Ferraricalifornia 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 maybe i guess... just want people to know... whenever a car manufacturer states a car model with certain FC figures... we need to understand that the test the car manufactureres did was... *without acessories... *without ice... *perfect tyre pressure... *very good quality fuel... *ONE driver only... *and god knows the location maybe a track? wind tunnel? it's more like.... *test done only with the chassis and 1 skinny model with a weight of 35kg, without clothes on *fuel of the highest octane wherever possible, 5litres of it only. *location should be on a dynometer (simulation test as they call it)=>no air resistance and friction.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seaweed 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 how much you can covered in one tank ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 1st its DOHC... more powerful than most 1.6 saloons... 2nd... these scan guage or those that comes with the car that reads FC... is not even accurate to begin with... but ultimately... the latest sunny on sale now in SG is a 2004 model... so probably technology on FC not as good as present cars.... Are you saying that old sunny 1.6M is more powerful than most 1.6L sedans? It is not always true that a DOHC is more powerful than a SOHC. That are examples of SOHC that has higher torque/bhp than a DOHC of the same class. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ren_Hao Clutched May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 how much you can covered in one tank ?? For Latio? Around 500+ bah. I usually top up when i have 1 or 2 bars reminding, that is about 420-480. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 1st its DOHC... more powerful than most 1.6 saloons... 2nd... these scan guage or those that comes with the car that reads FC... is not even accurate to begin with... but ultimately... the latest sunny on sale now in SG is a 2004 model... so probably technology on FC not as good as present cars.... This 2004 model is only changes in engine and exterior. But the interior of the car is dated back to year 2000 model Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mach23 2nd Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Latio --> Very Roomy + high Roof, very quiet, Reasonable Tan Chong Servicing, Keyless Entry, CVT (You love it or hate it) Latio vs Sylphy: Same engine but different Weight. when I drive latio with 4 adults, need to ram to 3-3.5krpm to accelerate. 5 adults, gone case. You should get similar effect with Sylphy with 2-3 adults cos of extra weight. Not according to my test drive of the 1.5 Sylphy. The engine was somehow tune to respond faster than a normal 1.5 (vs Sunny), acceleration was adequate but not overly impressive. Overall, a nice junior executive car for local market. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japan96 Clutched May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Go for Mitsubishi Lancer EX or MR la good Audio System quiet Engine. But the Lancer EX engine got exhaust with more sound la but pay more then MR la. And better OMV Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tohto Hypersonic May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Go for Mitsubishi Lancer EX or MR la good Audio System quiet Engine. But the Lancer EX engine got exhaust with more sound la but pay more then MR la. And better OMV Are you sure quiet engine. The main cons for Lancer EX/MR model are noisy and rough engine. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Perrier 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 For Latio? Around 500+ bah. I usually top up when i have 1 or 2 bars reminding, that is about 420-480. Did about 550km on full tank of Malaysia Vpower from Penang to Malacca. Full load. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pchmj Clutched May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Are you sure quiet engine. The main cons for Lancer EX/MR model are noisy and rough engine. He say good audio system, so possible for quiet engine when ramp up volume of audio system, totally masked engine noise, of course it's quiet! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Missing Neutral Newbie May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 all those who complain sunny FC lousy is not wrong... cause the present N16 engine is DOHC most cars now are SOHC... sunny fuel tank is small compared to other cars of its range... sunny auto is seriously under powered so drivers will mostly floor the pedal... this will of course bring the FC up... sunny N16 model in SG is designed to run on 91octane... pumping 98 is throwing $ in the drain... if got 6 speed auto gear box like the colt, jazz/fit... FC 100% surely better... but i have no problem with my Manual Sunny FC its pretty good... full tank till light comes up 500km no problem.... no joke... i agreed. my year 2005 nissan sunny FL auto fuel tank light up at around 480km. usually 11.8 - 12.2 km/l. 3000-4000rpm change gear. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 How come ppl still buy this old car? Because, there are still many people who has the same taste like you. Who value the good MIJ quality. Who likes the smooth like silk's CVT. Who likes the sound insulation where you can't really hear the engine sound even when it is at 3krpm. Who needs to install baby seat on both sides and an adult could still walk in to sit in the middle. Who does not have too much money, but has a little more than those who can only afford MIC or even MIK. Also good for those who always forgot to switch on the head lights. Ok, if you are single, then your friends will label you as uncle. Friend! You got a damn good deal for your Latio. Be proud of your LATIO!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 all those who complain sunny FC lousy is not wrong... cause the present N16 engine is DOHC most cars now are SOHC... sunny fuel tank is small compared to other cars of its range... sunny auto is seriously under powered so drivers will mostly floor the pedal... this will of course bring the FC up... Dun think FC got anything to do with the size of the fuel tank DOHC is a newer tech than SOHC, in fact I haven't come across any new car with SOHC except of Honda's DSi(which work in a different way), some MIK older models and MIC cars. In fact, I read somewhere that the engine needs to be DOHC before VVT(or similar tech) can be implemented. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Dun think FC got anything to do with the size of the fuel tank DOHC is a newer tech than SOHC, in fact I haven't come across any new car with SOHC except of Honda's DSi(which work in a different way), some MIK older models and MIC cars. In fact, I read somewhere that the engine needs to be DOHC before VVT(or similar tech) can be implemented. Honda i-Vtec is SOHC, for Civic, Jazz etc. Only Civic 2.0 is DOHC. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shanhz 3rd Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 how much you can covered in one tank ?? i never bother to take note how much i cover in one tank.. coz my one tank and your one tank is different depending on how much you insert the nozzle, and much more after taht you pump, etc. and half the time, the pump attendant pumps for you for me, i have my own way of calculating (resetting the odo at certain pt, pump standard amt of fuel each time, and keep doing the same thing) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Are you saying that old sunny 1.6M is more powerful than most 1.6L sedans? It is not always true that a DOHC is more powerful than a SOHC. That are examples of SOHC that has higher torque/bhp than a DOHC of the same class. Regards, i am not saying it is more powerful but i rather its a fact a DOHC will be less fuel efficient than a SOHC... but seriously a stock sunny N16 Manual is pretty quick compared to other makes around the same range in SG.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ken4555 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 Dun think FC got anything to do with the size of the fuel tank DOHC is a newer tech than SOHC, in fact I haven't come across any new car with SOHC except of Honda's DSi(which work in a different way), some MIK older models and MIC cars. In fact, I read somewhere that the engine needs to be DOHC before VVT(or similar tech) can be implemented. of course size of fuel tank got nothing to do with FC lah... alamak... i meant if its smaller... ppl have to pump more often... so will feel like FC high got to keep pumping... some cars lke allion got a 60 liter tank... ??? lancer MR GLXi is SOHC.... i dont know wat newer tech makes what difference... ols school VTEC B16 B18 B20 engines are DOHC... ESI was SOHC... then after ES models all were SOHC.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear May 27, 2010 Share May 27, 2010 why latio still selling ? becos people are buying thats why. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...