RadX Moderator August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 no comment since im not interested. let's be frank, sports just doesnt click with sg. take fandi's son for example, those who support them to go further with soccer, the only feasible advice for them is to give up citizenship. if they want to remain as sgrean, then forget about soccer. that's how mismatch btw sports and sg. Another thing that perhaps many are sore about, the massive amount of $$$ that we had to pay to subscribe to teh world cup...when our neighbors get it free...WTF... Well, most of us won this one with internet streaming matches, but still the memories remain ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 If it is actually something important and significant, then yes I might be excited. I am sort of excited with F1, cos that is indeed a global thing. But YOG to me just seems like very typical Singaporean "mountain out of a molehill" thing. Whenever everything remotely related to us happens, we just always want to make it into such a big deal. I hate that. It's unnecessary attention-whoring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 (edited) Another thing that perhaps many are sore about, the massive amount of $$$ that we had to pay to subscribe to teh world cup...when our neighbors get it free...WTF... And then use >$400million of our $$$ for this stupid YOG, which we will get nothing out of. I think we will never know how much they eventually will use for this kiddy event. Idiots. They deserve to FAIL! Edited August 7, 2010 by Gendut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonmunn 1st Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 (edited) Hi All, Why after spending S$385 million,this event does not click with singaporeans? What is the underlying problems,who is to be fault? 1stly this event's target audience is not singaporeans....its the rest of the world. PAP wants to portray singapore as a happening culturecentric place. They would have preferred to host the Olympics but there is not enough space on peesai land and so they undertake the next best thing....YOG. The problem is that no one in the rest of the world cares 2 hoots also...especially right after the world cup. But thats not going to stop the local media from declaring this event a massive sell-out success. Indeed any PAP govt led initiative has never (and will never) fail. The PAP can even launch a campaign to sell toilet paper to people without a-----es (holes in their butt)....and they will throw millions of dollars into marketing and the local spin media will then launch it and declare it a great success.... Edited August 7, 2010 by Soonmunn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 (edited) Foreign expert says its worth every penny....but we dont count in Pennies in Singapore. FAILED! http://www.businesstimes.com.sg/sub/news/s...,398612,00.html? Published August 7, 2010 YOG cost worth every penny: sports prof Jarvie says initial bid price of any Olympics is always much lower than the eventual amount By LEE U-WEN THE cost of hosting next week's Youth Olympic Games may have more than tripled to $387 million so far - but it's an investment worth every penny in terms of the spillover effect it will have on the Singapore economy. PROF JARVIE Says it is important not to view the inaugural YOG - which starts on Aug 14 - as an isolated event This is the view of Grant Jarvie, a sports professor from Scotland, who said that from past experience the initial bid price of any Olympics is always much lower than the eventual amount that the host city has to fork out. 'You need to win the hosting rights first before you can arrive at a final price,' said Prof Jarvie, deputy principal at the University of Stirling, which prides itself as Scotland's university of sporting excellence. He is an adviser to Scottish ministers and political parties in several policy areas, especially sport. 'Of the $387 million, about $260 million has already been put back into the local economy, which is an excellent return considering the event hasn't even started,' he told BT during a five-day working visit to Singapore last week. Prof Jarvie, a member of Scotland's national sports agency and a panel member of the Scottish Sports hall of fame, said that it is important not to view the inaugural YOG - which starts on Aug 14 - as an isolated event. The 12-day Games, which will feature 3,600 teenage athletes competing in 26 different sports, has created many opportunities for Singapore to position itself as a venue to host major tournaments and events. He spoke of how his native Scotland is already gearing up to host the Commonwealth Games and golf's Ryder Cup in 2014. Their budget, too, has shot up - from Edited August 7, 2010 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assaxefour 1st Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 We have a take a look at the KPI that is set for Teo ser luck to see if its success or failure. BTW Do you know the chairman Ng ser miang drives a bentley. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 (edited) Our gahment tender usually v cheap one i dun noe why nid 385 million for and past already got Olympic draw,F1,the world simi organisation still nid promote? And even promote, what to do wif us? As if subsidise back or what i can see my cpf when 65 good enuff,no nid expect more liao i rather they use it for local poor or wat.. Knn i still remembered when they up $30 for the poor monthly one,still said give $280 is sufficient n dun expect eat in restuarant Edited August 7, 2010 by Freestylers09 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonmunn 1st Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 (edited) Foreign expert says its worth every penny....but we dont count in Pennies in Singapore. FAILED!] Well the PAP pappyganda machine says that over SGD260 mio has been "pumped back into the local economy".....now exactly what that means nobody knows...The Shitty Times will be vague on details like this....u seee, as the official mouth piece of the PAP they dont need to substantiate these Unsubstantiated statements...we just need to er...take their word for it. Which is kinda difficult because they use this lame tactic many many times...like when they say infulux of foreign labour benefits domestic economy..or when they tell us GDP has increased by X% and then use this as a reason to increase ministers pay. But for simple folks like me...i really cant see how such "benefits" filter down to the man on the street (i.e. me)....I did not get any pay increments? Not in the last 3 years. And no bonuses since 2008 too...oh yeah i forgot to mention i work in the private sector and not GLCs....so maybe that explains it... Edited August 7, 2010 by Soonmunn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vblaster_w211 2nd Gear August 7, 2010 Share August 7, 2010 (edited) The question asked is a flop. It should be "Is YOG considered a FLOP", not "Is YOG consider a FLOP". 