Ghostami 2nd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 You lucky fellow. Haven't get your first car already so many tips from kong fu masters. Keep my word for the last, not so important. Don't buy so many car care products. OK. Going to finish then restock. This is very very true. Because I have problem using these wax, and polishs... I still have 1-2 bought 2-3 years ago, just used a few times only... Dont say i never tell you first. I bet there are many Kong Fu Masters out there who are equally or more guilty me for hoarding money this way. very bad habit.. Totally agree, I have 3 to 4 different brands of polish at home and all opened... Best of all, I just bought another different brand ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 Bro.. rev 3k rpm is around 120km/h..FC wil be good meh ? based on my experience to get better FC below 2.5k rpm is the best liao.. I rev 3 - 4 krpm daily. FC hovers around 13 - 14km/l. It really depends on your engine powerband. Like when you run you sure have a comfortable pace you will feel effortlessly. Same goes for car, but you have to slowly experiment the different band of the car to know which range your car is most efficient in. Secondly, mine is a manual so easier to control that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 5 years unlimited warranty... sounds great. It also means 5 years have to service in KM for charges up to KM to decide. Welcome to Honda club. After you have collected your Jazz, come here again to ask how to damage control your servicing... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vextan 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 (edited) one inevitable question that will arise after you get your new car is, do you want to sign up for grooming package or not. cos new car the paint work very nice and smooth, and you will want to maintain that way. and you will not want to wash the cheap $7 wash. myself, the cheap $7 wash. i dont believe in being a slave to a car but the other way round. but i keep the interior clean all the time because thats where your family occupies. Edited August 23, 2010 by Vextan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Japan96 Clutched August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 Hi all, Its interesting to keep reading on as you guys share info. I am picking up on the go as I read on. So a big thanks in advance and especially to Ken4555, Furrynadz, Yuan and Trex101 for helping me out when I first posted in this forum. One of the questions I have now (believe me, I have more in my mind then this haha) is that being said that I am collecting my new vehicle - Honda Jazz 1.3(A)LX soon, it means that I have to do run-ins like everyone else. I read that it is recommended that for the first 500 to 1000km, short trips of less than 15minutes is best. But in my daily travel, I estimate that I will be: Starting at Sengkang, go down all the way to Novena to drop my partner off, then proceed to Clementi. So this entire trip will be way beyond 15 minutes. So should I take such daily trips right from the start? Or make my partner wait while I run-in short trips till after 500km or after 1000km before I start sending her down in long trips? Cause I am really worried that if the 15minute short trip is really crucial, running such long distance trip from the start will not do well for my run-in thus resulting in less lifespan for the vehicle. Please enlighten me with what you think? Pretty troubled here Another question is, for tyre pressure, what do you guys use to check it? How is it done, pardon me as I am still in the midst of reading up articles in car bible and other websites, so will be some time before I know even the basics. But am trying my best =) You can Travel out of the time but dont exceed 80km/h to reduce the chance of the engine piston getting crack. This is recommanded by the Seller of my car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 I suggest u change the tyres. The tyre is crap on jazz. It's so weak and squishy. The same conering and style comparing my old ride vs jazz. The tyre was screeching and grooming at every traffic lights conerings turns! It's worst at those sharp left turns, with zebra crossing type, the entire rear end was squirmy and I can feel the tyres bending and suspension very soft kind of feeling. The wet carparks abs keeps activating and the car keeps moving forward, almost hit the wall few times. Farking scary driving my Honda jazz with it's original tyres! My wife begs me to change to a 16" and wider and better tyres ASAP! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lowpricedelivery Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 I'm now very confuse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E-Jazz Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Author Share August 23, 2010 (edited) I'm now very confuse. Why confused? Edited August 23, 2010 by E-Jazz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E-Jazz Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Author Share August 23, 2010 You lucky fellow. Haven't get your first car already so many tips from kong fu masters. Keep my word for the last, not so important. Don't buy so many car care products. OK. Going to finish then restock. This is very very true. Because I have problem using these wax, and polishs... I still have 1-2 bought 2-3 years ago, just used a few times only... Dont say i never tell you first. I bet there are many Kong Fu Masters out there who are equally or more guilty me for hoarding money this way. very bad habit.. Hi 5936 Yup. The seniors here are extremely helpful. Noted on the care product part haha. Thanks for sharing. You can Travel out of the time but dont exceed 80km/h to reduce the chance of the engine piston getting crack. This is recommanded by the Seller of my car Hi Japan96 I see, guess most likely i'll follow the same rule. Thanks Another thing you might want to consider is to buy your engine oil from outside and bring to KM for them to use. KM charges more than $25/ltr of engine oil. Maybe only do this after your 1st/2nd service with KM. For my car, HCH2 during the 1k and 10k service, they charged around $10x.xx for 3.8ltrs of Shell Helix Ultra 5w30. For my 20k service, i brought 4 quarts (1 qtr=946ml) of Amsoil 100% synthetic 0w20 oil (total $60 only) and KM returned around 0.4 ltrs of oil, which means they only filled 3.4-3.5ltrs of engine oil. Firtsly, that shows KM overcharges for oil and Secondly, they have "cheated" me twice for charging for extra oil. Hi Satelitewhs, Yea, I read quite a number of threads pertaining to engine oil. most people start bringing their own after 1-2 AD servicing. I think for starters I'll just let Kah do it first and see how things goes. I'll really need to understand more on it before I decide to bring in my own oil. Thanks for bringing this up =) I suggest u change the tyres. The tyre is crap on jazz. It's so weak and squishy. The same conering and style comparing my old ride vs jazz. The tyre was screeching and grooming at