Quirky_ster Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Having ownd Skoda Roomster for over a year now... I dare say the quality is top notch... after one year it still super smooth and top notch... it's build like a tank! I still think it's value for money... depends on what you are looking for.. but i find every cents worth it of ownership... even though this is only my OPC car mainly used for travalling to Malaysia.. the build quality is simply outstanding... I think the jokes are old and pale in comparison to what it is now... those were the days where Cherry and Geely did not even exists... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 skoda in Czech means "what a shame" some friends used to own skoda .... very difficult to get replacement parts for their unreliable components.......so bad that they take the parts form the showroom car to give to my friends ...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fedup-camry Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 (edited) Czech is well known for their technical strength in automotive Audi TT used to be made in Czech ... not sure about that now, as I have not been to Czech for more than 5 years liao....SUSPECT both Audi and Skoda sharing some parts and suppliers...but branding is totally different Edited March 24, 2010 by Fedup-camry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karu 6th Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Superb's rear cmi.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 skoda in Czech means "what a shame" some friends used to own skoda .... very difficult to get replacement parts for their unreliable components.......so bad that they take the parts form the showroom car to give to my friends ...... That's another stale perception of the marque. If you have the opportunity to look under the bonnet, the parts are all carrying VW and Adi part numbers down right to the screw caps on the rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcmug Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 I own a Skoda and I am proud of it. My friends sat in the car and was impressed by the build and comfort. I outdrove many makes of car from pickup, and I wasn't even engaging the S mode. My VW Jetta kaki is sore that he can't do voice dialing over the car BT set and his OMV is $5k lower. I enjoyed good FC too. And I don't even drive a Superb. A Superb is on a league of its own... Skoda joke? That's ok... I know how far from the truth it really is. Don't believe? Go test it out with an open mind. You'll be pleasantly surprised. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeddemon Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 skoda in Czech means "what a shame" some friends used to own skoda .... very difficult to get replacement parts for their unreliable components.......so bad that they take the parts form the showroom car to give to my friends ...... Not sure when your friends owned those skodas, but the some current owners of skoda cars whom i spoke with, some of which are driving the cars which are already a few years old, have no problem getting replacement parts for regular maintenance. In fact, they can easily go to the stockist themselves to purchase the parts and then go to a workshop which they are comfortable with for installation or servicing...... Of course if you are talking about those rare parts that fail which are generally not ex-stock then its another issue altogether i guess.....what kind of unreliable components did your friends have to replace anyway? Also, for those who think the skoda superb is over priced, how would you price a car which has an OMV of $28k (ambition model) to $32k (elegance model)? Right now the current COE price is $36k for 1.6l and above.....the basic cost of a car with $28k OMV will then be $99.5k.....if you were the distributor and had to maintain a workshop crew to handle servicing costs and repair work......how much would you sell the superb then? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Czech is well known for their technical strength in automotive Audi TT used to be made in Czech ... not sure about that now, as I have not been to Czech for more than 5 years liao....SUSPECT both Audi and Skoda sharing some parts and suppliers...but branding is totally different You're right about that suspicion. Audi - VW - Skoda all share from the same part bins. It's a branding game they are playing to corner certain markets... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MadDog70 2nd Gear March 24, 2010 Author Share March 24, 2010 Superb selling at 108.8k lei Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Superb's rear cmi.... wait for after market body kits lah, a lot of opportunity to up kit this baby... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeddemon Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Superb selling at 108.8k lei If price is 108k....means the profit is 9k per car (assuming cost is 99k as above).....which also mean the profit is approximately 10% for the dealer..... If this profit margin reasonable in your opinion? Assuming you were the dealer? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 $108.8k was with COE@$25,000... now COE@$36,000 leh... Skoda was meant to be a brand lower than VW...so if VW is already people's car in Europe, Skoda probably is poor man's car there (something like what Kia and Hyundai is to us if VW is Toyota-mainstream car)... sure between Octavia and Jetta, you get more features in the Octavia which is selling at the same price of the Jetta, but that is just saying that the Forte 1.6 Full Spec selling at Altis price...will you buy it?? buy a Forte 1.6@$80,000??? same principal... as for Superb, it will probably sell better with a better designed exterior (especially the rear) and made the interior wider so that it can take 3 full-sized adults in the rear comfortably (not just 2, so it's just a Octavia LWB per say)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yahgo22 1st Gear March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Superb's rear cmi.... Totally agree. Ugly like Fark. Any GREAT WALL cars look any time better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cutebeat Clutched March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 I own a Skoda and I am proud of it. My friends sat in the car and was impressed by the build and comfort. I outdrove many makes of car from pickup, and I wasn't even engaging the S mode. My VW Jetta kaki is sore that he can't do voice dialing over the car BT set and his OMV is $5k lower. I enjoyed good FC too. And I don't even drive a Superb. A Superb is on a league of its own... Skoda joke? That's ok... I know how far from the truth it really is. Don't believe? Go test it out with an open mind. You'll be pleasantly surprised. dun bother with those anti-skoda, they just can't afford and maintain a conti and have to settle for other like camry. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Wow so many Skoda bashers.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Skodas, technically, are not much different from VWs. I guess their only problem locally is branding. Otherwise I feel that they are as good as VW. If people aren't so brand conscious (unfortunately in Asian countries where 'face' is important) then the Superb is definitely a better car than a Passat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Raven Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 Ya...i'll take Superb anytime....I seen the Skoda and their quality is top-notch.....enough boot and legroom space.... What more can I ask.....anyone selling PM me ok!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Speeddemon Neutral Newbie March 24, 2010 Share March 24, 2010 (edited) Well i wouldn't say you are wrong if you say Skoda is supposed to be a brand lower then VW....thats just brand perception and it really depends on different individuals and how the dealers here market their product....much like if i say my car looks chio....some other people might say its fugly.... But my point here is to address people who have the impression that the price of a skoda superb is sky high....i wouldn't completely agree to that...comparing to other cars in the same class, and i'm not even saying cars like audi or even VW.....I'm talking about cars like Camry and Accord....lets take an example below Skoda Superb Ambition OMV = $28,800 approx Assuming COE = $25k Cost of car = $90,376 Retail Price = $108,800 Profit = $18,424 Margin = 17% approx Toyota Camry OMV = $27,300 Assuming COE = $25k Cost of car = $86,971 Retail Price = $102,988 Profit = $16,017 Margin = 15.5% approx These numbers are taken from sgcarmart so I did not just pluck them out of thin air....looking at the profit margin....is that reasonable or unreasonable? Thats the only point I'm trying to raise....if you still think that Skoda is way overpriced then we can agree to disagree here Edited March 24, 2010 by Speeddemon ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...