2nd, how can anything that has not happened be a flop? However, I do feel Dr Vivien Balakhrisnan, MCYS and SYOG committee should had better explained the budget than to simply state the amount spent was worth its value. Singaporeans prefer to be engaged intellectually, and not be given blanket assurances. We have moved beyond that stage, but it seemed the powers-that-be has yet to keep up with the times. On the other hand, I do support our young athletes, and in particular, the next gen of athletes who will come of age amidst a more sporting culture. We may yet see more successful Olympians in the next 10 or so years. Bolt and Phelps may not be dropping by YOG, but we had 10 top ranked fencers, which counted 6 Olympic Medals and many world championship titles between them, dropping by to support our young athletes last week. If they believe in our youngsters, we should too. Edited August 7, 2010 by Vblaster_w211 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 yeah, even kena found out, they can surely can some scapegoats to take the fall.... tats why they are paid millions in salary to think of such things...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunnycrowe Clutched August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 u shld ask.. Is Brazil WC 2014 a flop? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 u shld ask.. Is Brazil WC 2014 a flop? im more interested to know will brazil 2014 wc be free telecast?... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 (edited) The question asked is a flop. It should be "Is YOG considered a FLOP?", not "Is YOG consider a FLOP". 2nd, how can anything that has not happened be a flop? However, I do feel Dr Vivien Balakhrisnan, MCYS and SYOG committee should had better explained the budget than to simply state the amount spent was worth its value. Singaporeans prefer to be engaged intellectually, and not be given blanket assurances. We have moved beyond that stage, but it seemed the powers-that-be has yet to keep up with the times. On the other hand, I do support our young athletes, and in particular, the next gen of athletes who will come of age amidst a more sporting culture. We may yet see more successful Olympians in the next 10 or so years. Bolt and Phelps may not be dropping by YOG, but we had 10 top ranked fencers, which counted 6 Olympic Medals and many world championship titles between them, dropping by to support our young athletes last week. If they believe in our youngsters, we should too. Missed out the question mark. Vivian's first and last names are egregiously mis-spelled. "Have", not "had". "Seems", not "seemed". "Have", not "has". Who's the grammar/typo flop now? Don't throw stones from a glass house. Edited August 8, 2010 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 India is hosting the commonwealth games and there are already corruptions scandals in the organising committee... i think our govt shld do a full audit on our YOG..... alot of $$ might be going to some ppl's pockets..... Obviously you have never done business in India. Corruption is the very much the norm over there, prolly more prevalent and overt than in our neighbour up north. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Walkingtree 1st Gear August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 (edited) Well the PAP pappyganda machine says that over SGD260 mio has been "pumped back into the local economy".....now exactly what that means nobody knows...The Shitty Times will be vague on details like this....u seee, as the official mouth piece of the PAP they dont need to substantiate these Unsubstantiated statements...we just need to er...take their word for it. Which is kinda difficult because they use this lame tactic many many times...like when they say infulux of foreign labour benefits domestic economy..or when they tell us GDP has increased by X% and then use this as a reason to increase ministers pay. But for simple folks like me...i really cant see how such "benefits" filter down to the man on the street (i.e. me)....I did not get any pay increments? Not in the last 3 years. And no bonuses since 2008 too...oh yeah i forgot to mention i work in the private sector and not GLCs....so maybe that explains it... So the gahment says let's do yog and then by magic everything appears? Refurbishing hostels need money. Refurbishing stadiums need money. Feeding the athletes need money. Transporting the athletes and officials need money. Even painting the olympic lanes need money. And all this money had gone to local contractors, so it is indeed pumped back into the economy. It may not have gone into your or my pocket directly, though thats what most of us hoped for. But it may have helped someone get employed during this time. To me, the gahment spending $385m is so much better than the gahment simply hoarding reserves year after year. Pumped the money back into the economy to create or help retain jobs. And the higher the profile of events we hold, the more money our gahment pumps into the economy. So i say we should have more events! Edited August 8, 2010 by Walkingtree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cootie-Monster Neutral Newbie August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 (edited) YOG is not a flop. By the end of this month, some big shot will declare it a resounding success and whichever MiW organized it will be feted by the press. Edited August 8, 2010 by Cootie-Monster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 Not all Olympic earned.. whats make us sure promote to other world?? event real event nearly made 1 city bankrupt....took 20 years to recover it.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 8, 2010 Share August 8, 2010 i'm actually looking forward to it. i'm a sports fan and love seeing the best (even its just age group) battle it out against each other. they may be kids but i'll bet at their level they're so much better than most of us will ever be. so hopefully it will be a worthwhile event. but i don't see where the $350m is spent on, or why even the need for such a huge amount. i don't see any new infrastructures. hopefully an investigative reporter will get to the bottom of it. :D :x10^6 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...