your own company. Even if it's for "record" purposes only? The insurance contract I got when I bought my wife a car even stipulates how the NCD will automatically be reduced if I failed to report an incident to them, but they came to know about it somehow. Doesn't matter if I'm in the wrong or not, doesn't matter whether the other guy made a claim against my insurance, etc. Simply failing to report to them means I would lose NCD if they found out. Insurance companies and GIAS are a ridiculous evil cartel now. In my travels to the UK and US, I've never seen such ludicrous policies, and their cars and premiums are much cheaper, too. I partly blame the gahmen, since they could easily put a stop to this nonsense if they chose to. The same actually applies to drunk driving (rightfully). If you withhold relevant information from the insurance company they may refuse an otherwise legitimate claim. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 In my travels to the UK and US, I've never seen such ludicrous policies, and their cars and premiums are much cheaper, too US insurance isn't cheap. Ca Acura's "Accord" premium pa USD 3Kish Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nmnhnlm Clutched February 5, 2010 Share February 5, 2010 Yes, you have to report about past claims when you renew your insurance. But you may want to declare total lost instead..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...