Question for the Commandos

Cootie-Monster

As a guardsman i support the guards. Commandos will always be my number one rival.

Heliborne all the wayyyyy

always ready, ready to strike. . . [;)]

Speaking of heliborne, how come the chopper can't just land? Isn't it a bigger target hovering in mid air?

Cos chopper cannot anyhow land. Must take into consideration the rotor diameter and many other things.

And yes it is a target hovering in mid air, but at least u need real weapons and good aim to hit it in mid air. If it lands, it's an easier target (closer range) and villagers anyhow throw sticks or stones also can destroy it... dun even need proper weapons.

So, it is safer to hover and let the soldiers rope down.

Not that I know or heard of. usually, there arent enough time to think or stutter at the door cuz the whole stick need to get out within the dropzone.

reservist activities depends on individuals. the ones that like it, wont think its tough. good break from office work.

Fist fights, depending on who is more hungry to win. I have see clerks that can compete with guards or Cdo.

rivalry, competition is non-existent. Just look at the Best Combat Unit awards Cdo has got.

Anyway, everyone got a role to play in the bigger picture, just a matter of who is doing the shitty-er work.

oh please lah

my gds unit lost to cdo 0.1% overall

back in 1996

we got best infantry, they got best combat

my CO that time is now our chief of army

the way he plan to assault the enemy was darn big surprise even to the controllers

Cos chopper cannot anyhow land. Must take into consideration the rotor diameter and many other things.

And yes it is a target hovering in mid air, but at least u need real weapons and good aim to hit it in mid air. If it lands, it's an easier target (closer range) and villagers anyhow throw sticks or stones also can destroy it... dun even need proper weapons.

So, it is safer to hover and let the soldiers rope down.

[thumbsup]

to add on - for easy insertion into remote areas where it is near impossible to get there by land. . .

oh please lah

back in 1996

the way he plan to assault the enemy was darn big surprise even to the controllers

that was kinda ages ago cos when i was still in active unit, he was only the CGO. . .

Of course have one la, last time I know they will push the sissies off. The parachute is not self opened, the catch is tied to a rope (forgot what its called but very strong type for underslung) attached to the plane. So when jump off or push off, the catch will auto trigger after some distance.

With the current training, I think can back out and not jump already la... I not commando but I have followed quite a few times on these jumps... BTW there is also a reserve parachute which I never seen deploy before... The reserve parachute should be quite difficult to deploy, if the main is tangled then gotta cut off before deploy, if the main parachute don't open then easy, can immediately deploy...

The parachutes are packed by riggers, most are women in the commando camp who are probably fitter than most guys... Riggers are specialized vocation...

Oh yeah, the worse case if both fail it is supposed to be the jump instructors who jump after the falling trooper to catch and deploy his own parachute, they have different parachute for these instructors, can have much better control...

Anyways, I have witnessed quite alot of the jumps and nothing much happens... Last time when I was there the worse case is broken ankle, usually only minor ankle sprains only... During jump have to wear ankle brace so it helps support them when they land...

Happy reading.... [laugh]

The parachute riggers are call para wings, IIRC. Yea, female riggers. Pack for CDO only.

Now, I dunno already.

In a normal com kum do NS life...roughly will do around 5-7 jumps..

heard from my buddy, is if u scared to jump...u wont be able to be a com kum do...

instructor will force u but if u still dun 1...then u relac 1 corner..

In a normal com kum do NS life...roughly will do around 5-7 jumps..

heard from my buddy, is if u scared to jump...u wont be able to be a com kum do...

instructor will force u but if u still dun 1...then u relac 1 corner..

para course at least jumps then at least 1 quarter 1 jump lah.

even reservist. thats to maintain para jump current. otherwise, u need to re-course para.

u will have no time to think whether u dare to jump. when u r on Charlie, the next moment you know already on ground [:p]

oh please lah

back in 1996

prize is awarded to winner, not decided by the margin of the win.

I dont see Guards as guard of honor at NDP very often. (no pun intended).

on hindsight, we NSF are all pawns for the army regulars to move up in the ladder. just memories to yak about.

The parachute riggers are call para wings, IIRC. Yea, female riggers. Pack for CDO only.

Now, I dunno already.

Para wing is the section/department/area name la... The people packing are riggers la....

Tee Bye, Load master say load master lah. [laugh]

Half wing very swee.

I really not load master la.... <_<

But I know the processes and what needs to be done.

I am unload master... I unload into dark slimy holes... [laugh]

hahaha...u snookered The Frog! but be careful he is the Discharge Specialist. [laugh]

Tee Bye, Load master say load master lah. [laugh]

Half wing very swee.

Last time one of my BMT corporal like to use 'GU BYE" :huh: , the rest use "TEE Bye"

May be he likes bigger Tunnel [laugh]

And they look like.... [grouphug]

I've seen full Colonels with their legs shaking violently out of fear. Cannot reveal their identity. [grin]

No need to argue about who gets the most BCU. It is just a means to foster camaraderie within the unit and provide means for the paper pushers to advance their career. CDO was caught cheating at results and disqualified before, so have other units. Quite a few of the old regulars are unable to clear IPPT/SOC and resort to "connections" to get things done.

Seen chao keng SOF WOs before? Its just a career to them and a progression for most NSFs.

I think the COA now has changed too, no longer BG Neo but BG Chan. Previously CIO I think.

Choppers do not usually land on the target as they have no idea of the ground conditions. Debris can cause aircraft failure, terrain might not always allow them to land, not to mention time needed to take off again. It is easier to either let the troops rappel, rope or do a combat jump into combat. You can get more boots on the ground within the shortest possible time.

The building named "Someone Special" is still the most "yaya" feature around. [grin]

There's a "yaya" slogan from transport side too. "We may not be the best... but without us... the best will walk."

always ready, ready to strike. . . [;)]

Commandos did Heliborne in their BCT as one of the exercises.

BCT is Basic Commando Training. It happens immediately after BMT.