Why Sporeans don't wanna greet each other Overseas?

Tigerwoods

I have notice this issue for very very long time. Until now I don't understand why.

Many Ang Mos, they can strike out a conversation with anyone, esp their own kin.

Sporeans, very unlikely will chat up other Sporeans when Overseas.

I tried a few times but many Sporeans I tried to speak to, are very unfriendly, snobbish, arrogant, reserved, cocky etc. Its the women that are very Stuck-up to you as a stranger than the AMTKs.

It is very easy to identify Sporeans in overseas public places - Singlish. Some force an artificial accent...The other reasons are above...

It also seems that they are ashame to identify with Sporeans and try hard NOT to be Sporeans.

Our passports are the most welcomed one in the World. I readily say I'm a Sporean and not

u must have met all the wrong singaporeans while overseas.... those that I have met spoke not stop... becoming cheong hei.... I met a group of flight crew while on a local cruise in Greece... then they were the crew that flew me back... ..

the ang moh are very good at hi-bye, friendly hug hug kiss kiss emo type.

asian are conservative, pai seh, shy shy, moody type :D

i noticed that too.i don't need to go so far overseas to observe this 'trait'.go JB can see already.but there are still a few who would gladly chit chat once they know i'm a fellow singaporean.

but in JB,also got another trend by sporeans.the "i'm-sporean-and-i'm-richer-than-you" attitude.i'm malay and i dress down when i go JB so as not to attract the wrong attention.and sadly,most sporeans i met when i go there have this attitude coz they thought i am one of the locals.. :wacko: dunno what point are they trying to prove.

maybe the way of approach?

well most ang mo here is same as most singaporean overseas...

but do take note that not all singaporean is singaporean

Dao mah. :D

You wanna know why? Becos sgp got a lot of salesman(sure get flame up down left right) :D . If someone were to approach you with a smile and say hi, mostly likely they will ask you to sign up some credit card membership or sell you some kinda product related to insurance. I have never encounter someone greet me just to say hi in sgp maybe except my friends or neighbours.

So it becomes 2nd to nature when ppl start to say hi to sgporeans, they will act dao or ignore you and quickly walk away.

to make it simple.

our education and upbringing make us to be more conservative and reserved.

our education system should bring in more interaction and presentation. some sort of communication skills teaching.

our elderly ones are like that, so we learnt it this way.

i reckon one way is to go out more often, expose more and you will become more interactive. =p

dun go far.....go into the lift with ppl and all looking down looking for $$$....

wan to chat also the face kuai lan face how to tok

dun go far.....go into the lift with ppl and all looking down looking for $$$....

wan to chat also the face kuai lan face how to tok

yalor, i see you in the lift i also duwan to talk, you look like ah long [laugh] [laugh]

Dao mah. :D

You wanna know why? Becos sgp got a lot of salesman(sure get flame up down left right) :D . If someone were to approach you with a smile and say hi, mostly likely they will ask you to sign up some credit card membership or sell you some kinda product related to insurance. I have never encounter someone greet me just to say hi in sgp maybe except my friends or neighbours.

So it becomes 2nd to nature when ppl start to say hi to sgporeans, they will act dao or ignore you and quickly walk away.

I do come across a few - amk at SLS. I saw them looking at the map so I thought I can be of help. I say 'Hi' and the answer I get is 'No need'. They might be thinking I am trying to sell them something.

yalor, i see you in the lift i also duwan to talk, you look like ah long [laugh][laugh]

[furious][furious] nb...i spray you next time i see you [laugh]

no ma..

stranger talk to me i also talk. but sometimes i very shy.

as long as not touch here touch there, sure can talk one [cool]

but it's a fact lah...my face alwes looks soooooooooo firece...ppl selling flag also wan approach me i stare at them they run away....nb

depends lah...not say don't hv....

when i was in Bkk, somehow must be my accent that identify me as a fellow citizen. this true blue Singaporean who got lost along Sukhumvit came up & asked me for directions. the poor fella 1st time there to meet up with a business associate & don't how to go to a certain Soi. thus ended up walked with him to his destination.

no ma..

stranger talk to me i also talk. but sometimes i very shy.

as long as not touch here touch there, sure can talk one [cool]

Wah stranger touch here touch there still can talk? Sure one slap treat him first.

u must have met all the wrong singaporeans while overseas.... those that I have met spoke not stop... becoming cheong hei.... I met a group of flight crew while on a local cruise in Greece... then they were the crew that flew me back... ..

You are a Customer to them so they need to service you good good mah..

I mean those in Theme Parks, along the tourist attractions, shopping streets, malls, etc..

I have notice this issue for very very long time. Until now I don't understand why.

Many Ang Mos, they can strike out a conversation with anyone, esp their own kin.

Sporeans, very unlikely will chat up other Sporeans when Overseas.

I tried a few times but many Sporeans I tried to speak to, are very unfriendly, snobbish, arrogant, reserved, cocky etc. Its the women that are very Stuck-up to you as a stranger than the AMTKs.

It is very easy to identify Sporeans in overseas public places - Singlish. Some force an artificial accent...The other reasons are above...

It also seems that they are ashame to identify with Sporeans and try hard NOT to be Sporeans.

Our passports are the most welcomed one in the World. I readily say I'm a Sporean and not

i also experience that sometimes overseas, in china, japan, korea, but especially in europe and australia.

not so much in malaysia, indonesia, hongkong, and surprisingly, USA.

i also dunno why.

by the way, anyone who has done business in china can tell you the same thing: the taiwanese businessmen in china are united and have a very close knit network that helps each other out. same with the Hong Konger business network in China. they really treat each like relatives and give priority to each other in business.

the singaporean business network in china, however, is full of jealousy, envy, betrayal and haolian-ness. everybody tries to sabo each another and tries to be the winning party that looks the best. i could tell them the story of chopsticks but guess singaporeans over there all looking after themselves only, heck care other singaporeans.

dunno why. perhaps this is what our govt has bred in our people.