Why Singapore so few public holidays?

Kelpie

So Japan has low productivity because they have 72 public holidays?

Regards,

japanese work until die at the desk one lar.. don't say them already. some research thinks they are unproductive because the long hours they put in only produce XX amount of GDP, which they compare is less than other OECD countries.

i think the japanese work ethic is very productive - they do work always try to do it once and do it right.

(except for the toyota recall debacle lar)

Edited by Nolicense

because it is a young country with no king or ah gong birthday to declare holiday :D

but to make all 4 races happy, each get 2 days of holiday, plus new year, may day and national day, total 11 days!

iirc, sri lanka is hvng most holiday in a year, some thing like one third of a year.

every 1st/ 15th day,oso half day off on eve of lthese 2days of a lunar month.

weeks off in buddha annvsry.

current President birthday, previous president "retired" day...........

because it is a young country with no king or ah gong birthday to declare holiday :D

but to make all 4 races happy, each get 2 days of holiday, plus new year, may day and national day, total 11 days!

er....someone say we CITY hor...not ocuntry [:p]

Very very very soon we will get our holiday and the best thing is all of us will get it to see it. Don't you feel happy to have something to look forward to, maybe mcf should organise a outing to celebrate this day.

You guys talking about 2012 right ???

Are u sure all the races have 2 days think carefully

chey...wonderr if the day can fall the day after polling day..then get 2 days off [:p][:p]

Always have 2 days off for polling day leh. cause always vote on Sat [lipsrsealed][bounce1]

we cannot just see these numbers at face value lah!!

though they published these dates as public holiday, it DOESN'T mean its a real holiday!!

Ppl still go to work, schools are still open... its just a date for ppl to remember whatever meaning that is on that day.

Many countries are like that......

Seen from Tv that, in a year :

1. India has 104 public holidays,

2. Malaysia has 93 public holidays,

3. Macau has 79 public holidays,

4. Phillipines has 77 public holidays,

5. Japan has 72 public holidays,

6. Thailand has ............................

Regards,

I don't think the above figure is correct. Japan has only 15days public holiday.

http://www.worldtravelguide.net/country/13...Asia/Japan.html

Regards,

I have more:

official PH - 11 days

weekend holiday - 104 days

sick leave - 14 days

annual leave - 21 days

childcare leave - 6 days

holiday eve (x'mas, new year and CNY) - 3 days

TOTAL - 159 days

if I get married every year, another 3 days [laugh] [laugh]

Regards,

These countries where got so many public holidays... [smash]

Regards,

huh?

india and malaysia so many holidays? got include weekends anot?

india 104 holidays + 52 weekends = only work 150+days?

huh?

india and malaysia so many holidays? got include weekends anot?

india 104 holidays + 52 weekends = only work 150+days?

I think it's inclusive of weekends.

I have more:

official PH - 11 days

weekend holiday - 104 days

sick leave - 14 days

annual leave - 21 days

childcare leave - 6 days

holiday eve (x'mas, new year and CNY) - 3 days

TOTAL - 159 days

if I get married every year, another 3 days [laugh] [laugh]

I have slightly more. 1 more day [laugh]

but i dont have Holiday Eve [bigcry]

These countries where got so many public holidays... [smash]

Watched a SCV show that talked about public holidays in Asian countries and also on the way they celebrated their Public holidays [laugh]. I suppose it is a summation of states Public holidays too. My MY Friends told me not all companies would allow employee to be away on less important "public holidays". In fact, a company can decide whether to give off on all public holidays. There are so-called mandatory public holidays dictated by their government that an employer must give lor.

Regards,