Lingling 1st Gear August 17, 2010 Share August 17, 2010 yours got diamond not bad liao... my wedding band from larry, no diamond is $1k each... lets not talk about the proposal ring wah! wedding band already of Larry ah.... then proposal ring??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 wah! wedding band already of Larry ah.... then proposal ring??? er.... same... cannot afford higher class one... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonick Neutral Newbie August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 start small... trust me... sounds like you took the wrong step and bought a big one from the start? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonick Neutral Newbie August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 er.... same... cannot afford higher class one... your proposal ring from larry what carat and how much? give some detail please! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lingling 1st Gear August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 er.... same... cannot afford higher class one... wow..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 your proposal ring from larry what carat and how much? give some detail please! not convi post in open leh.... you pm me ba Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 18, 2010 Share August 18, 2010 sounds like you took the wrong step and bought a big one from the start? nope i started small.... but then i ownself had one that i do not wear... once i start wearing it... her requirement for her proposal ring was simple.. has to be bigger than mine can liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonick Neutral Newbie August 19, 2010 Share August 19, 2010 nope i started small.... but then i ownself had one that i do not wear... once i start wearing it... her requirement for her proposal ring was simple.. has to be bigger than mine can liao haha. ok then stop buying any diamond for yourself. if not everytime you buy one you gotta upgrade for her too. of cos if you can afford why not? haha. i send you my best regards. how long have you been married? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 21, 2010 Share August 21, 2010 just now went Causeway wah renovation all alot discount is GIA VS1,D 0.7c $2k worth to buy?? if not Hearts of Fire perfect cut good one? 0.5+ nid ard $3k+ 2-4 shops there got 60-70% for GIA one.. GIA good enuff ?? if not i settle for it liao.within bugdet..lol if not worst come to worst GIA VS1,E, 1.21c 3 stones $3.4k? wah the sales explained until i gong gong..end up all use a x100 scope to see these differences..as well whack a bigger one..but not so 'perfect' cut etc..better? so chimz one.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LotusExige1982 Neutral Newbie August 21, 2010 Share August 21, 2010 just now went Causeway wah renovation all alot discount is GIA VS1,D 0.7c $2k worth to buy?? if not Hearts of Fire perfect cut good one? 0.5+ nid ard $3k+ 2-4 shops there got 60-70% for GIA one.. GIA good enuff ?? if not i settle for it liao.within bugdet..lol if not worst come to worst GIA VS1,E, 1.21c 3 stones $3.4k? wah the sales explained until i gong gong..end up all use a x100 scope to see these differences..as well whack a bigger one..but not so 'perfect' cut etc..better? so chimz one.. From what i learned online and through a private jeweler, Cut is actually very important as it determines the brilliance and fire of a diamond. Most of the time a triple excellent cut has a wide range of brilliancy difference. There are websites such as http://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca/ that allows you to input the values on the certificate to calculate the brilliance of it. Determinants of Pricing: Florescence - For high color D E F G, florescence should be avoided as it causes the diamond to look milky under sunlight. It however helps diamonds H and below with a yellow tinge to perform better with the blue florescence. A piece of diamond with fluorescence will cause the pricing to drop drastically, so please take note of it on the certification and not be 'sales-talked' into purchasing them on an impulse. Hearts & Arrows - I take it that the diamonds are Round brilliant because u mentioned Hearts on Fire, so are they Hearts & Arrows stone? Try to get a look or copy of the certification as Hearts & Arrows stone might costs more. From my private jeweler, he show me examples of true hearts & arrows and examples of non-true which can be checked out here http://www.pricescope.com/files/images/jou...ws/heart001.jpg Hearts might have uneven sizes or breaks in them Clarity - Get the sales assistant to tell you where the flaws are at. Example flaws to be avoided.. Feather at the girdle, which might result in chipping off if too carelessly worn Black spots in the diamond, which will block off light and the particular spot will look dull Clouding in the diamond, some might be minor, some might be very milky clouding that affects the light return of the piece Other places to check out: Private jewelers - Larry's Jewellery, Paul from House of Hung, Delphi Orchard that building has a few if i remember correctly one of them is Canary Local Brands - SooKee, LeeHwa, P0h Heng, GoldHeart Online sites like - www.bluenile.com or www.whiteflash.com or www.goodoldgold.com and multiply