Yellowrx8 Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 i'm travelling on lane 1 at the speed limit. some mf comes in behind and tail gates me. unfortunately, i can't filter into lane 2. would i be considered as hogging the road? Bro, ask urself. In the first place.... WHY R U TRAVELLING ON LANE 1 AT THE SPEED LIMIT? Lane 2 is not occupied by MRT or a train. Is how u GOING to filter in. They did teach u how to change lane in the driving school rite? YES u R HOGGING! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 Bro, ask urself. In the first place.... WHY R U TRAVELLING ON LANE 1 AT THE SPEED LIMIT? Lane 2 is not occupied by MRT or a train. Is how u GOING to filter in. They did teach u how to change lane in the driving school rite? YES u R HOGGING! weird that alot of people wont feel shy / paiseh to be travelling on lane 1 at the speed limit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 very clearly, i bliv you hv been always irritated by those u called hoggers on the road bro. so much that you merely jump at every chance to bash everyone who comes close to being a hogger. so much that you ain't listening to what i've said. i'm getting a bit sian of repeating also. this shall be the last time we are doing this i hope..haha i agree with you, that if everyone can be considerate, and give way whenever convenient, it will definitely help in the traffic condition. what i'm saying is, normal drivers will end up "hogging" the road unintentionally if, firstly the cars in front at lane 1 are all travelling at constant smooth speed, such that everyone is already lined up properly with no gap in front, and lane 2 is also packed with cars, but at slower speed. and such traffic scenario is usually the case at peak hours, which is just slightly better than a jammed up traffic. however, among this orderly flow, sometimes there will come along some inpatient drivers, who think that he can just tailgate and terrorise all the cars in front, closing in at high speed, to force them to give way to him. THIS, is my definition of tailgating. nothing to do with deliberate and indifferent road hoggers, who chose not to barge even when there are space in front and on the left. and this, is dangerous, outright arrogant and self-centered. This, to me, should be more of a concern, than stupid road hoggers. Road safety vs the convenience of the few faster drivers. Both undesirable to start with, but which one is worse? Your call. and if, let's say i do what you suggest, try to force my way to lane 2 to allow this tailgater to pass, this will firstly, cause traffic speed at lane 2 behind me to jam break too to allow me in, not to mention that before i manage to change lane, i will need to break hard to filter left too (assuming merging into a 80-90 lane with 100 speed) and this might again agitate the tailgater behind. and secondly, so what if the car behind gets to the front, he will still be stuck by the next car immediately. do you think this car can bulldoze in this manner all the way? how will this help in the traffic?? i don't know. and to be frank, a bit no use for us to rant about those true blue road hoggers here also la.. these are usually really bo chap drivers.. so do you think they will frequent this forum in e first place? Ya, maybe i really hate those hoggers to hell. haha... Esp when i manage to drive pass these idiots. Their look on their face is like living in their own world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 (edited) i'm travelling on lane 1 at the speed limit. some mf comes in behind and tail gates me. unfortunately, i can't filter into lane 2. would i be considered as hogging the road? Please put on your left signal and step on your gas and filter into the middle lane when there is an opportunity to do so safely. But if there are 20 cars in front on you doing the same speed, then go with the flow. The first car right in front of that chain is the road hogger, not you. But if you have an empty space of more than 2 car length in front of you, then you are holding others behind you. PLEASE KEEP LEFT WHEN NOT OVERTAKING OR IF INSISTING TO KEEP TO THE LEGAL SPEED. Let that MF overtake you and you can come back to lane 1 and tailgate him if you want to (but that would mean breaking the speed limit). So the best thing to do is stay in the middle lane unless overtaking. After overtake, go back to middle lane. Edited October 13, 2010 by Forexter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 You don't have to switch to lane 2 IMMEDIATELY if there are slower cars there you know. We're not idiots, we know how much space is available for a car to change lane safely. If, we can see there is a problem switching lanes to give way, sure, we give leeway. But on an empty expressway it just makes no sense to block off others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 haha.. erm.. ok, to answer to your qns, yes, it will be e front car fault if there's clearly space on lane 2 and he's not overtaking, and stay at lane 1. but come on la, how often will you get to see a "hogger" on lane 1 travellg at 90-100 alone with no other car on the other lane? (i hardly drive during off-peak times la, so cannot blame.. :P ) and if u really so suay kana such a chao kuan driver, i believe it will be a piece of cake to overtake him from the left also. :) what we are saying here, is those who love to tailgate normal drivers (not exceptionally slow ones) even when they are firstly travelling at the designated speed, and secondly there is clearly nowhere else to siam for the tailgater to pass. this, is bad habit, nothing to do with being considerate or not. i'm not even suggesting you are one of them bro, but trying to clear up the definition of tailgaters here. i dun like those indifferent and deliberate hoggers who think they own the roads by travellg below the designated speed with no cars in front too! (although i think 50 at lane 1 is a bit far fetched la..haha..at most only 10-20 below designated speed la.. :P) cheers! :) haha... i think we all have the same view of road hogger lah. just that we are all looking at different situation. anyway, i did meet one moving at 50 on lane 1. on AYE from CTE towards tuas. this bugger, keep at 50 while car in lane 2 moving at 80km/hr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 What do you want to break? sorry cher... i will improve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Forexter 