Benarsenal Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 It's all a mind set. Your petrol to East coast is not free? You do pay taxes on the petrol as well. You pay many kinds of taxes on your car so you can enjoy it? Just that its hidden taxes. . In many parts of KL when u drive from 1 place to another, you may eirther pay a toll for smooth traffic anyway. At least when I pay for petrol I actually get to use it. I pay for a product. Things like ERP etc, the money is not usable to us. All goes to Govt. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chiongster Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Sians....Means more $$$ have to come out liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Your car cost 1/3 of its real value cos the tax here is very high. U pay COE is nothing but a piece of paper..What OMV, excise tax etc? If u think you are just buying a car you are fooling urself, cos you are paying a very tax. That why the depreciation is very high in SG. You are in fact taking a loan to pay the Govt tax!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 Your car cost 1/3 of its real value cos the tax here is very high. U pay COE is nothing but a piece of paper..What OMV, excise tax etc? If u think you are just buying a car you are fooling urself, cos you are paying a very tax. That why the depreciation is very high in SG. You are in fact taking a loan to pay the Govt tax!!! I know that. But that is pretty much unavoidable. ERP is avoidable (to a certain extent currently). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 lets hope so bro.... after so many rounds, hope the 66.6% of the plp will wake up their mind and dun get fool by the few thousand dollars.. any idea who is the one in charge of such kind of implementation in LTA? Which cc is he from? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 look on the bright side...if ever our cars get stolen. Then the authorities would be able to track where it is if someone look for FL and park at hotel 81 how? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 hmm..... news from bolehland? just another attempt to mock us maybe. but i wun rule out the fact that it may happen. if it does... i'll go bolehland. ahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roller Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 It seems like no competition for PAP has made them so arrogant as to attempt to implement such crazy s--t. Please vote well in the next election. Send a clear message. Otherwise other than ERP and GPS, you'll soon need a cashcard to enter your cars. All the money these ministers are hording goes to their million dollar salaries and losses by Temasek Holdings etc. Are the average Singaporeans really like sheep and so powerless? Sad. Well Done Sillypore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Osiris 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 The problem with GPS is that while it seems accurate to the uninitated. It may not be accurate consistently in urban area with tall buildings. I am not sure how many GPS users here in SG have their position 'jump' to someplace few hundred meters where they are not. and then to jump back moments later. happened to me on AYE quite a few times and in the CBD area too. due to the tall building blocking/distorting the signal and when I used my car cam, my GPS (with AGPS) is totally screwed in the sense that it takes longer than usual (~10 mins as opposed to immediate) to get a lock. I have to move it away from the car cam. So if they implement this, possible scenario includes 1) erroneous GPS position due to jump may cost you to pay toll fees and you have a hard time proving otherwise. 2) No clear GPS ERP demarcation sign? Thus the road you take might cause you unexpected expenses 3) Fine for speeding due to 'Jump's? 4) Fine for blocking signal due to huge differences in last position and current position but you didn't block a damn thing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Afocus Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 GPSworld actually, we are not the first..it looks like europe will adopt this before we do. you can kiss goodbye to privacy...anyway , google probably knows more about you than your best friend or spouse now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Drumstick Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 If using GPS to locate stolen vehicle, it would be a plus. But to track people location, privacy totally lost. If the GPS things really happen, I would not be surprise in future, they are gonna charge drivers for how many km they travel. If that happen, it will be time for me to return to public transport as by then, owning a car will be totally luxury on a new height. GPS tracking has already been used by taxi for a few years already. But they will activate only when pin point to a specific car. But seems like it will be base on a radius of more than 100meter. Thats what I heard from a relief taxi driver who was robbed and stabbed but lucky not life threatening, manage to press the panic / emergency button for help. Another cab driving nearby was alerted via the messaging system to assist him first but spend a bit of time trying to locate the driver as they give only taxi number and say around the area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 GPS system will be implemented sooner or later. But hope hey dun use it to track ppl speeding etc, its too much n scary. Use it to charge us for every single road we use, illegal parking etc, at least still ok coz spore really too many cars. Charge us for every single road we use at least can control ppl to prevent ppl from suka suka use their car for a spin etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 GPS system will be implemented sooner or later. But hope hey dun use it to track ppl speeding etc, its too much n scary. Use it to charge us for every single road we use, illegal parking etc, at least still ok coz spore really too many cars. Charge us for every single road we use at least can control ppl to prevent ppl from suka suka use their car for a spin etc. Even in the middle of the night? That's sad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Viceroymenthol 6th Gear February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 (edited) if this goes thru, it will make us the laughing stock of the world again. i don't think the world are done laughing yet at the way temasek and GIC got conned of billions by the ang moh bankers. or even the sky high price singtel fought to pay for EPL rights... FIFA are just looking at us like we are carrot heads.. seems like singapore always makes the news in other countries for the wrong reasons... Edited February 22, 2010 by Viceroymenthol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waffenss Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 At least when I pay for petrol I actually get to use it. I pay for a product. Things like ERP etc, the money is not usable to us. All goes to Govt. u pay ERP/toll charges and u're consuming it too, you're using up the roadspace, so the argument is moot. Same for petrol, the car consumes petrol and its taxable.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheetod Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 AGREE! leaving singapore seems to be the only option. who knows what might happen next? GOSH! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheetod Neutral Newbie February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 hammer seems to be my favorite already man................ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched February 22, 2010 Share February 22, 2010 AGREE! leaving singapore seems to be the only option. who knows what might happen next? GOSH! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...