Robo 2nd Gear March 22, 2010 Author Share March 22, 2010 well i guess it depends on personal preference. some like me thinks to start on a average size but gd 3Cs some would prefer bigger size and compromise a little on the 3Cs. so it depends on personal preference. and ur budget. a good 3Cs for 0.45 is around $3k+ if u know where to get them. a 1.0carat w/o cert can be bought at <2k if u know where to get them also. so its ur preference. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 22, 2010 Author Share March 22, 2010 haha my friend just propose to his gf and he told me his proposal line was: "take this ring as a symbol of my love. you stay at this weight, my ring stay with you forever." i laugh until foam come out. knn if im the ger i will slap him. SMLJ by you stay at this weight, my ring stay with you forever." [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1l0v3you Clutched March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 knn if im the ger i will slap him. SMLJ by you stay at this weight, my ring stay with you forever." [laugh] he weird weird full of nonsense one but quite funny. when i ask, so did she say yes? he pai seh to say. i think never agree hahahaa. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 22, 2010 Author Share March 22, 2010 he weird weird full of nonsense one but quite funny. when i ask, so did she say yes? he pai seh to say. i think never agree hahahaa. huh.... tats really paiseh leh.... hmmmm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Wah....this thread still going strong. Very soon it will be Baby give birth simi budget. Kids expenses simi budget........ Even your daily sleep also got budget and limit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgg687z Clutched March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 I think your partner say "I do" not bcos of the cost of the ring. that's true meaning of marriage Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched March 22, 2010 Share March 22, 2010 Sad for me? I doubt that would ever happen. But I would be sad if my gf is stuck with someone like you, cause you are definitely speaking a different love language. Instead of focusing on the actual price tag of the ring, I believe in the value instead. Good that you found someone who is right for you, however your opinion is yours alone and we are happy with ours. well spoken for Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched March 23, 2010 Share March 23, 2010 After reading through this thread, it makes me think that the kind of ring is very subjective. But the most important is not the size of ring but whether the girl likes it. The other day, I was glancing through some jewellery shops for wedding ring. Nowadays, those rings are quite cheap. The sales personnel showed me a 0.3 carat ring, costing abt $500plus only. No doubt, price is good but I feel my spouse deserve better. So I asked for recommendations of 1.0 carat ring. The salesman was like so surprised,"Sir, are u sure? A 1.0 carat ring will cost btw 8K up to 20K!" Then he said that he will arrange 1 day for me to view. After that, I was thinking, "Does my request warrant such a reaction?I'm sure the shop has sold 1 carat or even bigger rings b4." Anyway, the salesman's expression is timeless. If you ask me, size is really secondary because you know it can be very cheap. The cut is quite important, then the clarity, then color. A diamond can look smaller than a smaller one with a better cut. Lots of lobangs in this thread, do look around for deals for a good cut, good quality diamond. Don't be too focus on the carat aka weight. But most importantly, check what your other half actually wants secretly without spoiling the surprise. Like someone here, Diamond is optional. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 23, 2010 Author Share March 23, 2010 If you ask me, size is really secondary because you know it can be very cheap. The cut is quite important, then the clarity, then color. A diamond can look smaller than a smaller one with a better cut. Lots of lobangs in this thread, do look around for deals for a good cut, good quality diamond. Don't be too focus on the carat aka weight. But most importantly, check what your other half actually wants secretly without spoiling the surprise. Like someone here, Diamond is optional. yea agree... key is surprise. however i guess gers all have this ability. somehow some way she will know its coming! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wbucket Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 yea agree... key is surprise. however i guess gers all have this ability. somehow some way she will know its coming! Not all girls like that surprise. Some I know placed so much emphasis on what type of ring they want that they bring/drag the bf with them to go ring hunting. Then buy liao, keep with bf until he is ready to propose. And the best part is the proposal is usually almost the last thing they do, after booking dinner, ROM date, house, etc. I feel it is practical and the whole meaning of a proposal is gone. Then again they might be happier this way, planned and uneventful life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nostalgia 4th Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 After that, I was thinking, "Does my request warrant such a reaction?I'm sure the shop has sold 1 carat or even bigger rings b4." Anyway, the salesman's expression is timeless. That question from you is absolutely valid. Don't bother returning to that shop if they're not used to this type of business - it'll just mean you'll be selecting from limited stock and price points. Go to shops that friends recommend that actually carry the stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear March 24, 2010 Author Share March 24, 2010 After reading through this thread, it makes me think that the kind of ring is very subjective. But the most important is not the size of ring but whether the girl likes it. The other day, I was glancing through some jewellery shops for wedding ring. Nowadays, those rings are quite cheap. The sales personnel showed me a 0.3 carat ring, costing abt $500plus only. No doubt, price is good but I feel my spouse deserve better. So I asked for recommendations