Running or Jogging

Sunlight

To regular runners/joggers here. what do u consider as running?? i consider myself running when the pace is 5min/km, above 5min is jogging.

Last time can RUN 10km, now cannot liao [bigcry] [bigcry]

errr... running and jogging is the same movement right? I only know 3 types, walk, jog/run, sprinting. walking is normally when you are going back to your car, jogging is when you realize you left something in your car, sprinting is when u see the fatimah beside your car! [laugh]

For 5min/km

So 2.4km is about 13mins.

Well...that is a super duper running speed to me at my age now.

Last time young, I can run 2.4 in 10mins.

Last month my IPPT 2.4 run is 14mins+......heart almost died when I stepped and heard the system beep after crossing the line!

For 5min/km

So 2.4km is about 13mins.

Well...that is a super duper running speed to me at my age now.

Last time young, I can run 2.4 in 10mins.

Last month my IPPT 2.4 run is 14mins+......heart almost died when I stepped and heard the system beep after crossing the line!

wah lau.

1km -> 5min

2.4km -> 12mins leh...

i try to run long distance once a week, but as now i cannot do it as often due to work [:(]

When i 20+, 10km under 50min no problem

30-33 my timing is around 50min

now 35, 10km 55-56min [bigcry]

To regular runners/joggers here. what do u consider as running?? i consider myself running when the pace is 5min/km, above 5min is jogging.

Driving 10KM abd running 10KM big difference right??

Haha.. I pant until want to die after run for like 1 KM or less... lucky I MR liao.. no more ippt come bug me like housefly like that

i try to run long distance once a week, but as now i cannot do it as often due to work [:(]

i'm now doing 10km in 60mins, and i'm 30, so i'm worse off then u...hahaha

21.1km in 2hr 19mins....lagi worse....lol

Edited by Sky61

I have been running 10km (50mins) on weekday and 21kms (2hr 10mins) on weekend weekly and the pace is about 6min per km.

But I almost fail my IPPT because I have not been training for 2.4km RUN.

My time was 12mins 51s, for CAT Y, slower by 9seconds I would have failed.

If I run the same pace for 2.4km as the longer distances, my timing would be 14-15 mins.

Midway then I realise my pace was too slow and run slightly faster.

Need to really train for 2.4km even one has been jogging on a regular basis.

Edited by Atonchia

I have been running 10km (50mins) on weekday and 21kms (2hr 10mins) on weekend weekly and the pace is about 6min per km.

But I almost fail my IPPT because I have not been training for 2.4km RUN.

My time was 12mins 51s, for CAT Y, slower by 9seconds I would have failed.

If I run the same pace for 2.4km as the longer distances, my timing would be 14-15 mins.

Midway then I realise my pace was too slow and run slightly faster.

Need to really train for 2.4km even one has been jogging on a regular basis.

running 2.4 is different. I find it much more siong on the heart.

Like to enjoy my long runs [:)]

running 2.4 is different. I find it much more siong on the heart.

Like to enjoy my long runs [:)]

What 2.4 sia!! MR loh... hee hee hee :D

Happy holiday!!

I never ran 10km except army time 22 years ago, now I jog twice a week 5km about 30min. [crazy]

Wow 5min/km.....thats 10km under 50 mins? Thats running ok but you have to see for how long you want to maintain that pace? 5km? 8km? 10-21km?

The MR25 club requires you to run 4 km under 20 mins to qualify to join them.

Even in the Standard Chartered Runs, if you look at the 10km mens results, only the top 10% manage 10km under 50 mins. My best 10km time was 47.40min 3 years back....now i can only manage 51-52 mins so i guess i am jogging by your standards...

By the way there is a Republic 10km Competitive run on next sat 14 Aug. This is a chip timed run so maybe you wana register and measure also how many can do 10km under 50 min....

5min/km is do-able for 2.4km, but going further??

I think 6min/km is okay lah, for distance running, e.g. 5km, 10km and above.

But you raised an important point. Nowadays we see a lot of people signing up for marathons and wearing marathon finisher t-shirts, but how many actually truly "run" the 42.195 km course? [laugh]

Those who run/walk/crawl past the finish line in 6 hours also can get the t-shirt! There was a suggestion previously, since marathon events are now getting too crowded, to restrict entries to people who can actually finish in 5 hours or less. Famous overseas marathons like Boston also need people to show decent qualifying times from previous runs, in order to sign up...

Ha ha... from your figures, looks like we are in the same boat, bro [laugh]

I switched to more low-key job and should be able to do more long runs, but now saddled up with family duties instead [bigcry]

yeah running once a week will help alot....

but for weight training its a case of less is more for me....of course still maintain the same weightage

5min/km is do-able for 2.4km, but going further??

I think 6min/km is okay lah, for distance running, e.g. 5km, 10km and above.

But you raised an important point. Nowadays we see a lot of people signing up for marathons and wearing marathon finisher t-shirts, but how many actually truly "run" the 42.195 km course? [laugh]

Those who run/walk/crawl past the finish line in 6 hours also can get the t-shirt! There was a suggestion previously, since marathon events are now getting too crowded, to restrict entries to people who can actually finish in 5 hours or less. Famous overseas marathons like Boston also need people to show decent qualifying times from previous runs, in order to sign up...

actually im targeting gold for ippt.....by training minimally....meaning dedicate a day to running....lol....and the other 3 days weight training same exercises same weight....see how it pans out!!

Edited by Ithunk

I usually measure by my heart load rather than timing.

0% = resting. 100% is when you sprint and is running out of breath. That where you have reach the VO2max.

For the first 3km, I usually aim to average about 80% of the heart load. The average timing below 4:30ming per Km

On the forth km, I will sprint for 1km reaching my Vo2 max. Usually timing is below 4min. The next 2 km is my cooling down phase, usually I will run at a leisure pace from 50 % to 70% which translate to about 5:30 min per km