Xtrider82 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 What a sad, self-centered, egotistical excuse of a human being. Looks like Mr Brat Lau really thinks he is a FAMOUS and SELF IMPORTANT food blogger, when he is in fact a JOKE, and secretly wishes he can be a LADY. No matter his explanations, the summary of events goes like this: "Oh, I am famous. And since you have invited me and a guest for free food tasting 3 MONTHS AGO, I shall shamelessly invite another 2 more friends to eat for FREE. And oh yes, if you DARE to ask me to pay, I shall give you black face + attitude, and toss the credit card given to me by my parents in your face." Mr Brat Lau, here is a message for you: There is such a thing as KARMA, and you are going to get your comeuppance. What goes around comes around. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 He is coming through as a food blogger, you are not. So you cant really compare like this. He should be presenting himself with a much better attitude then the usual paying customer. The thing is when having this kind of discussion, how many of us adults can keep our cool? I don't dare to say I can keep my cool all the time. Just imagining if I were in the situation, I think only 50-50 chance I can keep my cool. At worse, you can say he is a short tempered person who cannot keep his cool. Maybe slightly immature (but he is still studying isn't he). So I don't know why people keep condemning him as though he is scum when these are very human and common flaws we find all around us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 oh im still studying for my masters so i can be immature? lol Nah, I didn't mean that. I just used it to reflect that he is still young and yet to experience the "real" world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 chao gay boy... At first when I saw his pic and nick I thought it's a BUTCH. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Pls lah, u must be related to him.. It is v easy to condemn him just because he is rude to throw the CC (as admitted by himself), expecting free food for his two friends also, must as well invite his whole kampung.. And most impt of all, he got an ah qua face and still so yaya.. Tell me who will defend him except for his circle of ah qua frens.. Thank you for proving my point. I can't stop you from making whatever assumptions you want. I guess it should be no difficulty condemning you either, in that case? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TandemAssassin 1st Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 He is coming through as a food blogger, you are not. So you cant really compare like this. He should be presenting himself with a much better attitude then the usual paying customer. Mind clarifying why he must behave better because he is a food blogger? Is it because he is in the public eye? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 The thing is when having this kind of discussion, how many of us adults can keep our cool? I don't dare to say I can keep my cool all the time. Just imagining if I were in the situation, I think only 50-50 chance I can keep my cool. At worse, you can say he is a short tempered person who cannot keep his cool. Maybe slightly immature (but he is still studying isn't he). So I don't know why people keep condemning him as though he is scum when these are very human and common flaws we find all around us. why is there a need for him to lose his cool in the first place? yes, all of us might lose our cool in a situation where there is obviously neligence at the other side of the party, but in this situation, I dun even see why he shld felt so indignant for being asked to pay for his other two friends.. Let us go thru the situation again..he was invited for the food tasting, the restuarant specify he and a partner's meals would be on the house. at his own preference, he wants his frens to come along. So he told the restuarant, 3 more friends would be coming. He din even proceed to clarify with the restuarant would the meals of his other 3 frens be on the house as well and just thot if it isn't, the restaurant would respond. Now, I dun see how could the restaurant be expected to made a response when he said he is going to bring another 3 friends to come along..firstly the restaurant specify that only the reviewer + 1 partner would eat free (and that is the industry practice which the food blogging community is aware of). That is already clear enough. When he say he is going to bring another few friends along, the restaurant wouldn't interpret that he felt their meals would be on the house also since it was alr mentioned to him that only the reviewer + 1 partner would eat free...is the restuarant going to say something like "if you are bringing other friends along, do take note that only your meal and another 1 partner would be free and the other 2 wouldn't be free"...some pple may feel offended with such a response if they indeed are only bringing additional pple along but is not expecting it to be on the house.. so on the day of food tasting, he thought everything would be on the house...then when it isn't, he flipped. my question is, why shld he feel so angry at the restuarant? did the restuarant deceived him into thinking all his frens meals would be on the house too?? no, they din. as said, it was a case of miscommunication. in a case of miscommunication, both parties have no fault or they have equal fault. so why shld he behave like it was all the fault of the restuarant and then lose his cool in such a manner? i agree that he don't deserve extreme condemnation on what happened (which is why I din even make implications on his sexuality and etc etc) and some of the comments are indeed a little over the board but I think if one analyse it closely, he brought it upon himself with his immature thinking and behaviour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrider82 Neutral Newbie August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Mind clarifying why he must behave better because he is a food blogger? Is it because he is in the public eye? Yes. It is exactly the fact that he is a food blogger that he should carry himself with a professional attitude. Not invite additional people needlessly and throwing tantrums when you don't get FREE food. For goodness sake, people read his blogs for his reviews, and if he acts like this, what sort of message are we sending out to our young? Imagine if I were to give you attitude and fling a credit card in