in the exchange rate with GST Bros out there feel free to add in other good places you guys went before. Anyways, 0.70 carats VS1 D color 2k for a round diamond?? From my experience snooping around looking for my wife, it is kind of impossible. Is it ok if you get a copy of the certificate and post it here? if not you can PM me the shop name please. Thank you :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 21, 2010 Share August 21, 2010 (edited) I saw by the scope got hearts n arrow wah v v swee sia but price also v ex D is more white too EFG yellow i noe simple to test is white paper iirc 0.5 or 0.7 i forgot coz i saw alot but got 60percent baseprice 5-6k iirc so average 1k plus can get 0.3 to 0.5 liao 4 shops in causeway point from 1pm to 4pm alot pple inside the shops So GIA cert enuff? Wah those simi heart or arrow one use scope see one, i saw the workmanship v solid sia 13k for 0.5c iirc no discount for the range lol Edited August 21, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LotusExige1982 Neutral Newbie August 21, 2010 Share August 21, 2010 I saw by the scope got hearts n arrow wah v v swee sia but price also v ex D is more white too EFG yellow i noe simple to test is white paper iirc 0.5 or 0.7 i forgot but got 60percent so average 1k plus can get 0.3 to 0.5 liao So GIA cert enuff? Wah those simi heart or arrow one use scope see one, i saw the workmanship v solid sia D is the whitest of course. E F G actually after putting into a ring, it will look similar and not of such a big difference. Yellow tinge normally becomes more obvious when it hits H and below. and yes, putting it behind a white paper is the best way to look at the color. Most probably it is 0.5 carats and not 0.7 carats. I am not too sure for the pricing as different places charges differently. By far the the cheapest i saw would have to be www.bluenile.com You can try looking for one online as my friend bought one and is relatively safe. There is however a local jeweler that offers diamonds at that kind of prices which sells super ideal cuts. GIA cert will only show you if it is graded as H&A stone or not. The true H&A requires looking at it physically. Most stores locally does not sell diamonds in loose as the Hearts can only be viewed from bottom. So when made into a ring, they can cover up the fact that the Hearts are not actually perfect. I suppose what they showed you in the store is from top view down, which only Arrows can be seen. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 Last time thes gals will say 1x monthly salary, then they start comparing then 2X monthly..Now standard 4X monthly? WTF man, we have to buy our wife now? Viet wife only cost 5k wor . Dunno la, we men are made out to be suckers for life by women. If I were you I buy a reasonable ring...say 2-3k, then if her face not happy, then I know she is not the right 1. If she goal in life is to make me suffer wtf, I may as well be a wanker or buy a viet bride...Give less problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged August 25, 2010 Share August 25, 2010 haha. ok then stop buying any diamond for yourself. if not everytime you buy one you gotta upgrade for her too. of cos if you can afford why not? haha. i send you my best regards. how long have you been married? just back overseas... married < 1yr.... thanks for your wishes Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LotusExige1982 Neutral Newbie August 31, 2010 Share August 31, 2010 Last time thes gals will say 1x monthly salary, then they start comparing then 2X monthly..Now standard 4X monthly? WTF man, we have to buy our wife now? Viet wife only cost 5k wor . Dunno la, we men are made out to be suckers for life by women. If I were you I buy a reasonable ring...say 2-3k, then if her face not happy, then I know she is not the right 1. If she goal in life is to make me suffer wtf, I may as well be a wanker or buy a viet bride...Give less problems. I like the Hotel 81 built quote you have. Very witty =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
X18 2nd Gear September 29, 2010 Share September 29, 2010 (edited) Hi all the diamond experts! Currently down to two choices: 1. 0.67 carat, I colour, VS1 2. 0.54 carat, G colour, VS1 Assuming the cut for both are the same, which one do you guys think is a better choice? The sales lady told me for those small diamonds (< 1 carat), the colour (as long as above J) and clarity are less important... The 0.54 carat one still $500 more ex..haha... Thanks for the advice... Edited September 29, 2010 by X18 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 29, 2010 Author Share September 29, 2010 Hi all the diamond experts! Currently down to two choices: 1. 0.67 carat, I colour, VS1 2. 0.54 carat, G colour, VS1 Assuming the cut for both are the same, which one do you guys think is a better choice? The sales lady told me for those small diamonds (< 1 carat), the colour (as long as above J) and clarity are less important... The 0.54 carat one still $500 more ex..haha... Thanks for the advice... i would suggest u go for higher clarity.. a VVS at least as the colors are not the whitest. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Robo 2nd Gear September 29, 2010 Author Share September 29, 2010 wads the budget btw? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...