Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 (edited) Heard that sanya is very commercialized so sure more expensive compared to haikou which is less developed but my friend managed to buy bbq scallop only for rmb 1 (that was 3-4 years ago) in sanya If you can speak Chinese, really not necessary to follow tour since hainan is more for relaxation and not like Beijing where guided tours would be beneficial for the historical sites You can just google and research the places of interests and take cab around Better to go before it become even more commercialized and expensive And if one is to go to Hainan Island in group. Better bring along one member who speaks 'Hainanese' & the rest keep quiet whilst ordering food in a restaurant..... At the end of the dinner, the price can be different by 30 ~ 40% ... And when they ask the Hainanese speaking guy in the group where he comes from, just tell them that his ancestors come from 'boon chio' aka "Wen Zhang". Its funny that over there, they look highly on those from "Wen Zhang" province ... Every year end, I will make a trip back to my father's village (pictures I posted at page 5 & 6) and stayed for 8 ~ 10 days and in "Wen Zhang" ... Edited April 6, 2016 by Picnic06-Biante15 ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 Heard that sanya is very commercialized so sure more expensive compared to haikou which is less developed but my friend managed to buy bbq scallop only for rmb 1 (that was 3-4 years ago) in sanya If you can speak Chinese, really not necessary to follow tour since hainan is more for relaxation and not like Beijing where guided tours would be beneficial for the historical sites You can just google and research the places of interests and take cab around Better to go before it become even more commercialized and expensive OIC. I'll plan free and easy then cos I can speak Chinese and Hainanese. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 And if one is to go to Hainan Island in group. Better bring along one member who speaks 'Hainanese' & the rest keep quiet whilst ordering food in a restaurant..... At the end of the dinner, the price can be different by 30 ~ 40% ... And when they ask the Hainanese speaking guy in the group where he comes from, just tell them that his ancestors come from 'boon chio' aka "Wen Zhang". Its funny that over there, they look highly on those from "Wen Zhang" province ... Every year end, I will make a trip back to my father's village (pictures I posted at page 5 & 6) and stayed for 8 ~ 10 days and in "Wen Zhang" ... Oh, so our ancestors were 同乡 . But I dun knw which village my ancestors were . Last year got one relative from Hainan island came to visit my uncles and my mum and uncles brought him around for sightseeing in Singapore. According to my mum, he was my mum's long distance cousin and they never met before cos my mum and uncles were born in Singapore. OIC. I'll scroll back to page 5 & 6 later to read. Thanks. Now I just need to find more blogs or trip reviews to see how they travel and places to visit which I couldn't find much. Perhaps it is still not a popular destination. I think I'll plan to in December. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 Oh, so our ancestors were 同乡 . But I dun knw which village my ancestors were . Last year got one relative from Hainan island came to visit my uncles and my mum and uncles brought him around for sightseeing in Singapore. According to my mum, he was my mum's long distance cousin and they never met before cos my mum and uncles were born in Singapore. OIC. I'll scroll back to page 5 & 6 later to read. Thanks. Now I just need to find more blogs or trip reviews to see how they travel and places to visit which I couldn't find much. Perhaps it is still not a popular destination. I think I'll plan to in December. duno how well off your relatives in Hainan is, if not that well off unless you have prepared to contribute to their village building, better keep low profile while you are there. my cousin went on a backpack tour to hainan and visit his ancestor's village as a 'tourist' so that no one recognize him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 duno how well off your relatives in Hainan is, if not that well off unless you have prepared to contribute to their village building, better keep low profile while you are there. my cousin went on a backpack tour to hainan and visit his ancestor's village as a 'tourist' so that no one recognize him I dun knw their financial situation leh and I dun intend to visit my hainan relatives cos I dun knw them, will be very weird if I go and see them. I intend to tour around Hainan Island only unless I bring my mum. But it would be nice to experience village stay [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 duno how well off your relatives in Hainan is, if not that well off unless you have prepared to contribute to their village building, better keep low profile while you are