your face. Would you care how young I am at that point in time? And by the way, 23 years old is hardly an excuse to be an immature Brat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nhyone 4th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 I view this saga as The Empire Strikes Back. Some food bloggers have gotten their heads too big thinking only they can make-or-break others via their writings. Now they know they live by the same rules as well. (Others can do the same to you too -- via the same channel some more.) ladyironchef, RIP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 why is there a need for him to lose his cool in the first place? yes, all of us might lose our cool in a situation where there is obviously neligence at the other side of the party, but in this situation, I dun even see why he shld felt so indignant for being asked to pay for his other two friends.. Let us go thru the situation again..he was invited for the food tasting, the restuarant specify he and a partner's meals would be on the house. at his own preference, he wants his frens to come along. So he told the restuarant, 3 more friends would be coming. He din even proceed to clarify with the restuarant would the meals of his other 3 frens be on the house as well and just thot if it isn't, the restaurant would respond. Now, I dun see how could the restaurant be expected to made a response when he said he is going to bring another 3 friends to come along..firstly the restaurant specify that only the reviewer + 1 partner would eat free (and that is the industry practice which the food blogging community is aware of). That is already clear enough. When he say he is going to bring another few friends along, the restaurant wouldn't interpret that he felt their meals would be on the house also since it was alr mentioned to him that only the reviewer + 1 partner would eat free...is the restuarant going to say something like "if you are bringing other friends along, do take note that only your meal and another 1 partner would be free and the other 2 wouldn't be free"...some pple may feel offended with such a response if they indeed are only bringing additional pple along but is not expecting it to be on the house.. so on the day of food tasting, he thought everything would be on the house...then when it isn't, he flipped. my question is, why shld he feel so angry at the restuarant? did the restuarant deceived him into thinking all his frens meals would be on the house too?? no, they din. as said, it was a case of miscommunication. in a case of miscommunication, both parties have no fault or they have equal fault. so why shld he behave like it was all the fault of the restuarant and then lose his cool in such a manner? i agree that he don't deserve extreme condemnation on what happened (which is why I din even make implications on his sexuality and etc etc) and some of the comments are indeed a little over the board but I think if one analyse it closely, he brought it upon himself with his immature thinking and behaviour. Well said bro.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TortoiseRacer Clutched August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Yes. It is exactly the fact that he is a food blogger that he should carry himself with a professional attitude. Not invite additional people needlessly and throwing tantrums when you don't get FREE food. For goodness sake, people read his blogs for his reviews, and if he acts like this, what sort of message are we sending out to our young? Imagine if I were to give you attitude and fling a credit card in your face. Would you care how young I am at that point in time? And by the way, 23 years old is hardly an excuse to be an immature Brat. I believe even if my kid who did that, i'll spank the crap out of him! Spoilt braT... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 if its a normal diner who throw the card and kpkb, the most get stomped, kpkb by ppl online and case closed. since its bread lau, he claims to be well known blogger and he went there as a food blogger, he sld mind his actions and behave mah. its the same for others, if u r wearing SQ uniform and u behave hooligan outside, ppl will also say...but if its a normal citizen behave hooligan, no one will bother. ppl pick every little small things to bring someone down...very ez and very cruel =Z Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 I think what most of us fail to see is this. Yes the blogger shouldn't have loss his cool. but noted that he had inform the resturant that he is bringing 3 more guest. The resturant PR should have the initiative to point out to him that only 2 meals will be free instead of 4 as a courtesy reminder. I am not saying Blogger is right. but rather the resturant in question is also wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrlau Clutched August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 if its a normal diner who throw the card and kpkb, the most get stomped, kpkb by ppl online and case closed. since its bread lau, he claims to be well known blogger and he went there as a food blogger, he sld mind his actions and behave mah. HE DIDN'T throw the CC lah, he just put down the card with additional force !!! (That the card's fault !!). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Want to show off in front of his 3 girl friends, in the end kenna whacked jialat jialat. Faggot! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 I get the impression the blogger try to act blur and assume that he & his kakis need not pay for meals since he told restaurant he bring 3 friends along. He should be expected to clarify with the restaurant if all need to pay for their meals or only pay for 2 portions. Really made full use of what he has learnt in NS Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged August 26, 2010 Share August 26, 2010 Just a quick question. Was the menu of the food tasting session set by the restaurant, serving their house speciality? What about the cost for wine? Was it part of the 'package' or in case the blogger comes in and order a very expensive bottle of wine or champagne. Would these have triggered off the incident as well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wensong Neutral Newbie August 26, 2010 Author Share August 26, 2010 HE DIDN'T throw the CC lah, he just put down the card with additional force !!! (That the card's fault !!). ,muahahahahah.... this is funny.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...