Car stealing Techniques

Tom_kkh

Ultramega: Noted. But as my car can start without clutching in, and since I usually park with neutral gear, I'm afraid I may just start my car on 1st gear and end up knocking into the wall. Haha.

Can share with us if your Driving Instructor did taught you to start the engine without depressing the clutch pedal?

If the clutch pedal is depresssed, the car should not move with/without gear engaged when you start the engine (the car can still move if the clutch is faulty at that point in time, assuming the handbrake is not applied)

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

why drive up when so gan kor ???

one fellow drive up 99 times ... never kena anything so damn yah yah

the 100th time car suspected syndicate lifted up car into lorry by crane ...

insurance case drag and drag ....

why drive up when so gan kor ???

one fellow drive up 99 times ... never kena anything so damn yah yah

the 100th time car suspected syndicate lifted up car into lorry by crane ...

insurance case drag and drag ....

facts or fiction?

bo pian, due to work..... mostly fly but sometime need to travel around malaysia than have to drive

If they cant get the car, other group may get the contents irregardless of brands and makes.

that's why i said don't be paranoid. Your valuables will also get stolen in Singapore if you leave it in plain view. Same for Australia and London too.

yes, need not be paranoid but do your precaution, why make it easy for them :)

yes... use common sense and lock up everything from sight. I've seen before a SIN car at KLCC with 2 steering wheel-pedal locks. 1 baseball steering wheel lock and lastly one gear shift - parking brake lock. 4 locks in all! That's what I call overkill.

If the thief wants to steal this car, he can simply put it on a dolly and tow it out.

Edited by Altivo

yes... use common sense and lock up everything from sight. I've seen before a SIN car at KLCC with 2 steering wheel-pedal locks. 1 baseball steering wheel lock and lastly one gear shift - parking brake lock. 4 locks in all! That's what I call overkill.

If the thief wants to steal this car, he can simply put it on a dolly and tow it out.

I guess it is still ok (nevertheless less an overkill) when owner so that in a secured carpark like KLCC. I have seen such cars in seedy areas in JB. Those locks may have made stealing it difficult while the owner is not around....but it make the owner a good target for robbery cos it will take the owner a while to unlock all the locks.

Edited by Silver_blade

IMHO, it is pointless to use all those lock as it delay entry into the car. With the delay, 1 may be subjected to mugging. I would rather lost the car than kena mug at gun/knife point.

Car theft occurs anywhere. Even with the most secured car lock system or even chaining up your ride against a tree will get it stolen if the thieves wants it. Some yrs back, there was a report about a Goldwing that went missing from within the owners house in JB, the owner swears to UpThere that he locked the gate. The bike just disappeared, the front gate was still intact and locked by the way. The news was reported in Wan Bao. Some insurance company thinks its a scam. Some thought the bike may have been lifted, by a nearby rented crane... <_< Strange tactics.

Another is a CRV at Makota Malacca, I think about 2 yrs back... the car fitted with sophisticated sensor, alarm, and immobilizer, but on CCTV, a crook just walked up to it, cooly opened the door w/o triggering anything, and cooly drove off. This happened to another BM at JB too, at Jusco. The owner even ran after the car and struggled to opened, in vain, the door.. the thief just cooly drove off.

The one common thing all these poor chaps had done was that they sent their vehicle to Malaysia for servicing and they left their sophisticated car keys with the service people. That could be a source :wacko:

My take is, if there is so much worry about car theft, then dont drive in. Otherwise, just do the common sense thing:-

1. Dont leave flashy things in the car to lure the crooks... not unless you r the police lah.

2. Dont park in isolated place.

3. Dont leave your keys, even a minute, with unknown persons.

4. Dont be flashy yourself either (dont show off your ipod, iphone, ipad, etc.. not forgeting Vertu)

If you do the most common sense preparation as what many has mentioned here, then just enjoyed your ride. The last thing that you want from your holiday, is to become a slave to your ride, instead of enjoying your ride.

I used to own a 3rd hand 1979 Honda Accord. The door can be unlock with a screw driver [:p] Drove into JB few times, nothing happened. Think nobody bothers that old car anyway.

I guess it is still ok (nevertheless less an overkill) when owner so that in a secured carpark like KLCC. I have seen such cars in seedy areas in JB. Those locks may have made stealing it difficult while the owner is not around....but it make the owner a good target for robbery cos it will take the owner a while to unlock all the locks.

That makes a good 1 for 1 steal. Owner + car. [knife]

IMHO, it is pointless to use all those lock as it delay entry into the car. With the delay, 1 may be subjected to mugging. I would rather lost the car than kena mug at gun/knife point.

the first thing i always do when in the car is to lock it immediately, that more or less prevent mugging...

more singaporean drivers are too used to auto lock... they forgot they can lock it manually