there. my cousin went on a backpack tour to hainan and visit his ancestor's village as a 'tourist' so that no one recognize him at the most dun go back to your ancestral village lor ... for me I go to my wife's place in "ka-chek" or "jia ji town" instead ... more developed ... about 80% like our neighborhood centers. Her family is just ok and I dun have to contribute to village or home building (so far). Her cousin has a merc and a teanna ... so quite independent. I dun go back to my parents' "village" as I dun really know the ppl there. been there twice and that's it. but like mentioned above, Hainan is fast developing into a more commercialized area - other than Sanya, where a condo there cost more than one in SG !! (but luckily my wife cousin has one unit there also ... so we can stay for free). BTW, even if you got free accom in Sanya, food is a big problem - unless you are willing to pay SG restaurant prices there. haikou is more for shopping whereas sanya is more for retreats. and frankly, to me all those "tourist spots" are "how siao" one ... I dun really experience anything special or fresh where is visited those spots during my first group tours. anyway if F&E, transportation will be the main issue, unless in haikou where transport is more developed. for guided tours, unless you willing to fork out about $400 more, else prepare to go for those "shopping tours". 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 don't expect the wen chang chicken rice there to taste the same as singapore chicken rice really not the same Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 I dun knw their financial situation leh and I dun intend to visit my hainan relatives cos I dun knw them, will be very weird if I go and see them. I intend to tour around Hainan Island only unless I bring my mum. But it would be nice to experience village stay [laugh] the village there now is something like SG village in 1980s .... electricity and proper toilets are there and a huge parabola in some homes too ! btw, they just opened another airport in Hainan - that goes to show that the Chinese govt is really going to develop Hainan. at this moment, the govt is doing a standard theme façade for all the houses in Hainan.different town, different façade. Now my wife's place also undergoing this "reno". you will find that all the houses look the same when standing on the street. don't expect the wen chang chicken rice there to taste the same as singapore chicken rice really not the same yup the chicken there is yellowish ... like jaundice ... but the white goose is more like the white chicken we have here. and sadly, the food you get on the guided tours are, lets say 25% of what you get when you pay for it yourself outside - quality and quantity.... but then again, remember you want good and filling, must pay more. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 I'm a hainanese gor and i do not intend to visit any of my Uncles and Aunties there, When my late father and mother were around, all thy get bi-weekly were letter of demand for money to repair roof leakages, maintain house and medical bills, of course i do understand they were left behind in hainan due to hardships by my grandfather/ mother who cannot afford the sea-trip or their planned agenda to look after the assets in hainan island. I can't say much on their economic zone by Chairman to develop Hainan Island, let alone many bizzard stories of scam stories by travel agency to snook us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 (edited) I'm a hainanese gor and i do not intend to visit any of my Uncles and Aunties there, When my late father and mother were around, all thy get bi-weekly were letter of demand for money to repair roof leakages, maintain house and medical bills, of course i do understand they were left behind in hainan due to hardships by my grandfather/ mother who cannot afford the sea-trip or their planned agenda to look after the assets in hainan island. I can't say much on their economic zone by Chairman to develop Hainan Island, let alone many bizzard stories of scam stories by travel agency to snook us. same here ... but since my father fell sick, no more comms liow ... actually I do not have anymore paternal blood relatives there even ... except a house that my father and uncles paid for for a matriarch of the family many years ago. anyway over a ten years space, the place definitely looks and feels different. however, there is one thing quite similar with SG ... poor customer service almost everywhere ... esp when you kenah staff that dun really give a damn about their jobs ... as its hard to find workers there also. the bosses also "kaey-tio"... I booked two adjoining rooms and two tables in a hotel for a dinner ... and when my new relative asked the waitress what was in the soup, the staff replied aka : "a mix of crap !! " Edited April 6, 2016 by Ysc3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 same here ... but since