Yuan 6th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 errr... running and jogging is the same movement right? I only know 3 types, walk, jog/run, sprinting. walking is normally when you are going back to your car, jogging is when you realize you left something in your car, sprinting is when u see the fatimah beside your car! Good illustration. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 jogging is good exercise. Just went for a 30mins jog at 6pm. Good to destress too. Time to get another pair of jogging shoe. I try to do that 3 times a week despite family duties and heavy work commitments. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 running 2.4 is different. I find it much more siong on the heart. Like to enjoy my long runs I can do my long runs like 10km in less than an hour (40 to 45 min). But when it comes to 2.4 km, I got miserable timings..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 Driving 10KM abd running 10KM big difference right?? Haha.. I pant until want to die after run for like 1 KM or less... lucky I MR liao.. no more ippt come bug me like housefly like that I think it is good that we continue to exercise like running or jogging even though we got no more IPPT. There is an elderly man staying near my house who runs along the park connector regularly. He is faster than me most of the time. Or I may be a weak runner. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Author Share August 9, 2010 5min/km is do-able for 2.4km, but going further?? I think 6min/km is okay lah, for distance running, e.g. 5km, 10km and above. But you raised an important point. Nowadays we see a lot of people signing up for marathons and wearing marathon finisher t-shirts, but how many actually truly "run" the 42.195 km course? Those who run/walk/crawl past the finish line in 6 hours also can get the t-shirt! There was a suggestion previously, since marathon events are now getting too crowded, to restrict entries to people who can actually finish in 5 hours or less. Famous overseas marathons like Boston also need people to show decent qualifying times from previous runs, in order to sign up... personally, i think if the person completed the 42km on foot, regardless of timing, he/she deserve the t-shirt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Author Share August 9, 2010 actually im targeting gold for ippt.....by training minimally....meaning dedicate a day to running....lol....and the other 3 days weight training same exercises same weight....see how it pans out!! can meh?? lets us know if u can get ippt gold with minimally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sunlight 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Author Share August 9, 2010 I usually measure by my heart load rather than timing. 0% = resting. 100% is when you sprint and is running out of breath. That where you have reach the VO2max. For the first 3km, I usually aim to average about 80% of the heart load. The average timing below 4:30ming per Km On the forth km, I will sprint for 1km reaching my Vo2 max. Usually timing is below 4min. The next 2 km is my cooling down phase, usually I will run at a leisure pace from 50 % to 70% which translate to about 5:30 min per km too much work lah. Must use heart rate monitor and do calculation. Me a simple man, if too siong on heart slow down or stop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 (edited) can meh?? lets us know if u can get ippt gold with minimally. what i meant was less weight training more cardio... Edited August 9, 2010 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 (edited) For 5min/km So 2.4km is about 13mins. Well...that is a super duper running speed to me at my age now. Last time young, I can run 2.4 in 10mins. Last month my IPPT 2.4 run is 14mins+......heart almost died when I stepped and heard the system beep after crossing the line! 5min/km is fast man.... Edited August 9, 2010 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 can meh?? lets us know if u can get ippt gold with minimally. actually that's doable. but not recommended. i did that once. hate running but would go gym for workouts. 2 weeks before ippt i went to the track and did 400m sprints with rest in between. did 4 laps at 1:30 each...(yeah i call that sprinting ) same for following days... by day 5 fell sick...fever, loss appetite...didnt train... by day 10 recovered.blessing because i lost weight. day 12 restarted the 4 laps sprint. day 13 rest. day 14 ippt.... ran like hell.... lap 5 out of steam started jogging. lap 6 willpower alone. one last gold or die trying. looked down and sprinted like mad dog. got gold,didn't die but that final lap felt something always about to grab my soul...i think grim reaper panchan, daily quota exceeded maybe. never again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soonmunn 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 actually that's doable. but not recommended. i did that once. hate running but would go gym for workouts. 2 weeks before ippt i went to the track and did 400m sprints with rest in between. did 4 laps at 1:30 each...