2nd Gear October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 haha... i think we all have the same view of road hogger lah. just that we are all looking at different situation. anyway, i did meet one moving at 50 on lane 1. on AYE from CTE towards tuas. this bugger, keep at 50 while car in lane 2 moving at 80km/hr When I was younger I would overtake him on the left and cut back without signalling and slow down to 30 without stepping on my brakes. If he tries to overtake me from the left, I will match his speed nicely, machiam formation flying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yellowrx8 Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 When I was younger I would overtake him on the left and cut back without signalling and slow down to 30 without stepping on my brakes. If he tries to overtake me from the left, I will match his speed nicely, machiam formation flying. Haha... Machiam formation flying... Nice one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 (edited) Cos of u and tons of others thinking the same way. Wa la.... JAM JAM JAM... Everytime u see a jam. The lead car will always think like u. COS the middle lane is slow at 80, so i travel 100 means i fast. Meanwhile, have u ever think, if u r going at 100 and there is a faster car coming from behind. Wat can this car do? He can onli lan lan follow ur speed... then so on & on.... Thus building up the jam again. U think they dun wnt to fly above u meh. IF those who dun block the way, dun u think this lane will be very smooth? COS U and OTHERS road hogs have the same selfish thinking. And for me using an example of ambulance is because u give way to the ambulance as it is more emergency and if dun keep left, then si liao. At this point, whether lane 2 jam or not. DIE DIE MUST squeeze in. If not kenna summon liao. Dun tell me normal situation u can't squeeze in? Only when see emergency vehicle then can? Lane 1 is for "OVERTAKING" lane. NOT cruising lane. AND if u were to cruise at this lane, make sure u r fast enough. If not, u r consider another ROAD HOGGER. And if everyone educate to think in a more grateful way. Just follow lane 2 speed, then overtake using the lane 1. Then go back to lane 2. Then lane 1 will always be clear. But too bad Singapore have too much dreaming, kayu & selfish drivers with mentality of their own. so answer me then, after over-taking, do YOU filter back to lane 2 since lane 1 is for over-taking only? for tailgaters' reading phantom traffic jam explained.. traffic jam recreated.. for those sceptics, go read! Professor studies phantom traffic jam.. Edited October 13, 2010 by Darthrevan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 KEEP WITHIN THE SPEED LIMIT !!!! you just keep left when you are not over taking Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 IN SHORT, ROAD HOGGER GET OFF LANE 1 p.s. i am clocking post only hor!! this kind of topic best best for clocking post. no conclusion. there is always another road hogger or tailgater to start another thread. good for it! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swordwind Clutched October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 so answer me then, after over-taking, do YOU filter back to lane 2 since lane 1 is for over-taking only? haha..i wanted to point that out too. but i reckon, those who love to speed and tailgate will just find the next victim not too far ahead, whom they will execute the same move, and claim to be hogged, again.. so, really no need for them to travel on lane 2 one. hurhur.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberstamp Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 haha..i wanted to point that out too. but i reckon, those who love to speed and tailgate will just find the next victim not too far ahead, whom they will execute the same move, and claim to be hogged, again.. so, really no need for them to travel on lane 2 one. hurhur.. yea, i wanted to ask that too I am also, like you, abit sian of explaining the other side of the coin or the so called 2 different somewhat contradicting set of rules. One will say do not road hog. One will say keep left unless over taking. The other will say keep within the speed limit. (of course not way below the speed limit). However traffic police will also say keep within the speed limit. So my question to all - is me subscribing to the laws of government wrong? Will i be punished for doing so? If you can answer the questions, then you get the answer. So which is the lesser evil? No one is being a moral police here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 i'm travelling on lane 1 at the speed limit. some mf comes in behind and tail gates me. unfortunately, i can't filter into lane 2. would i be considered as hogging the road? any car in less than 2 car lane in font of you?? if not. yes. just speed up and try to find a chance to filter in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 Follow rules sensibly, without hinderance to others. Not die die must follow things by the letter of the book one. Be a bit more flexible with regards to others. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 yea, i wanted to ask that too I am also, like you, abit sian of explaining the other side of the coin or the so called 2 different somewhat contradicting set of rules. One will say do not road hog. One will say keep left unless over taking. The other will say keep within the speed limit. (of course not way below the speed limit). However traffic police will also say keep within the speed limit. So my question to all - is me subscribing to the laws of government wrong? Will i be punished for doing so? If you can answer the questions, then you get the answer. So which is the lesser evil? No one is being a moral police here. no true. they will sometime say keep within speed limit. not always. i travel faster than 90km/hr and over took Highway TP before. also did not catch me. so you cannot say always Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rubberstamp Neutral Newbie October 13, 2010 Share October 13, 2010 no true. they will sometime say keep within speed limit. not always. i travel faster than 90km/hr and over took Highway TP before. also did not catch me. so you cannot say always yes, i agree. they give an allowance to how much you can exceed the speed limit. 10 to 15% would be reasonable ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...