YOG volunteers' food... hahahaha...

Mockngbrd

All the disbelievers that the TS first post was real.... here's the proof...

caterer admits it:

Aug 13, 2010

YOUTH OLYMPIC GAMES: SINGAPORE 2010

YOG caterer acts on food

Picture of meal for volunteers sparks furore online

By Liew Hanqing

The meal in a box which was posted by a volunteer on his Facebook page. The caterer said it has taken action to improve the portions and variety of food served. -- PHOTO: FACEBOOK

THE caterer for meals provided to Youth Olympic Games (YOG) volunteers has moved to improve them after complaints about the food surfaced.

The action resulted after a volunteer took a picture of the meal he was served and posted it on his Facebook page, igniting a furore.

The meal, served in a plastic box, comprised a mound of rice, a meat fillet and six pieces of long bean.

Singapore Food Industries (SFI), a subsidiary of the Singapore Airport Terminal Services (Sats), provided the food. It had been awarded a $5.5 million catering services contract by the YOG organising committee.

When contacted, a Sats spokesman confirmed that the meal in the picture was part of a meal provided to the YOG workforce. A bottled drink and some fruit were also provided, she added.

'We have received feedback from the workforce regarding the meals served. We take their feedback very seriously and have promptly taken action to improve and ensure that the portions and variety served will provide the workforce with a balanced meal.'

In its response to the criticism, the YOG's organising committee said: 'Our workforce is key to the successful organisation of the Games and their health and physical well-being is important to us.'

Added a spokesman: 'We are aware of the feedback (on the meal) and have taken immediate action. We will work with the caterers to continually improve the meal standards.'

The committee did not respond to questions on how much was budgeted for volunteers' meals and whether there had been any guidelines for food provision.

Criticism of the food has been raging online since the picture was posted on Tuesday.

One netizen, Mr Chris Liew, 33, an investment banker, said he was appalled after chancing upon the picture online.

He said: 'Even if (the meal) was an isolated incident, such a logistics oversight of providing sub-standard meals to our volunteers should have been avoided at all cost because we are hosting a world-class event after all.'

SFI's contract covers meals for up to 7,000 athletes, officials and volunteers at the Youth Olympic Village, among other things.

It is unclear whether the different groups involved in the YOG - such as full-time national servicemen and volunteers - were served different food, but their experiences were varied.

Full-time national serviceman Leslie Wong, 20, who was stationed at the Marina Bay floating platform, said the 15 or so meals he has been given so far were similar to the one that has been criticised.

He said: 'One of the meals was a dry, tasteless piece of chicken with a few slices of carrot and some soggy rice. I ended up throwing most of it away.'

He said that while he had no complaints about the portions, most of his friends on duty at the same venue chose to buy their own food instead of eating the packed meals.

But volunteer Siaw Jie Hao, 22, who helped with the YOG flame arrival celebrations at the National University of Singapore, said the food provided was acceptable.

A typical meal, he said, consisted of rice, fish and vegetables.

'The meals are not fantastic, but they're satisfactory.'

Other volunteers who spoke to The Straits Times said that they had no complaints about the food, which also included main courses of pasta, rice and noodles, and ice cream for dessert.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_565714.html

yup, I read in ST this morning. Cannot believe, but I accept the fact, because they admitted! they simply screw up big time! [:(]

If nobody bothered to post the photo of the food up... the volunteers would have no case, and be continued to be treated like dogs througout...

So now the question comes back.... what happened to the $5.5 million allocated for the food catering????

Looks like something smells of stale sardines in the expenses accounting of the YOG committees.

yes, good thing this F@#King issue came to light!!!! [thumbsup]

SEEEE i neber bluff... neh neh nee boo boo

SFI got pwnzed by te internetz

sori bro, my bad...................

ok ok........you win you win!!! [scholar]

During my NS days, we always envy friends whose cookhouse are under SFI. their food is much much better than Foodfare.

I still remember the bread for my BMT breakfast from Foodfare, it's just 2 days away from expiry.

The loafs must be those left unsold by NxxC and dumped for NSF consumption.

young man, you have not tried the bread prepared by the SAF cooks b4, if got chance (which I don't think so), u will know the food in the SAF now is simply [thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup] !!!!!

my NS days, the bread is steam until soft soft for you every morning.........................because they are expire and hard like rock.

kaya, butter no need to spread, because the cook will mix for you 1st b4 giving to you.

coffee is hot color water with sugar.

one week 3 day bread, 1 day rubber mee hoon, must mix with milo to form milo mee hoon soup, if not cannot be eaten. 1 day porriage with egg.

just b4 ROD, change to catering, morning get bao and mai kai, wah lau eveyone tears drop, almost sign on......................LOL

:blink: last time my friend cook in RATC kena caught for bringing donno what drug, go to DB [dizzy][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

but there was one cookhouse which is really really high standard: [thumbsup] The OETI Cookhouse [thumbsup]

Wow, looks like quite a lot of people eat well at home. I have to bear with catered food on weekdays because mine is a "working" family, no maid. Sometimes good, other times pretty bland - much depends on the cook on duty, I guess.