(yeah i call that sprinting ) same for following days... never again. Thats Fartlek training and it works. But you only did it for 2.4km....and short distances. For longer distances (above 8km) most runners will do a combination of long runs with the Fartleks at the end of a long run. Er becarefull you dont overstretch yourself. How old are u? Going by the yardstick in this thread 5min per km works out to approx 2 mins per 400 meters (i.e. 2 mins per round on a 400m track), so 1;30 is pretty fast if you are in your 30s and 40s....:) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zyrofillica 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 5min/km is do-able for 2.4km, but going further?? I think 6min/km is okay lah, for distance running, e.g. 5km, 10km and above. But you raised an important point. Nowadays we see a lot of people signing up for marathons and wearing marathon finisher t-shirts, but how many actually truly "run" the 42.195 km course? Those who run/walk/crawl past the finish line in 6 hours also can get the t-shirt! There was a suggestion previously, since marathon events are now getting too crowded, to restrict entries to people who can actually finish in 5 hours or less. Famous overseas marathons like Boston also need people to show decent qualifying times from previous runs, in order to sign up... real hardcore fit runners wont wear that 42.195km t-shirt advertisments out! only the poseurs do that Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 5min/km is do-able for 2.4km, but going further?? I think 6min/km is okay lah, for distance running, e.g. 5km, 10km and above. But you raised an important point. Nowadays we see a lot of people signing up for marathons and wearing marathon finisher t-shirts, but how many actually truly "run" the 42.195 km course? Those who run/walk/crawl past the finish line in 6 hours also can get the t-shirt! There was a suggestion previously, since marathon events are now getting too crowded, to restrict entries to people who can actually finish in 5 hours or less. Famous overseas marathons like Boston also need people to show decent qualifying times from previous runs, in order to sign up... Aiyah, no need to restrict people trying out even if they can't finish in 5 hours. To use Boston marathon as an example is not correct too, as they are for the real elites, and of course it will demand a much faster qualifying time, which Singapore can only send a few. So, it's not for the common folks like you and me. Mind you, even those who can do sub-4 will struggle in the field of elites at the Boston Marathon. All of us have to start somewhere. I remember with fondness my maiden marathon at 7 hours. Struggled a bit here and there, but completed satisfied. Did my PB at Sundown this year, nearly achieving sub 4:30. But every marathon is a lesson for all of us, and of course when you learn how to prepare for it through past experiences, you naturally become better at it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackwind Neutral Newbie August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 actually that's doable. but not recommended. i did that once. hate running but would go gym for workouts. 2 weeks before ippt i went to the track and did 400m sprints with rest in between. did 4 laps at 1:30 each...(yeah i call that sprinting ) same for following days... by day 5 fell sick...fever, loss appetite...didnt train... by day 10 recovered.blessing because i lost weight. day 12 restarted the 4 laps sprint. day 13 rest. day 14 ippt.... ran like hell.... lap 5 out of steam started jogging. lap 6 willpower alone. one last gold or die trying. looked down and sprinted like mad dog. got gold,didn't die but that final lap felt something always about to grab my soul...i think grim reaper panchan, daily quota exceeded maybe. never again. hahaha very interesting btw ask your grim reaper fren to panchan me also.... my ippt window open already Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aristotle 5th Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 (edited) double post Edited August 9, 2010 by Aristotle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 I can do my long runs like 10km in less than an hour (40 to 45 min). But when it comes to 2.4 km, I got miserable timings..... Very good timing there.. I realised that too that 2.4km has no corelation with 10km. My 2.4km was always around 12min to 13mins since I ORD. I started joining run competition since 1 yrs back, my 10km timing has improve alot, from 1hr 10mins to now current 51mins. But when times my 2.4km, I still doing 12min-13min, never improve at all.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 Thats Fartlek training and it works. But you only did it for 2.4km....and short distances. For longer distances (above 8km) most runners will do a combination of long runs with the Fartleks at the end of a long run. Er becarefull you dont overstretch yourself. How old are u? Going by the yardstick in this thread 5min per km works out to approx 2 mins per 400 meters (i.e. 2 mins per round on a 400m track), so 1;30 is pretty fast if you are in your 30s and 40s....:) yeah that was for my final ippt, in cat Z. i can sprint but i can't run. took part in a marathon once with colleagues but i abandoned it halfway. just can't be bothered. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yr1985 1st Gear August 9, 2010 Share August 9, 2010 actually that's doable. but not recommended. i did that once. hate running but would go gym for workouts. 2 weeks before ippt i went to the track and did 400m sprints with rest in between. did 4 laps at 1:30 each...(yeah i call that sprinting ) same for following days... by day 5 fell sick...fever, loss appetite...didnt train... by day 10 recovered.blessing because i lost weight. day 12 restarted the 4 laps sprint. day 13 rest. day 14 ippt.... ran like hell.... lap 5 out of steam started jogging. lap 6 willpower alone. one last gold or die trying. looked down and sprinted like mad dog. got gold,didn't die but that final lap felt something always about to grab my soul...i think grim reaper panchan, daily quota exceeded maybe. never again. When I was doing last IPPT before MR, I try maintain my timing below 1m 30s for each round. Starting from 1st round, then 2nd round and so on till I can complete 6 rounds below 9m 45s. It took me two months and at least 4 times a week. There is no systematic approach, just keep on trying. No regrets, spent less than 1 hour at Bedok camp, $400 cash in, 9m 41s at age of 33. Currently starting all over for longer fit, the MR club at 5km in less than 25 min...still tryin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...