my father fell sick, no more comms liow ... actually I do not have anymore paternal blood relatives there even ... except a house that my father and uncles paid for for a matriarch of the family many years ago. anyway over a ten years space, the place definitely looks and feels different. however, there is one thing quite similar with SG ... poor customer service almost everywhere ... esp when you kenah staff that dun really give a damn about their jobs ... as its hard to find workers there also. the bosses also "kaey-tio"... I booked two adjoining rooms and two tables in a hotel for a dinner ... and when my new relative asked the waitress what was in the soup, the staff replied aka : "a mix of crap !! " PRC is like that one or should i say Hainanese is more so like that one [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 PRC is like that one or should i say Hainanese is more so like that one [laugh] when I was in Beijing ... the waitress actually threw the plates on the table machiam acrobat !!! not much diff with some customer service I meet in SG too ... for them they dun need the job as their families can provide. in SG, ppl dun need the job becoz they can whine to the govt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 (edited) Oh, so our ancestors were 同乡 . But I dun knw which village my ancestors were . Last year got one relative from Hainan island came to visit my uncles and my mum and uncles brought him around for sightseeing in Singapore. According to my mum, he was my mum's long distance cousin and they never met before cos my mum and uncles were born in Singapore. OIC. I'll scroll back to page 5 & 6 later to read. Thanks. Now I just need to find more blogs or trip reviews to see how they travel and places to visit which I couldn't find much. Perhaps it is still not a popular destination. I think I'll plan to in December. I think 99% of the hainanese in Singapore comes from Wen Chang village.. Been there once with my father, they welcome us with firecrackers.. My father wanted to pay respect to the ancester tablet there, so brought him there.. Only that one time. and the thing The thing I remember clearly is they eat cucumber machiam like apple. Just buy and munch... It's a fruit afterall. Edited April 6, 2016 by Ender 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic April 6, 2016 Share April 6, 2016 I think 99% of the hainanese in Singapore comes from Wen Chang village.. Been there once with my father, they welcome us with firecrackers.. My father wanted to pay respect to the ancester tablet there, so brought him there.. Only that one time. and the thing The thing I remember clearly is they eat cucumber machiam like apple. Just buy and munch... It's a fruit afterall. I do that since young!!! Never heard of anyone else eat it like that. My wife say I weird weird one. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic April 7, 2016 Share April 7, 2016 OIC. I'll plan free and easy then cos I can speak Chinese and Hainanese. When in Hainan Island and whilst buying things or eating in restaurant or even road side stalls, remember don't call ladies / sales girls / waitresses "Siao Zie" and they will get angry with you or for sure your bill cost more. Cos in Hainan Island, "Siao Zie" mean women working in KTV, Pubs or those accompanying men..... Call them 'Mai' .. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic April 7, 2016 Share April 7, 2016 (edited) think it applies everywhere in PRC. 小姐 = 小鸡 Edited April 7, 2016 by Kangadrool 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 7, 2016 Share April 7, 2016 the village there now is something like SG village in 1980s .... electricity and proper toilets are there and a huge parabola in some homes too ! btw, they just opened another airport in Hainan - that goes to show that the Chinese govt is really going to develop Hainan. at this moment, the govt is doing a standard theme façade for all the houses in Hainan.different town, different façade. Now my wife's place also undergoing this "reno". you will find that all the houses look the same when standing on the street. yup the chicken there is yellowish ... like jaundice ... but the white goose is more like the white chicken we have here. and sadly, the food you get on the guided tours are, lets say 25% of what you get when you pay for it yourself outside - quality and quantity.... but then again, remember you want good and filling, must pay more. OIC. Ya lor I also heard that the chicken rice taste diff from here. Their chicken is very hard. I also heard that the govt is going to develop Hainan island few years ago. Wonder how is the development. So your wife is from Hainan island married to Singapore? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged April 7, 2016 Share April 7, 2016 Now I know there are many Hainanese in mycarforum Ender, Ysc3, Adrianli, meanmachinie, picnic06-biante15 and me! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...