Is this method of car ownership calculation logical?

Dpsk

1. i want to buy a second hand 3yr old car that depreciates 40k a year. with road tax, servicing, insurance, petrol etc all in, about 50k per annum.

2. i decide to pay cash for the car and expect to take the 100k lost when i sell the car after 2years.

3. i sell away the car after 2 years and collect cash less 100k back.

questions

1. did i miss out anything on car ownership in singapore now?

2. do all of you car owners do this method of calculating ownership of cars in singapore?

3. does number of ownerships of a second hand car further depreciates when i sell?

4. should i buy a second hand car only when the coe drops?

5. are direct buyers on sgcarmart trustable? i read somewhere that they are actually dealers in disguise.

6. i also heard there is football money when i buy through dealers!? what the hack is that? one of them goes by 1% of the done price.

7. what happens when the car reaches 5th year. i understand that the parf or something will drop or so?

thanks. please help me understand this.

1. i want to buy a second hand 3yr old car that depreciates 40k a year. with road tax, servicing, insurance, petrol etc all in, about 50k per annum.

2. i decide to pay cash for the car and expect to take the 100k lost when i sell the car after 2years.

questions

2. do all of you car owners do this method of calculating ownership of cars in singapore?

3. does number of ownerships of a second hand car further depreciates when i sell?

5. are direct buyers on sgcarmart trustable? i read somewhere that they are actually dealers in disguise.

6. i also heard there is football money when i buy through dealers!? what the hack is that? one of them goes by 1% of the done price.

7. what happens when the car reaches 5th year. i understand that the parf or something will drop or so?

1. u have to assume u can take back parf nia... selling price might not be ur desired price.

2. nope.

3. generally yes...

4. then u wait and wait lor.. as if u are playing stocks... [laugh]

5. depends on your lucks.. better buy from friends or someone u know...if u scare..

6. admin fee - market rate shall be 500 bucks bah

7. yes.. check out LTA website...

questions

if you can afford a 40k/pa depreciation car... i think you can afford me $1k.. and i explain every single little detail to you....

if not, do a search.... i think i commented quite abit on all this before...

please pardon me, it is just a illustration. perhaps i will change the numbers to 4k instead of 40k if it sounds more sensible.

how do i search if you don't mind telling me. kinda new in here. :)

if you can afford a 40k/pa depreciation car... i think you can afford me $1k.. and i explain every single little detail to you....

if not, do a search.... i think i commented quite abit on all this before...

1. u have to assume u can take back parf nia... selling price might not be ur desired price.

thanks for your kind answers.

at 5th year of the ownership, is parf is not omv and how these 2 relate to each other?

please pardon me, it is just a illustration. perhaps i will change the numbers to 4k instead of 40k if it sounds more sensible.

40k depreciation PA means your car probably in the 4-500k range??

maybe you can quote the car or selling price etc so we can give you a illustration??

search is at the top.. the red bar..

search for keyword...

mr itsec. i found the parf vs omv @ http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=13

sorry for asking and thanks for the with a car noob.

the OMV is the price of the car when the agent declare when import into SG.

the PARF will change, its the paper value of your car. it will change as the car age. the formula can be found in onemotoring.com.sg, an estimate will be OMV x 0.6 < PARF < OMV x 0.81

[laugh] 40k PA... many of us dare not answer your questions.

1. Yes, you missed parking fee, unless you stay in landed or condo. If you pay cash for a car, your monthly expenses on average is about $600-700.

2. No, because I take loan.

3. Maybe yes.

4. When COE is cheap, it is better off to scrap the car with expensive COE. Who will buy a 2yo car for $40k when a brand new one is only $45k?

5 & 6. No comment.

7. If you use a 3yo car for 2 years, the paper value you loss is 2 year of COE. If the COE is $15k, your 2 years depreciation of paper value is only $3k. However, you might have paid (lets say) $20k for the body and at 5th year, a dealer might offer you $5k for the body. That sums your depreciation over 2 years to $18k.

thanks ben5266. i missed out the body and coe calculation. i will take note of it.

mr itsec. i found the parf vs omv @ http://www.sgcarmart.com/news/writeup.php?AID=13

sorry for asking and thanks for the with a car noob.

no prob... [;)]

As mentioned by many oldies.. all answers are there... as a guide only... more impt is the car itself... dep is fixed... what's more impt is the maintenance of the car...

i believe u look in cat A sedan range based on ur dep value... and the tricky part is whether u can buy a total accident free ride, a mild accident, major or those lemon ride...

not only that, u need to use the search bar, read all the treads concerning the model e u interested.. at least u know what are the potential prob u facing...

remember!!! all models have their pros and cons and dont ask for good FC, and powerful ride (cos this irk me... [laugh] )

I am a low baller.

Galantspeedz offer you $1K, I, offer you $100 for my full tank of gas to explain to you.

I am a Ex-Car Dealer and surely can assist you in your purchase.

thanks ben5266. i missed out the body and coe calculation. i will take note of it.

Car body is mostly rubbish as a FIT use to sell at $4K dropped to $1K or less after viewing the car.

Those bread & butter, maybe $1K.

I am a low baller.

Galantspeedz offer you $1K, I, offer you $100 for my full tank of gas to explain to you.

I am a Ex-Car Dealer and surely can assist you in your purchase.

wah lauz... really like car dealer lor.... later you add $1k admin fee... then you earn 1.1k leh...

there is a meetup on friday for PS3 kakis, you can join us if you want.... kallang mac 8pm...

i got give you my number hor

wah lauz... really like car dealer lor.... later you add $1k admin fee... then you earn 1.1k leh...

there is a meetup on friday for PS3 kakis, you can join us if you want.... kallang mac 8pm...

i got give you my number hor

I finally got your number last night.

Anyway, last night no one came.

Meet up??? Can you forward me the link??? And what is PS3???

By the way, if that I can collect $1K admin fee, I split 50% with u la.

It is your lobang and I secure the deal [:p]

Edited by Vhtfhwlego