of 1.0 carat ring. The salesman was like so surprised,"Sir, are u sure? A 1.0 carat ring will cost btw 8K up to 20K!" Then he said that he will arrange 1 day for me to view. After that, I was thinking, "Does my request warrant such a reaction?I'm sure the shop has sold 1 carat or even bigger rings b4." Anyway, the salesman's expression is timeless. dont commit to one so fast explore ur options first. there is many smaller shops out there that is much cheaper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Melvinyuen 2nd Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 nonsense. who say the proposal ring must be 4 times the monthly income. your friend is clearly seeing you as a carrot, albiet not for herself. i noe you dont mind spending but the size and cost of the proposal ring has no bearing at all on how blissful your marriage will be lor. Surely your fiance wouldnt mind a decent ring, since she loves you and not the ring, and $2500 is about right. i am sure she would rather you be financially prudent and sound during marriage, than to see you splurge on such symbolic materialism. you dont have to prove to her this way. serious, save the money and go for a diamond not too extravagant, and keep the money for both your future. And tell your that friend dont bullsh*t. This is not India and you dont have to give a cow as a dowry so to speak. btw, personally i'd buy a Lee Hwa as their cut is superb. Bro I agree Lee Hwa is good.. I got mine for my gf(now wife) from Lee Hwa 0.5 carrot.... wow i felt like carrot as it cost me $4588.. But well till now wifey only keeps it in the safe and seldom wears it. She only wears the wedding band which i got. It's a eternity all round small diamonds around the platinium ring. Only during occations then she will take the proposal ring out and wear... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapahfai Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 That question from you is absolutely valid. Don't bother returning to that shop if they're not used to this type of business - it'll just mean you'll be selecting from limited stock and price points. Go to shops that friends recommend that actually carry the stuff. you are probably right. Their target market is different, I guess. They do not mass-produce those bigger carat rings. Actually, not only this shop. I went to Tian Po & have to come on separate day to view. But their prices are much lower. I can get 1.0 carat ring starting from $5K. Probably, the colour/clarity is lowest grade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yapahfai Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Yup, I will consider carefully & not to rush into it for sure. Afterall, it's a big ticket item. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs_1984 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Ytd i was shopping for a proposal ring... I was walking around tampines mall/one area, after going through all the shops i was deciding on a 0.46carat color D clarity VVS1, EX,VG,VG from Soo kee. the SE quoted me $2499 after resetting and everything. i was wondering i whether or not its a good deal. i suddenly tot of my buddy's gf, who is somewhat a expert in diamonds. she told me a proposal ring is supposed to be 4x my monthly income. and my gf deserve morethan a 0.44 $2.5k ring i was like, like that i must spend more than $10k liao. she also advise that no point gg to the general shops as im actually paying for the brand. she told me she wanna recommend me a few private custom jewellers to custom set for me im wondering how much u guys spend on the ring that make u go on ur knees and whether u all got custom jewellers to intro anot... i dont mind spending but most impt must get best deal If you are buying a tiffany.... Then what i can advise you is, go for it. Hear it from one that has really buy it rather than urban legend... Cos when i propose last christmas, i only gave her in the black velvet box, not in the blue box that women drool over. What make it special is the service you are getting. Of all the shop you go, they always focus on colour, carat and clarity. But nv on cut. You will always hear the SE say what hearts and arrows symmetry is best of best cut, but later when u see the cert, this is what you see. Cut Grade: Good/Very Good Polish: Good/Very Good symettry: Good/Very good. I go there see what i can afford then ask the SE to pick a few for me. She offered me 4 ring, then i narrow down to 2 rings and choose the proposal ring. The specs you are getting for cut is: Cut Grade: Excellent Polish: Excellent symettry: Excellent Tiffany is not cut to hearts and arrows symmetry, but because of the triple excellent, it will have the hearts and arrow symmetry when u look down with a scope. Then abt these AGS and GIA certification. Tiffany cut is to exacting standards. Both AGS and GIA ideal cut, at least this is what i had la. So you are not paing for the brand or box. If you want the same standard, ask local jewellers and you will get prices around tiffany prices. PM me if you need help in buying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs_1984 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 when i shopp ytd my minimum criteria is D, VS1 or E VVS1. im trying to not start so big. cuz this kinda things cannot in the future can only go upsize cannot go downsize. D or E? too off the charts liao la. Get F or G or H la. Then you can go for a bigger size. Clarity VS1 or VS2 can liao. Then you can spend you money wiser. to be honest, i got a H colour VS1, 5th grade in the color charts. When i go to a distiguished local jeweller for my wedding band, she saw the ring and said colour is surely in D or E colour. She is a manager of the branch. So either the manager is very lousy or the colour ratings are just a tool to make u waste more money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gs_1984 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Well to put it in a crude way, diamond rings are like cleavages. Got nice cleavage, dare to show. Else it will end up in a drawer or safe never to see the light again. I think so too. my wife wore my proposal ring daily to work. Only took off before she sleep. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...