Changing brake fluid

Pisces69

Actually there is no need to flush ATF. Just changing it annually according to the factory's specs will do. Don't even think of changing better grade ATF. If the specs say "DIII" , strictly use DIII.

Think flushing will just give the ATF system a "SHOCK". [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

==============

Actually I did the flush b4 going to Stamford but I used a good Synthetic ATF (Royal Purple) without any problems.

Only when I did it at Stamford did my autobox develop problems.

I also did the flush at Kangs b4. Also using RP & the autobox performed very well after that.

For your reading pleasure....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/DOT_5

===============

Thanks for the link.

It was a very interesting read [thumbsup] . Now I guess I wil just stick with the original brake fluid recommended by the manufacturer then. Looks like its the safest option for me.

DOT5 is silicon base whereas DOT3 & 4 are glycol fluid. So pl do not mix them even flushing the system, the chances of left over is there.

--------------

Yup thanks.

I already got the message.

I wil prob stick to original type of brake fluid now.

===============

Thanks for the link.

It was a very interesting read [thumbsup] . Now I guess I wil just stick with the original brake fluid recommended by the manufacturer then. Looks like its the safest option for me.

If your manual does specific a certain DOT or make of the brake fluid, please follow accordingly.

For mine, they don't have anything at all. So it is up to everybody's imagination/creativity.

Hi guys, I have done a ATE Super Blue Racing brake fluid Group Buy in Clubhyundai recently. I have checked with my supplier from overseas and they have ready-stock now. I can get the stock in at $17 per 1L can, with payment on collection during meetup. Anybody interested? [:p]

I interested leh. Please pm me the details. [wave]

=============

OK thanks for the warning.

BTW what is the ill effects of using Dot 5 & what causes it?

As far as i know, unless you're willing to bleed your system on a daily basis, Dot 5 will damage your braking system because it doesn't absorb water. This will cause your system to corrode.. rust and all that.. errmm.. something like that la.. So yea.. stick to Dot 3/Dot 4.

If your manual does specific a certain DOT or make of the brake fluid, please follow accordingly.

For mine, they don't have anything at all. So it is up to everybody's imagination/creativity.

============

I do remember seeing my handbood does mention Dot3 or 4.

I guess I wil just get it from my Chevy stockist next time I get my other stuff for the service. [nod]

As far as i know, unless you're willing to bleed your system on a daily basis, Dot 5 will damage your braking system because it doesn't absorb water. This will cause your system to corrode.. rust and all that.. errmm.. something like that la.. So yea.. stick to Dot 3/Dot 4.

==============

Wah u ger also can b so techinal ah. [cool]

U ever change engine oil yourself?

It will be very cumbersome to do brake bleeding everyday even you have the right brake bleeding tool. With air powered brake bleeder, a mech could easily take up to 40mins to do all the four wheels not to mention time spend in driving up the car to the lift, jack it up and removes all the four wheels.

With ABS system, without the right brake bleeding tool you will not be able to 100% remove all the air bubbles.

PS In Spore Bleeding brake systems, the most widely used tool is the right leg. :D

It will be very cumbersome to do brake bleeding everyday even you have the right brake bleeding tool. With air powered brake bleeder, a mech could easily take up to 40mins to do all the four wheels not to mention time spend in driving up the car to the lift, jack it up and removes all the four wheels.

With ABS system, without the right brake bleeding tool you will not be able to 100% remove all the air bubbles.

PS In Spore Bleeding brake systems, the most widely used tool is the right leg. :D

agree, mi mechanics used e tools to extract e air bubbles. But in e end, still find e right leg most effective ^_^

==============

Wah u ger also can b so techinal ah. [cool]

U ever change engine oil yourself?

hahaha.. i got a good shifu to teach me mah..

change engine oil myself? Of course... Not! [:p] haha.. it's my boy boy's car.. not mine.. he knows how to treat his car right.. i'll just hover around him if/when he tinkers around with his car and learn.. :D

yea.. that's why DOT 5 more suitable for racing cars whereby they will have professionals to bleed the system after every race.. :D

hahaha.. i got a good shifu to teach me mah..

change engine oil myself? Of course... Not! [:p] haha.. it's my boy boy's car.. not mine.. he knows how to treat his car right.. i'll just hover around him if/when he tinkers around with his car and learn.. :D

==========

Oh. U very keen on car stuff hor [thumbsup] . Can b bothered to hang around look see. Seldom see ger can b so bothered about cars.

Most only know about clothes, make up & shoes. [laugh]

==========

Oh. U very keen on car stuff hor [thumbsup] . Can b bothered to hang around look see. Seldom see ger can b so bothered about cars.

Most only know about clothes, make up & shoes. [laugh]

haha.. it's quite interesting la. But i still got a lot more reading up to go to know more. i also know about clothes and shoes.. [laugh] but terribly lacking in the make up department.

=============

OK thanks for the warning.

BTW what is the ill effects of using Dot 5 & what causes it?

DOT 3, 4 and 5.1 fluids are glycol based while 5 is silicone based. So in response to TS question, 3 and 4 are interchangeable with your car manual's instructions being the minimum standard one can use. By right DOT 4 and 5.1 can interchange also but most techs I spoke to say not recommended dunno why <_< but last word is that I'll trust them and take their word for it.

DOT 3 has boiling point of 205 celsius, 4 has b.p of 230 celsius and 5.1 has b.p of 260 celsius.

And why we cannot use 5 unless our system is intended for it is that there's moisturisers within 3, 4 and 5.1 fluids which also lubricates the ABS system in most new cars. 5 being silicone based will eat thru the brake system's seals. No prizes for guessing what happens after that [bigcry]

Only good thing is that silicone based fluids dun makan paint if ya happen to spill some on your car unlike glycol based ones. So for the majority of us car owners try not to DIY fluid replacement unless ya are c*ck sure ya know what ya are doing. Besides stripping ya car's paint, if ya dun bleed it properly and leave air within an accident is bound to happen [angel]

Hope I helped.

Edited by Melvyn

Hi guys, any reco for gd workshops to change and bleed brake fluid, mine already spongy thanks.