Converting Ringgit to S$

Header

Try not to go to the money changer and exchange all, split into smaller amount. After custom and immediately after Shell Petrol station, the first corner money changer is not bad. There is one at Woodlands centre, a very polite man, you can see a Cross behind him, I think he is a Catholic, his rate is good too. I always go there to change money when I got my business money from Jb.

I guess TS might have just HUAT in the casinos...

Now worrying ........ [laugh] [laugh]

Got ang pow for the bros here that come out with the best solution?

i would go through banks as legit as possible. Maybe might cost marginally more, but $100k one s--t load to lose if something go wrong, the risk / benefit is just not there (to me anyway)

And try to bring back SGD$100k definitely bust the currency limit imposed by customs, so also illegal...

Anyone knows what is the best way to convert Malaysian Ringgit to S$ and bring into Spore. The amt is about S$100K. Tks.

Change to Sing dollars at Malaysia first and ask for S$1000 notes. Its only 100 piece can just use rubber band to tie it up and place it in your pocket. No need to declare at customs cos usually they dont check. Dont be dumb to put inside your car though. I do that a few times a week but be careful when changing money at JB.. find those ulu money changer without people loitering around the changer will be best. If u want me to recommend, go to Perling near 2nd link .. further up Perling mall there are two money changers with a polis station just steps away. You wont get rob there as the statistic of robbery since the station is set up is 0%.

ask ur wife each bring Rm50k i think should be ok ba. tat is less then sgd30k each

IIRC, you need to declare when bringing RM10k or its foreign currencies equivalent, out of MY.

Declare nia ma, just declare la. No tax or whatsoever.

I think TS intention is to save on the banks transaction and spread costs on the S$100k.....so the normal cashier order/ATM/interbank route will not be applicable to him....guess money changer is the "best"....unless someone else can recommend him some underground "changer"....but money wise better to do it yourself.

Yes u got me correct. The problem with banks in Msia, it is v difficult to compare rates before changing. Given the amt is huge (to me lah), the savings can be significant. Unless someone can tell me which bank in Msia/ Spore is competitive for their rates....

IIRC, you need to declare when bringing RM10k or its foreign currencies equivalent, out of MY.

Declare nia ma, just declare la. No tax or whatsoever.

You are right, better to declare. Non-declaration may end up in big trouble if one is caught, as Malaysia seems to be very strict with currency/forex control.

http://www.mir.com.my/lb/econ_plan/content...ase/bnegara.htm

Just drive into Malaysia with 3 others passengers onboard.

Change the money to S$ and bring it back to Singapore.

1 person can bring in maximum S$30K cash

Mr Lim give you 1 har ??? 100k is not alot...change to big note...just put in pocket...bring over can liao lor...but don't be the other time got one stupid ass put in car lar...if real scare...open a MAYBANK account in MY...they can issue ATM card immediate also....then come SG ATM draw out lor...but need draw out in a few days lar cause of ATM limit per day....

100K Sing dollar is not alot, but bring 230K ringgit to money changer is no joke... Malaysian ringgit max is $100 notes, 200k= 2300 pcs of $100... confirm pocket cannot put in..

and not to forget, most money changer in Malaysia doesnt carry S$500/ S$1000/ S$10,000 notes. They usually keep $50 or $100... so, even at $10,000. we are looking at 1000 pcs of notes..

Edited by Tigershark1976

Anyone knows what is the best way to convert Malaysian Ringgit to S$ and bring into Spore. The amt is about S$100K. Tks.

do u really need to convert all the ringgit to Sing$ at 1 go??

If i were u, I will make it a few rounds, 20K each round for example. change it at some major money changer with at least another 3 guys together to reduce the risk.

Of cos, going thru the bank will be the safest way. but the service charge and the exchange rate will easily cost you u a few hundred ringgit at least... so you need to decide whether to take the risk or to spend a few more hundred dollars..

100K Sing dollar is not alot, but bring 230K ringgit to money changer is no joke... Malaysian ringgit max is $100 notes, 200k= 2300 pcs of $100... confirm pocket cannot put in..

and not to forget, most money changer in Malaysia doesnt carry S$500/ S$1000/ S$10,000 notes. They usually keep $50 or $100... so, even at $10,000. we are looking at 1000 pcs of notes..

don't think they have RM100 note, even if have no one dare to accept/use it [lipsrsealed]

solution 1:

your S$100k and get changed at money changer shops, you will get about 1000 pieces of S$100 or 100 pieces of S$1000 or 10 pieces of S$10,000.

-> bring a bag, stuff all $$$ in, get them changed and drive immediately to a bank, deposit the $$$ on the spot.

solution 2:

open May bank account, deposit your RM$ and let the banker do the conversion.

solution 1 gives you a higher exchange rate but dangerous and vice versa.

Edited by Ladykillerz

===============

I bring the RM across for u.

Just give me ang pow 5% can. [scholar]