Does anybody here also have experience with catered dinner, and which companies out there are better?

I had tried select and neo garden......................both so so nia.........quantities very little, the soup not even enough for my 2 girls................small eater ok, big eater need to eat more rice liao.

that was many years back, not so sure about the standard now.

in between maids, I will go coffee shop ta bao dishes from the mix veg rice stall, veg $2, meat/chicken is $3, fish is $3-$6, usually can get 4 dishes for less than $10, rice cook at home.

sometime buy the fish soup, sometime no soup.

happy now don't need to eat cookhouse food liao.......................cater or cook..................no matter how good....................we need to pay with our sweat and blood one!!! [laugh]

sign.........................used to tell my friend, be happy to go back for service, because if you come back that means the boss still want you, which means you are still young and healthy. when you really ROD................either old liao or spare part need to change liao.................

lao liao lah..................................sign..................................

young man, you have not tried the bread prepared by the SAF cooks b4, if got chance (which I don't think so), u will know the food in the SAF now is simply [thumbsup] [thumbsup] [thumbsup] !!!!!

my NS days, the bread is steam until soft soft for you every morning.........................because they are expire and hard like rock.

kaya, butter no need to spread, because the cook will mix for you 1st b4 giving to you.

coffee is hot color water with sugar.

one week 3 day bread, 1 day rubber mee hoon, must mix with milo to form milo mee hoon soup, if not cannot be eaten. 1 day porriage with egg.

just b4 ROD, change to catering, morning get bao and mai kai, wah lau eveyone tears drop, almost sign on......................LOL

I have the same experience as you. Must be around same age. I still remember my Tekong steel wire bee hoon with 5 peas (IIRC). So tough to eat so bo pian I pour my diluted Milo over it to let it soak a while before I ate. No choice. Have to eat as no more energy after a long morning run. [laugh]

[laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

yes! yes! the milo rubber mee hoon soup story.................everyone does it!!!

I ROD in 1992! i think 1st or 2rd batch to use the term ORD. 40 liao loh......................

ever wonder why the mee hoon must come with diluted milo??????

never fail one.................always like that for many many years!!!

talking about sweet sweet mee hoon soup! :D

so we are now all talking about our NS heydays again har.... ok ok .. let me add my memories....

during my time in BMT, the maggi mee served at breakfast was called rubber bands...

many times I walked to cookhouse for breakfast or lunch, and simply turn around and went back to bunk because the food was too horrible to look at.

Those times survived on the choco bars and hardtack from combat rations leftover from field camps. My weight at the end of BMT was 50kg.

As years went by ... and they did outside catering... during reservist at 1PDF... wow, the food was amazing... eat until cannot eat... end of reservist ICT - actually put on weight! LOL! so ironical.

I read the great man's memoirs many years ago and in it he professed an admiration for how the commies organized their events. So I wouldn't be suprised if commie style tactics used during YOG like employing NSF and students to pack the stands were inspired right from the top.

isn't that what they do for NDP?

how do other countries celebrate their national days? do they display army tanks, soldier marching etc?

i know china and NK do...wat about malaysia? india? australia? usa?

In any SAF camp, the food quality will be very good if the biggest fcuk in that camp always go to the cookhouse for meal.

In year 2000-2001 when I was in Dieppe Barracks, the food quality is always very good coz the 1 star general usually eat there everyday.

isn't that what they do for NDP?

NDP is give out free tickets. so far no need to resort to getting ns men and students to pack the stands. However, all manpower is volunteered whether its forced volunteerism or real volunteerism. I've taken part 5 years in NDP. 3 forced. 2 real volunteerism. Watched it only once as spectator.

how do other countries celebrate their national days? do they display army tanks, soldier marching etc?

i know china and NK do...wat about malaysia? india? australia? usa?

True democracies celebrate their version of N-Day in very chin chai fashion. Maybe just get the school band and some nearby troops to march down the street. At night, bbq in your own back yard and set off some fireworks.

Generally speaking, only the totalitarian states like to stage well rehearsed parades and rumble their tanks all over the place.

Hi guys

Back from ECP

Pai she no time to take pictures today because rush for rehearsal only 5mins to gun down food.

Anyway only had lunch it was fish and chips but the fish only got two pieces farming small machiam fish fingers size. TWO only.

Somemore inside all battery taste like s--t. That plus a few cold potato wedges and one scoop of baked beans that's all.

Heng drinks free flow but now still hungry

And truly, YOG food sucks.

I wish it were like SAF day...

Nvm tmrw and Sunday still got chance to "enjoy" their "tasty" food. Knn hungry sia