Nautilus 2nd Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 Most people talk big online only. Just look at how many people trying to save on parking coupons, live with dents on their car and make noise when coe, road tax, insurance and petrol price rise. You'll be surprised that most of the ones that make the most noise for these reasons are the really rich ones out there. Ever heard of the phrase "the richer you are, the stingier you are"? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jay1980 1st Gear September 25, 2010 Author Share September 25, 2010 Don't know about you but I won't stay in such company.. Its too dangerous to get used to such working style. Simply make you "nua" and I don't think you learn anything, simply said, you can claim you work for 10 yrs but still no substance. Period. you are right to say so but now no choice leh, got study and family committement leh, when things stable down first then mayb will job hog lor. Anyway not always so nua la, i'm doing project based mah, so got peak and non peak period. Now is super non-peak period, so super nua. haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rb1623m Clutched September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 hmmm, upgrade?? i already gotten a BEng and now doing MSc. You means still not enough ah, must go for Permanent Head Damage. Haha By the way, i'm in the worst of all industry, Engineering haha If you are in the private sector, MSc will not add value in getting a pay rise. It is more of self challenge and satisfaction to complete it part time, on top of the knowledge gain. That's my objective when I did it 12 years ago. 1/2 of the class did not make it beyond semister 1 because most would already have a B.Eng to fall back and hence more of giving it a try kind of attitude. Those who made it after semister 1 would complete the course in 2-1/2 years without much problem. It's easier than B.Eng in my personal opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kensk Clutched September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 (edited) You are grossly underpaid. Time to look for new job. Edited September 25, 2010 by Kensk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hwt Neutral Newbie September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 (edited) If you can afford a house that you think is reasonable, able to lead a lifestyle that you are satisfied with (not everyone wants a condominium, a 50" LED TV, a Camry, go to Starbucks every week and drink alcohol in a pub), and have the ability to reach your retirement fund target, that is okay. Some of those who earn 10k a month may be spending 8k, and so do not have a sustainable lifestyle. If yours is sustainable and sufficiently comfortable, that is enough. Just make sure you have the ability to get another job with a similar pay when there is a need to do so, and of course have standby fund to cover six months to one year of expenses. Edited September 25, 2010 by Hwt Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maldini03 1st Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 With Greater Pay comes Greater Responsibility.... Btw, a MSc doesn't necessary increase ur pay...a promotion or switching to a higher paying job is needed to do tat. Key thing is as long as u r happy w ur current lifestyle, stay happy. just work hard and work smart... donnie yen also not a new comer but recently have a break thr in the IP MAN. yr time will come. Gabmbate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mini-itx Clutched September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 But sometimes I have to say its due to fate. It may not be true but its possible that when you are born, you life has already been decide. Thats why some are born into rich family, some are poor, some clever, some stupid. Some people get rich quickly with little effort. Some can never get rich no matter how hard they work. Most of the things are also beyond our control. Sure you can work hard, but what if your boss does not appreciate what you do? Office politics causes someone to backstab you and your boss see you the wrong way? Keep job hopping but could never find a decent company and can't even have a career? Thus, I would life is really controlled by fate (or by some higherups). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zniper 2nd Gear September 25, 2010 Share September 25, 2010 When I was 30 I earned less than you. So I dont think you are doing badly. Engineers who do well are those who are in management. Those in construction would have done well last few years but eventually construction will slow down & they may experience pay reduction or even no pay. Those who say they are earning more may be quite a bit older than you or bsing.If you look at this Pay scale you would be average. If you think everybody here earns more, then you would feel lousy. In the land of the blind the 1 eyed man is King...yeah King of the blind but I guess that why we are often unhappy cos we compare too much. seriously i really doubt the payscale done by those earning millions per annum up there... hav u ever tot they purposely make the payscale like tis to make us feel better and not making every sillyporean here complain much... maybe they make them low so as to make sillyporean stay and lesser ppl tot of moving out of sg, cos they noe simply if sillyporean leaves sg dan no FTs will be willing to take the s--t of 2yrs for them... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 Haha, no la, dun think can get PE. anyway even my PE also not worth much money cause i'm electrical not civil one Elecrtical not bad for PE ma Fire cert testing to shut power,installing DB etc etc.. i used 1 60+ years old PE b4..wa lao,still ask us how to do,worst is we nid his chop nia.. anyway can go home 6pm everyday..good liao lor..i always happy to do it though i also not getting alot afterall u get what u work and paid for..reasonable enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Piggy83sg Clutched September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 i also earn than the lowest scale indicated. well, it realy boil dwn how u manage ur fund. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nephilim 1st Gear September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 (edited) Haha, actually i dun feel bad abt my salary la, actually i think it good pay via my job scope. It just that i'm surprise that everyone in MCF say "wow they earn this earn there, abit unrealistic leh. Anyway bascially i'm doing peanut job so confirm is peanut pay ma, somemore no one in my company do OT one. everyday go office clock in, then go breakfast for an hr, go lunch for 2 hr, tea break an hr, somemore when free, still can study in office. haha. where to find this kind of job liao Look at it this way, your job offers you comparatively more free time which, if you use it well, is potentially worth more than your current pay. Edited September 26, 2010 by Nephilim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razer_Blaze 2nd Gear September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 Not all who drive a Korean or Chinese car are poor. And not all who drive a Continental or Sports car are earning big money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 After reading so many threads in MCF, i found that, there seems like a lot of big earner here. Seems like i belongs to the super low income group here haha By the way i'm 30 and my annual income only hit slightly above 40k. But i see so many forumer saying they earning big bucks and only in their 20s.. think i must buy more 4D and Toto from now onwards liao Haha please do yourself a favour. do not compare. it brings no end to your sorrow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 live life to the fullest. money isn't everything. the important thing is whether you are happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coldshot Neutral Newbie September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 I read that the avg sporean pay is about $35-$40k p.a. I know pple who are making 3-4 times that amount yearly but are always in debt or living on credit. It all boils down to managing your finances i guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheesey74 Supercharged September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 After reading so many threads in MCF, i found that, there seems like a lot of big earner here. Seems like i belongs to the super low income group here haha By the way i'm 30 and my annual income only hit slightly above 40k. But i see so many forumer saying they earning big bucks and only in their 20s.. think i must buy more 4D and Toto from now onwards liao Haha U can't believe all the stuff u read here..haha.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skunk Clutched September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 those who make alot, tend to be more "visible"....have flashier cars, have no qualms about showing off their earning prowess....so it may "seem" like there's alot of them. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xtrocious 1st Gear September 26, 2010 Share September 26, 2010 If you read my post carefully, I am not generalizing but doubtful that a few are what they claim to be, though we'll never know. remember months ago some fella made claims abt driving a beemer etc and eventually discovered to be lying by our CSI team here. Those who were here months before will get what I mean. Would that be leepee? But you forgot about the fresh graduate who claims to have bought a new C180...hahaha ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...