Auron 2nd Gear March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 The inner thread portion of my front right tyre of my mazda 3 wear off much much faster than the rest of the 3 tyres. 1 view and straight away can see that the wear off is very obvious compare with the other 3 tyres. car is 2.5 years and hitting 40k. some questions and need some advise. 1) what cause the above problem? i intend to change the 4 tyres, mazda quote me $214 for bridgestone GR90. i decide to change outside. 2) any recommendation on where? i intend to buy GR90 for the quiteness... 3) what kind of tyre shop do i need to look for? my colleague tell me that i need to do wheel alignment and some tyre shop does not do that. 4) usually when we buy and change tyre, do the shop do wheel alignment? 5) wheel alignment pay extra? i do not want the next set of tyres to face the above problem. sorry for all the noob questions. thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 The inner thread portion of my front right tyre of my mazda 3 wear off much much faster than the rest of the 3 tyres. 1 view and straight away can see that the wear off is very obvious compare with the other 3 tyres. car is 2.5 years and hitting 40k. some questions and need some advise. 1) what cause the above problem? i intend to change the 4 tyres, mazda quote me $214 for bridgestone GR90. i decide to change outside. 2) any recommendation on where? i intend to buy GR90 for the quiteness... 3) what kind of tyre shop do i need to look for? my colleague tell me that i need to do wheel alignment and some tyre shop does not do that. 4) usually when we buy and change tyre, do the shop do wheel alignment? 5) wheel alignment pay extra? i do not want the next set of tyres to face the above problem. sorry for all the noob questions. thanks. u drive up and down mscp frequently?..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Prostcode Clutched March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 Ya if change tires need to do alignment and most tires shop don't really do that. Kenny's Alignment for $50 is good, but yet to try them out. Next week ah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear March 5, 2010 Author Share March 5, 2010 u drive up and down mscp frequently?..... hdb flat. so need to park at mscp. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear March 5, 2010 Share March 5, 2010 GR90 for 205/55/16 about $185 outside. Did you rotate your tires every 10kkm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear March 6, 2010 Author Share March 6, 2010 GR90 for 205/55/16 about $185 outside. Did you rotate your tires every 10kkm? rotation is standard for every 10km servicing.... that is why i don't know what cause the fast wearing out of the front right tyre. some more it is just the inner portion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 rotation is standard for every 10km servicing.... that is why i don't know what cause the fast wearing out of the front right tyre. some more it is just the inner portion. should be alignment liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 6, 2010 Share March 6, 2010 It should be your camber angle more on the negative side. Look at the attached pic. That should explain the excessive wear on the inner tire. Some adjustment made to the camber angle should solve the problem. Not a big issue. As for tire shop to recommend, the one I go to does not have wheel alignment service cos I go back to AD to do it. I can give you the contact Eng Wah tire & batt, 62500085 look for Vincent to give you a quote on the tire you want. I suggest you to go places like Paya Ubi Ind park or AMK tech parkII to ask around cos most tire shops there have wheel alignment service as well. It's good that you show them the tire wear pattern and let them rectify your camber angle. AD usually will charge more for the tires. It's good to ask around cos you will know who to go to the next time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Auron 2nd Gear March 6, 2010 Author Share March 6, 2010 It should be your camber angle more on the negative side. Look at the attached pic. That should explain the excessive wear on the inner tire. Some adjustment made to the camber angle should solve the problem. Not a big issue. As for tire shop to recommend, the one I go to does not have wheel alignment service cos I go back to AD to do it. I can give you the contact Eng Wah tire & batt, 62500085 look for Vincent to give you a quote on the tire you want. I suggest you to go places like Paya Ubi Ind park or AMK tech parkII to ask around cos most tire shops there have wheel alignment service as well. It's good that you show them the tire wear pattern and let them rectify your camber angle. AD usually will charge more for the tires. It's good to ask around cos you will know who to go to the next time. i did some google.. am i right that wheel alignment means that the workshop will need to jack up the car and install the "claw" stuffs on the 4 wheels? so those small tyre shop that cannot drive the car in cannot do wheel alignment? i saw tyre shop have a machine that can put 1 wheel in and there is a computer that show some reading... what is that actually? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 i did some google.. am i right that wheel alignment means that the workshop will need to jack up the car and install the "claw" stuffs on the 4 wheels? so those small tyre shop that cannot drive the car in cannot do wheel alignment? i saw tyre shop have a machine that can put 1 wheel in and there is a computer that show some reading... what is that actually? That is computer alignment which can tell or illustrate the amount of alignment the wheels are to the car. Usually through the computer, they will adjust to ensure all 4 wheels are correctly or equally aligned together. Your drive should feel better after the wheels have been properly aligned. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkseah Turbocharged March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 i thot the machine with 1 wheel spinning is for balancing the tyre & rim? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 if they take out the whole tyre and spin it, and it show some numbers, then u saw then sticking some metal thing or hammering somr metal onto the rim , its call balancing . if u see them jack up the car, and clamp some board ( with claws ) onto the rim, and push the car forward, backward, turn the steering wheel , some reading come out, and they proceed to turn some thing below the car, its alignment or could be cambering ajust in some case . but very RARE there is another type , where they spin the tyre with it attach on the car, i forget what its call, ( on xxxxx balancing ) that 1 balancing the whole tyre , plus the hub , but if u take out the tyre, puncture( etc ) the balancing will be lost .( provided u can put in back in the exact position ) still got another type high speed balancing, i got no ideal what is it either . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear March 7, 2010 Share March 7, 2010 but very RARE there is another type , where they spin the tyre with it attach on the car, i forget what its call, ( on xxxxx balancing ) that 1 balancing the whole tyre , plus the hub , but if u take out the tyre, puncture( etc ) the balancing will be lost .( provided u can put in back in the exact position ) This is call on-wheel balancing or also call high-speed balancing. http://s631.photobucket.com/albums/uu36/op...elbalancing.jpg * sorry dun know how to past the photo directly in this reply. on_wheel_balancing.bmp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tee_001 Neutral Newbie March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 HI ... did the computerised-wheel-alignment at AMK .... boss imported this system which is identical to Autobacs' using .... good knowledge and reasonable price and of course u can also find (*search this forum) other shops offering this service - bottomline is whether they are good or not Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 i did some google.. am i right that wheel alignment means that the workshop will need to jack up the car and install the "claw" stuffs on the 4 wheels? so those small tyre shop that cannot drive the car in cannot do wheel alignment? i saw tyre shop have a machine that can put 1 wheel in and there is a computer that show some reading... what is that actually? Alignment is usually done on the front 2wheels only, regardless whether your car is 4WD or rear wheel or front wheel drive. Computer alignment usually have a stored database of many models of cars so that the operator could select the right model and let the machine do its work. I think someone posted the "clawed" pics that showed how it's done. The computer sensors only show how much the wheels are off, adjustment still needs to be done by hand. End of the day a printout report will be handed to you to show you that it's 99% aligned. The one wheel individually spinning on a machine is called wheel balancing to ensure the weight is evenly distributed. You can see strips of counter balance are pasted on the alloy wheel. The above mentioned alignment and balancing can be done at intervals of 20k km, some AD servicing recommend it at every 10k km. If your car suffers any form of small impact(be it accident or whatever), the alignment will be out also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 i chiong hump, mount curb until i think super beh balance Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 Whoa, you really bring your musso off roading? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic March 8, 2010 Share March 8, 2010 This is call on-wheel balancing or also call high-speed balancing. http://s631.photobucket.com/albums/uu36/op...elbalancing.jpg * sorry dun know how to past the photo directly in this reply. does the onwheel balancing spin the wheel at very high speed?? ( why else its also call high speed balancing??) i never do b4, ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...