every traffic lights conerings turns! It's worst at those sharp left turns, with zebra crossing type, the entire rear end was squirmy and I can feel the tyres bending and suspension very soft kind of feeling. The wet carparks abs keeps activating and the car keeps moving forward, almost hit the wall few times. Farking scary driving my Honda jazz with it's original tyres! My wife begs me to change to a 16" and wider and better tyres ASAP! Hi SimonTan, Will take note of that when cornering. Though I take more corners slowly as I don't drive fast. So we'll have to see how it feels once I get the car. Thanks for mentioning this part. 5 years unlimited warranty... sounds great. It also means 5 years have to service in KM for charges up to KM to decide. Welcome to Honda club. After you have collected your Jazz, come here again to ask how to damage control your servicing... Hi Ben5366 Yea, damage control on servicing haha. I like the way you phrase that =) one inevitable question that will arise after you get your new car is, do you want to sign up for grooming package or not. cos new car the paint work very nice and smooth, and you will want to maintain that way. and you will not want to wash the cheap $7 wash. myself, the cheap $7 wash. i dont believe in being a slave to a car but the other way round. but i keep the interior clean all the time because thats where your family occupies. Hi Vextan, Wow thats another area which I haven't thought about. Will have to search on it and find out more on this =D I also want my car to look good if budget allows lol. Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E-Jazz Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Author Share August 23, 2010 can u be considerate.. think of those people in caltex that will be out of job when u ask people to pump vpower. every now and then, I still see my neighbor opening his fuel flap and shout inside for the people from caltex to go in front and clean the piston Don't quite get what it means for people to clean piston and why some will be out of job. Care to share with me more details on this aspect of things? haha. Hear say is Caltex platinium would be a better choice over V-power. Better in power and cleaning performance. For powerwise I agree, cleaning wise, need to strip out engine than will know. I see, I also heard most people are either Shell or Caltex. Perhaps thats the reason. So you're saying that cleaning wise in total is strip out engine than will know. But lets say I pump ron95 all the way and on the next almost near empty, I go in and pump Caltex Platinum, will it be ok? meaning to say there are existing ron95 left and a mix of caltex platinum on top of it. Just wondering if the mixture will do anything to the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 dude.... its just a car.... u'r getting paranoid. ya lor...if kena door dent, maybe TS will do guard duty for his car. his partner also need to prowl the area for suspicious people Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostami 2nd Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 (edited) IF you wanna mix fuel, make sure you are about bone dry than you do that. Meaning you are on reserve tank, this way it will prevent over mixture of old fuel with new fuel and the effects of the new fuel might not be felt. Oh ya, as for the stripping engine part. I think not many will get to find out. But I do know V-power is not very good for carbrattor ( don't know if I spell correctly ). Especially for bikes, it tends to choke up the carb after a period of time. This is what I heard from bike shop mech and also my friends riding bike with carb. As for cars, seldom get a chance to know as most people I know owns EFI. Edited August 23, 2010 by Ghostami Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E-Jazz Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Author Share August 23, 2010 ya lor...if kena door dent, maybe TS will do guard duty for his car. his partner also need to prowl the area for suspicious people hehe IF you wanna mix fuel, make sure you are about bone dry than you do that. Meaning you are on reserve tank, this way it will prevent over mixture of old fuel with new fuel and the effects of the new fuel might not be felt. I see, I read from this article about reserve fuel that: "In most cases, the main tank and the reserve tank are actually the same tank, but there are two outlets through which the fuel may leave. One outlet is located a short distance above the other. When the fuel selector is not set to the reserve position, the fuel will flow from the upper hole, and will stop flowing when the fuel level gets below the upper hole. When the selector is on reserve, the lower hole will be used, which allows all the fuel to be drawn from the tank." But I guess I'll have the read the car's instructional manual to see how I can gauge if its under reserve tank yet. Thanks for the info Ghostami. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E-Jazz Neutral Newbie August 23, 2010 Author Share August 23, 2010 Oh ya, as for the stripping engine part. I think not many will get to find out. But I do know V-power is not very good for carbrattor ( don't know if I spell correctly ). Especially for bikes, it tends to choke up the carb after a period of time. This is what I heard from bike shop mech and also my friends riding bike with carb. As for cars, seldom get a chance to know as most people I know owns EFI. Ok, noted the points you raised. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 one inevitable question that will arise after you get your new car is, do you want to sign up for grooming package or not. cos new car the paint work very nice and smooth, and you will want to maintain that way. and you will not want to wash the cheap $7 wash. myself, the cheap $7 wash. i dont believe in being a slave to a car but the other way round. but i keep the interior clean all the time because thats where your family occupies. I agree and second that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sony 1st Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 Don't quite get what it means for people to clean piston and why some will be out of job. Care to share with me more details on this aspect of things? haha. I see, I also heard most people are either Shell or Caltex. Perhaps thats the reason. So you're saying that cleaning wise in total is strip out engine than will know. But lets say I pump ron95 all the way and on the next almost near empty, I go in and pump Caltex Platinum, will it be ok? meaning to say there are existing ron95 left and a mix of caltex platinum on top of it. Just wondering if the mixture will do anything to the car. if you know. you will know.. if not, leave it to the pro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 23, 2010 Share August 23, 2010 Yoz.. better get coilcover too..as ur jass is extremely high from wheel to fender.. lower down ur car is for safety cornering.. In my opinion, that is a good investment. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...