Am I sensitive or is this stupid?

Darryn

Today I completed Primary One registration under phase 2B at my local primary school.

The process went smoothly, except for one point. I had selected

you are living in a multi-racial society and yesterday happen to be the multi-racial day (ok nothing to do with your case...)

the form have to state everything, if not some will also get offended. Since there are only 4 options, just choose the closest one lah ..... why must be so specific?

Which school are you putting her ?

Edited by Jman888

what kind of cert was required from you? a kindergarten "grad" cert or a cert stating that your child has completed some form of language instruction?

Today I completed Primary One registration under phase 2B at my local primary school.

The process went smoothly, except for one point. I had selected "Chinese" for my daughter to study as her "Mother Tongue". This is where I was informed that I must get Ministry of Education "approval" for this.

That I will need to submit a certificate of some sort from the kindergarten, and then MOE will need to "approve" this application.

I was within seconds of losing my temper at the poor lady at the registration desk, before taking a deep breath and putting the anger aside

To all...

1) No wife not present, but her IC was (race is recorded as chinese)

2) My wife's race is recorded as Chinese on kid's birth cert

3) why have to record a race for my kid at all, beyond homo sapiens sapiens?

4) Why do I need to apply to MOE to "allow" my kid to study chinese?

the real question is, if she does not study chinese, what is she to study?

If we "self identify" such that we want our kid to study chinese as a mother tongue, who the fark has any right to say otherwise? Why do I even need to ask for MOE "approval" at all?

yea i agree. this rule of theirs is kinda stupid. y need to seek permission to study chinese when there isnt another sensible choice after all.

what kind of cert was required from you? a kindergarten "grad" cert or a cert stating that your child has completed some form of language instruction?

I'm a bit unclear on this..I have emailed to MOE to see if I get clarification.

Anyway I am not worried about that part - her Chinese is fine, and it won't be a worry to pass over her report card with her chinese grades to the school (she got A for speaking by got B for writing as she is lazy to write nicely)

To all...

1) No wife not present, but her IC was (race is recorded as chinese)

2) My wife's race is recorded as Chinese on kid's birth cert

3) why have to record a race for my kid at all, beyond homo sapiens sapiens?

4) Why do I need to apply to MOE to "allow" my kid to study chinese?

the real question is, if she does not study chinese, what is she to study?

If we "self identify" such that we want our kid to study chinese as a mother tongue, who the fark has any right to say otherwise? Why do I even need to ask for MOE "approval" at all?

yours is a special case, the school doesn't know whether your kid is raise in Singapore and had formal chinese education in kindergarten (as you are ang moh remember!).

the approval is formality i believe as again you are ang moh and the race of your kid automatically become eurasian..... the choice need to be assessed.....

to answer your thread title, yes you are a SENSITIVE...........new age father :D

no worries, my friend is an indian, married a chinese

daughter race is officially listed as indian, but mother tongue is chinese

the approval thing is probably juz a formality

its yr choice that matters.....

yours is a special case, the school doesn't know whether your kid is raise in Singapore and had formal chinese education in kindergarten (as you are ang moh remember!).

the approval is formality i believe as again you are ang moh and the race of your kid automatically become eurasian..... the choice need to be assessed.....

to answer your thread title, yes you are a SENSITIVE...........new age father :D

Why does it matter whether she has ever studied chinese before or not? She is a Singapore citizen, what if I really posted out of the country and no access to Chinese Kindgarten, then what would her mother tongue be? [crazy]

At the end of the day, is really just a "rubber stamp" approval, why even have it in the first place?

Who is in the best position to decide how my daughter identifies for the purporses of mother tongue if not myself and my wife?

What if I was going to live in Malaysia in 2015, and wanted her to study Malay? Would that also be allowed? Would I also need to "apply to MOE"?

Why does it matter whether she has ever studied chinese before or not? She is a Singapore citizen, what if I really posted out of the country and no access to Chinese Kindgarten, then what would her mother tongue be? [crazy]

At the end of the day, is really just a "rubber stamp" approval, why even have it in the first place?

Who is in the best position to decide how my daughter identifies for the purporses of mother tongue if not myself and my wife?

What if I was going to live in Malaysia in 2015, and wanted her to study Malay? Would that also be allowed? Would I also need to "apply to MOE"?

their MOE must go chuun time wan...cos most times, nobody man the counter...all relac [laugh] [laugh]

Strange requirements........never heard before. Kindof BS if you ask me.

Registration period is like how many days ? I think its 2 ?

Hope you can clear this out asap.

with all your questions, i think you will bang your head to the wall if you live in MY or Indo.......

no one say that you cannot do this cannot do that....

there are things call system and processes....... in other words, its call job creation! dun ask me why or how, i am also trying to get use to it :D

with all your questions, i think you will bang your head to the wall if you live in MY or Indo.......

no one say that you cannot do this cannot do that....

there are things call system and processes....... in other words, its call job creation! dun ask me why or how, i am also trying to get use to it :D

now i noe how you got your lobojob [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

Strange requirements........never heard before. Kindof BS if you ask me.

Registration period is like how many days ? I think its 2 ?

Hope you can clear this out asap.

registration complete already. Now wait to hear if got balloting or not. This will only matter when comes time to assign mother tongue..so I don't have to sort it our right now :D

is it the school that has this requirement?

cuz some good schools, they want to make sure u gt background

then wont pull their grades down mah

frm what i know, u go to govt sch, u r allowed to pick n choose any mother tongue u want as long as its within cl/ml/tl

one of my client, she is a malay, husband also malay, she insist her daughter learn chinese in school

also no prob..

their MOE must go chuun time wan...cos most times, nobody man the counter...all relac [laugh] [laugh]

they were all celebrating racial harmony day [laugh] [laugh]