Inlinefour Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 47 minutes ago, Wt_know said: be prepared to be pestered by all kind of lowballer and siao lang testers come test and talk down the car want to buy but must check with wife, in law, grandma, grandpa, etc want to discount $2000 .... this and that until $200 also want to cut and also be prepared bombarded by "agent" acting as buyer to lowball ... lol This is absolutely true Kena before liao Must test drive Must go WS 100% check Must give all receipts from time of purchase Must warranty Must not dekit all add on accessories inside Low ball to paper plus body Then told me must go back home ask OC Totally wasting time Ended up trade in to PML Save time and trouble Advertise and attract all kind of problem ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jon_cclau 3rd Gear September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 10 hours ago, Prataboy said: Any bros familiar with the mechanism of selling cars for export? I recently traded my old ride with less than 18 months remaining to C&C (~$17K - paper plus $2K) for a new ride. Quotz valuation was $15-20K. Went to the Republic Auto website and saw that the car was going at ~$28K under their export bidding list. And today saw that it was no longer on the list - sold? $28K is quite a big difference to $17K. Almost $10K difference/profit! Would I have gotten such a price if I deal directly with an exporter, or the actual transaction price with Republic Auto is at a negotiated price than the $28K bid price? When a dealer buy your car, they will based on paper value, amount quite closed to those if you scrap it. After which, they will need to touch up your car, do paperwork, advertisement, man hour, parking space, etc.... All this are cost to the dealer. And they won't know how long before they can get rid of the car. $10k profit, I think is justifiable if they have the means to sell at this price. You can also sell yourself at $28k if you have the resources but this is how the market works. End of the day, you have your new ride! Look forward Bro! 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 Check with wife = confirm not buying Those that serious want to buy will offer and talk $$$ on the spot liao. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 (edited) 11 hours ago, Prataboy said: consider the risk and overhead, 10k+- for 1 car quite reasonable, esp popular model. Edited September 24, 2019 by Beregond Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 (edited) 23 minutes ago, Mockngbrd said: Check with wife = confirm not buying Those that serious want to buy will offer and talk $$$ on the spot liao. that is the OFFICIAL answer for not buying when you talk to a salesman or saleswoman ... LOL Edited September 24, 2019 by Wt_know 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 7 hours ago, Mockngbrd said: Check with wife = confirm not buying Those that serious want to buy will offer and talk $$$ on the spot liao. low ball liao then told me cheque book with OC 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 7 hours ago, Wt_know said: that is the OFFICIAL answer for not buying when you talk to a salesman or saleswoman ... LOL hmmm got to ask my sugar mom for money first 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 Auto Republic will chop anyone's carrot that walks in 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 9 hours ago, Mockngbrd said: Check with wife = confirm not buying Those that serious want to buy will offer and talk $$$ on the spot liao. Check with 小三 = confirm buy 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 10 hours ago, Inlinefour said: This is absolutely true Kena before liao Must test drive Must go WS 100% check Must give all receipts from time of purchase Must warranty Must not dekit all add on accessories inside Low ball to paper plus body Then told me must go back home ask OC Totally wasting time Ended up trade in to PML Save time and trouble Advertise and attract all kind of problem Got old car to trade , still best to sell off or trade in for New car . Trade in to resales dealer is as good as kana Chop twice at the same time. ☠️ 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 13 minutes ago, Angcheek said: Got old car to trade , still best to sell off or trade in for New car . Trade in to resales dealer is as good as kana Chop twice at the same time. ☠️ Very true Republic take it paper only But no extra discount for their units there Performance too But got overtrade for new car 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
badlammy 6th Gear September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 There are some exporters who can offer good price if your asking is reasonable. I personally encountered one who didn't bargain, only deduct a small amount for faulty door which I did not mention on ad. They meet up with a wad of cash and transfer vehicle on the spot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
car50 Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 1 hour ago, Inlinefour said: Very true Republic take it paper only But no extra discount for their units there Performance too But got overtrade for new car Performance can negotiate whether buy or sell But generally true all these reputable dealers offers are low At end of the day, if sell car before EOL, sure lose money big big Unless the car has high paper value (High ARF and High coe), sell and buy a lesser depreciating new car 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 25 minutes ago, car50 said: Performance can negotiate whether buy or sell But generally true all these reputable dealers offers are low At end of the day, if sell car before EOL, sure lose money big big Unless the car has high paper value (High ARF and High coe), sell and buy a lesser depreciating new car thats what SE told me overtrade with EOL car best got nothing to squeeze liao 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 2 minutes ago, Inlinefour said: thats what SE told me overtrade with EOL car best got nothing to squeeze liao But you should have gotten some good overtrade or additinal discount from them if you buy back same merce. Looks like your trade in was a B class ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prataboy 3rd Gear September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 14 hours ago, Ody_2004 said: You agreed and got the price you wanted.. $17K what price they can sell depend on alot of factors.. such as their network which normally we don't. Just like stock/share.. you sold at the price you ok.. buyer bought and sold higher.. this is life.. not all can make money in any industry.. Republic Auto had been around and they will have the know how to buy and sell higher.. if there's no mkt for it.. they won't be bother to buy the car even at $15k. I am at peace with the transaction. Willing buyer/seller like you said. Just curious how the export market works versus how the local resale market works, the latter which I understand a bit better. So seems like there is demand for my old ride overseas which resulted in an exporter willing to buy at a higher price ($28K?) than what a buyer in the local resale market is willing to pay (~$20K based on ads on SCM)? 😲 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Inlinefour Twincharged September 24, 2019 Share September 24, 2019 3 hours ago, Ct3833 said: But you should have gotten some good overtrade or additinal discount from them if you buy back same merce. Looks like your trade in was a B class ? Trade in 5 series But Republic said paper cum body only 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic September 25, 2019 Share September 25, 2019 trade in is best trade in with AD la that’s where they play with Overtrade ... lol ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...