Jaywalker on Upper Thomson Road

Walkingtree

Exactly. This fella didn't even look. Just walk right across the road like the biblical mosses parting the red sea like tat, putting his fate into the attentiveness and reaction of drivers. Well, with the huge number of "L" plate drivers learning without the putting on the "L" plate nowadays, let's hope the old man had done many good deeds in the past and is now supposed to be reaping only good karma. [laugh]

mosses?! [laugh] haha.. Suddenly Moses became a form of vegetation.. [laugh] haaaii.. if the car hit the old man, it WILL be a red sea.. a red sea of his blood on the road that is.. [:(]

These pedestrians too comfortable in life already... They take it as if whole road is pedestrian crossing... Sometimes I really want to scold them... @#$%@

This morning encountered twice at different locations - both ladies. One nicely dressed young office girl, another one 'lao ah ma'. But same treatment from me, waited patiently until they safely cross the road. :D :D

Edited by Jp66

Being exhausted vs being 6 feet under, I wonder which is worse. Damn jaywalkers! Nuisance to society!

Bro where did you get ur camera? how much is it? dam solid video footage.

Stated in page 1 in the first few posts. Currently retailing at $329 as listed on its website.

good camera man. able to take down vehicle number?>

Can, but not from that distance. I intentionally deleted the earlier and later footage when i was closer so as not to post their vehicle numbers mah. Anyway those footage not relevant to the topic in question. :D

few weeks ago in Jln Bahagia, an auntie drove her car straight into my direction (i stop for the traffic).

KNN! still honk and point her hand at me..she was actually on the opposite direction of the road!!...i came out walk towards her car wanting to kick her bumper...she quickly reverse and ran off.

During her reverse she almost knock into a van behind!

If only i have in-car camera, sure post and make her malu.

mosses?! [laugh] haha.. Suddenly Moses became a form of vegetation.. [laugh] haaaii.. if the car hit the old man, it WILL be a red sea.. a red sea of his blood on the road that is.. [:(]

Oops. Haha... forgot that every person is entitled only one "[as]S". [laugh]

This morning encountered twice at different locations - both ladies. One nicely dressed young office girl, another one 'lao ah ma'. But same treatment from me, waited patiently until they safely cross the road. :D :D

I can understand if its at the traffic lights. Red man is on, but these people still slowly cha cha across, either because of their high heels, their decorum, or their old age. I would have waited as well, and give them a smile and a wave if they happen to look in my direction. If i decide to do a launch from standstill and knock them down, obviously my actions are indefensible.

But this old man was crossing when traffic was in full flow, and despite ample warnings (flashing lights, horns) administered. I think you can't lay the same blame of impatience on the two drivers if they had knocked the Ah Pek down.

Exactly. This fella didn't even look. Just walk right across the road like the biblical mosses parting the red sea like tat, putting his fate into the attentiveness and reaction of drivers. Well, with the huge number of "L" plate drivers learning without the putting on the "L" plate nowadays, let's hope the old man had done many good deeds in the past and is now supposed to be reaping only good karma. [laugh]

LOL you lidat say damn funny hahahaaahaagahaaa

Timing accurate my a$$. You never see the Lexus jam brake ah? Too bad i never check whether the IS250 got upgrade to BBK or not. The Forester also jam like F to avoid whacking the Lexus backside. Could see the Forester try to siam to the right, then saw the Ah Pek continue walking, then LL swerve back left behind the Lexus again. Really drama lor. And best part the ah pek continue crossing like nobody's business, even right across my path. Lucky i already start tapping my brakes liao.

I know overhead bridge tiring for old folks lah, could have use the traffic lights just outside the church only.

Anyway, i can vouch that the Lexus wasn't speeding. I think everybody already know that stretch got a lot of ambush click click. Just that he probably didn't expect the Ah Pek to continue crossing when it's so obvious the car is coming. White colour car, broad daylight, how to not see. The Ah Pek maybe hard of hearing (cos' he totally no reaction to people horning), but i'm sure he is not blind (cos' he can cross the road in a straight line). If anything happens, no amount of blaming will bring him back.

there is no traffic light outside the church. it's about 60m away. not too far but you know humans are lazy lah

You are right. 60m thereabouts, maybe lesser. Nevertheless, imho, the time taken for him to walk to the traffic lights would be vastly shorter than the amount of living time he would stand to lose if he gets knock down. Well, i guess humans don't always do the mental sums before jumping into the most convenient solution. :D

Please don't say that. I didn't mean my post to be disrespectful to old folks. In fact, i appreciate their past efforts in contributing to the nation to provide subsequent generations like us with a more comfortable and prosperous future. So frankly, it will pain me a lot if i had to witness him getting knocked down today. Fortunately nothing happened to him. I'm just hoping that perhaps one of his family may see this and at least pay a bit more attention to him. If something happens to him today, how would the family feel?

Furthermore, would they insist on pushing all the blame onto the car driver? Which in this case I don't think the Lexus driver can be entirely to blame. I know some people will say as long as car knock into pedestrian, the car driver is assumed to be at fault. But facts of the case may not always be so. And old people are especially vulnerable. They may not die from the impact, but they could still die from the resulting heart attack or haemorrhage (internal bleeding), which was exactly what happened to a friend of mine 10 years ago when he knocked down an old man along Holland Road near Pandan Valley. My friend was travelling no more than 30km/h, vindicated by the TP investigation. If whack into a younger guy, maybe the fella might be able to stand up and punch my friend back. But the old man died from his injuries.

I'm not saying that old folks don't deserve any respect fm us. I live by the principle that every individual, no matter what social status they are, how young they are or how old they are, are entitled to be accorded a measure of dignity and individuals should take the initiative to respectfully accord others dignity. And if others are respectful to us, the right thing to do is to reciprocate such acts.

But obviously this old fart in question has an attitude problem.

People from that generation (I am reliably told) grew up in an era with few cars and where cars are much slower, so their mentality is that cars will keep a look out for pedestrians and will slow down to accomodate.

A combination of fast vehicles, fast roads plus, sometimes, heavy footed drivers means that people with this attitude are fast disappearing (natural selection).

Well, 60m for an old man is quite long. I guess that he lives at those landed ppty just directly opposite. So using the traffic crossing is longer by 60m x 2 times.