Ghostami 2nd Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Ha?? no lar, just that i take PIE everyday only. High 5, I agree on that, left lane is always fastest in a jam.. Another type of people I hate are those that no skill to filter wanna filter last min to exit, if you are not skillful enough to do last min stunt, pls don't do it... Start filtering 1 or 2 exit ahead, it doesn't kill you... If miss the exit the most exit the next, this is not Malaysia.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightmare77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Bro, ask urself. In the first place.... WHY R U TRAVELLING ON LANE 1 AT THE SPEED LIMIT? Lane 2 is not occupied by MRT or a train. Is how u GOING to filter in. They did teach u how to change lane in the driving school rite? YES u R HOGGING! i didnt' make myself clear. i can't safely move into the 2nd lane because of too much cars. and i don't leave more than 1 car length gap between me & the car in front. am i hogging? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightmare77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 But if there are 20 cars in front on you doing the same speed, then go with the flow. The first car right in front of that chain is the road hogger, not you. this is the situation that i was asking. so should i or should i not give way to the mf tail gater? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightmare77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 weird that alot of people wont feel shy / paiseh to be travelling on lane 1 at the speed limit would you give way to a tailgater or anyone if you're travelling on lane 1 on the speed limit with 1 car gap between you and the car in front? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 would you give way to a tailgater or anyone if you're travelling on lane 1 on the speed limit with 1 car gap between you and the car in front? actually, the consequence of you road hogging gave rise to the guy behind tailgating you. if you increase your speed to match up with the cars infront, he probably wouldn't tail gate because there's no point in that. if you don't road hog, he wldn't tailgate, and you wldnt be asking this stupid question here on a car forum which majority of us dislike roadhoggers. just give way.. whats so difficult? ego issues? you give way means you lose? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightmare77 Neutral Newbie October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 actually, the consequence of you road hogging gave rise to the guy behind tailgating you. if you increase your speed to match up with the cars infront, he probably wouldn't tail gate because there's no point in that. if you don't road hog, he wldn't tailgate, and you wldnt be asking this stupid question here on a car forum which majority of us dislike roadhoggers. just give way.. whats so difficult? ego issues? you give way means you lose? dont' worry, i also hate road hogging. i just wanted to point out that "road hogging" depends on circumstances. a lot of impatient and inconsiderate drivers are out there who think that since they pay road tax means they own the roads so they need to overtake everyone in sight. there are idiots who will still tailgate you even if there's less than 1 car length between you and the car in front. was on the tpe a while ago with around 5-6 cars on lane 2 all travelling at 100. lane 1 was empty. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coupecabriolet Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 dont' worry, i also hate road hogging. i just wanted to point out that "road hogging" depends on circumstances. a lot of impatient and inconsiderate drivers are out there who think that since they pay road tax means they own the roads so they need to overtake everyone in sight. there are idiots who will still tailgate you even if there's less than 1 car length between you and the car in front. was on the tpe a while ago with around 5-6 cars on lane 2 all travelling at 100. lane 1 was empty. agree with you on impatient / inconsiderate drivers who must overtake all the time, or tailgate even under heavy traffic in all lanes. can't do much to these people though actually, if im the 2nd car, and suddenly have a big gap infront of the 1st car (due to the original first car accelerated away), i will be patient and give some time for the new 1st car to speed up or filter left first. i don't expect F1 style of changing lanes. some people, after that short wait, will begin to tailgate.. some nicer ones will signal right, or flash light once or twice, or eventually horn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 (edited) would you give way to a tailgater or anyone if you're travelling on lane 1 on the speed limit with 1 car gap between you and the car in front? 1) i will. i will (safely) overtake the front bugger from left. 2) i will. i wont be just 1 car length between me and the bugger infront driving at speed limit in the first place. Edited October 14, 2010 by Lamzh87 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Well I don't see why its so hard to adapt to road conditions.. When lane 1 is clogged with hoggers, switch to lane 3 and 4 if possible and experience the open road magic. That happened to me a few nights along the PIE. its easy to adapt to road conditions..but the main reason why lane 1 is clogged is due to phantom jams caused by drivers who will try ways and means to cut in to "close gaps"..and when they go too close they have to brake..hence causing a chain reaction of "brakers"..for those non-believers u can observe closely this pattern on expressways..those lane 2/3/4 are sometimes quicker because those other vehicle drives constantly..its difficult for me to comprehend at 1st..but now i finally understand traffic patterns Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tonyng 4th Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 its easy to adapt to road conditions..but the main reason why lane 1 is clogged is due to phantom jams caused by drivers who will try ways and means to cut in to "close gaps"..and when they go too close they have to brake..hence causing a chain reaction of "brakers"..for those non-believers u can observe closely this pattern on expressways..those lane 2/3/4 are sometimes quicker because those other vehicle drives constantly..its difficult for me to comprehend at 1st..but now i finally understand traffic patterns I assume you read some stuff over the internet like shockwave jams, backward travelling jam etc The articles used "sudden braking" as only as an EXAMPLE! The real phenonema is when the front car slows the rest of the queue slows in a ripple effect!! Except for a few jokers, changing lanes by a car in front is usually smooth and braking on your part is minimal and recovery to original speed is fast. But if it is hogger in front of you, all these talk is irrelevant! Hoggers are main cause of traffic jams! Braking and slowing down even more is also classical of bloody kiasi hoggers because they want to keep a bloody long distance from the car in front! Please do read the news article more closely, and observe better. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Singhao 1st Gear October 14, 2010 Share October 14, 2010 Why don't you try something i do when i am trying to overtake on lane 1 at speed limit, don't wish to go above it (when i'm on the KPE), realise too late that a faster car coming up fast and i am travelling at roughly the same speed as lane 2 (cos car in lane 2 speed up as well as i try to overtake it). I will actually release the accelerator (i.e. slow down gradually, no braking), signal left and change to lane 2 so that the car behind me can overtake me and i don't break the law. Everybody happy this way right? Tailgating is wrong. So is going above speed limit. So is road hogging. All are wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 its easy to adapt to road conditions..but the main reason why lane 1 is clogged is due to phantom jams caused by drivers who will try ways and means to cut in to "close gaps"..and when they go too close they have to brake..hence causing a chain reaction of "brakers"..for those non-believers u can observe closely this pattern on expressways..those lane 2/3/4 are sometimes quicker because those other vehicle drives constantly..its difficult for me to comprehend at 1st..but now i finally understand traffic patterns actually its a myth that lane 2/3/4 are always faster in a jam on expressway. i make a observation. at certain point, yes, it seems that they are going faster. however, more often than not, the lane 1 and lane 2 will still be ahead later on of the path. unless you are going to exit very soon. its still faster (provide there is no accident) if you stay on lane 1. Unless of couse you are telling me you are the type who change in and out of lane in traffic jam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 the main reason i am always on the second lane is because less stressful. First, i seldom go above 90km/h. Second, i can keep at the speed limit and no body can put pressure on me to change lane or go faster. I just drive, relal and dig my nose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 the main reason i am always on the second lane is because less stressful. First, i seldom go above 90km/h. Second, i can keep at the speed limit and no body can put pressure on me to change lane or go faster. I just drive, relal and dig my nose not true that ppl will not pressure you. i ever experience once travelling 90km/hr on lane 2 with no car on lane 1. Dont know iszi because i driving a Lancer with spoiler (all stock) ppl want to jio me or what. got one bugger, come tailgate me with high beam. i flip my rear mirror to anti-glare and wait to see if he overtaking. wah.. that bugger, still tailgate after about 1Km or so. this is when i decided to slow down to gradualy to see how slow before he want to overtake. end up over take me at 50km/hr Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 (edited) not true that ppl will not pressure you. i ever experience once travelling 90km/hr on lane 2 with no car on lane 1. Dont know iszi because i driving a Lancer with spoiler (all stock) ppl want to jio me or what. got one bugger, come tailgate me with high beam. i flip my rear mirror to anti-glare and wait to see if he overtaking. wah.. that bugger, still tailgate after about 1Km or so. this is when i decided to slow down to gradualy to see how slow before he want to overtake. end up over take me at 50km/hr sorry let me rephrased. I don feel obliged to filter left/give way or go above the speed limit. Unlike at 1st lane, i always ask myself am i road hogging even at speed of 110km/h.... for yr kind of case, i don care.... he can tailgate me all he wans, he just need to pray that nothing happens that i need to jam my brakes, but i wont do it on purpose. Edited October 15, 2010 by Tom_kkh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 (edited) Unless of couse you are telling me you are the type who change in and out of lane in traffic jam. changing lane during rush hour traffic jam is a no-no for me, i'll just keep my course/lane and listen to the music relax..but i do notice many drivers will change lanes just to be 1 car faster..and they're not exiting..but merely changing for the sake of changing which does not help the situation Hoggers are main cause of traffic jams! Braking and slowing down even more is also classical of bloody kiasi hoggers because they want to keep a bloody long distance from the car in front! not just reading stuffs..but enough 1st-hand observation of multiple car pileups on the expressways at lane 1 during rush hour..and i was at lane 2 when it happened..i'd rather not be there and the collision could spill over to lane 2 Edited October 15, 2010 by Darthrevan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 sorry let me rephrased. I don feel obliged to filter left/give way or go above the speed limit. Unlike at 1st lane, i always ask myself am i road hogging even at speed of 110km/h.... okay. accepted... Anyway, i ever meet one Tail gater before. that time about 500mtr to speed Cam so i slow down to 90km/hr liao. this tailgater come up behind me. but hor after the speed camera I speed up. he follow me for a while but when i hit over 110k/hr he started to get further and further away from me liao. if not wanting to speed about 110km/hr, why tailgate me at speed camera for what?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear October 15, 2010 Share October 15, 2010 okay. accepted... Anyway, i ever meet one Tail gater before. that time about 500mtr to speed Cam so i slow down to 90km/hr liao. this tailgater come up behind me. but hor after the speed camera I speed up. he follow me for a while but when i hit over 110k/hr he started to get further and further away from me liao. if not wanting to speed about 110km/hr, why tailgate me at speed camera for what?? he wanted to pang sigh but too late, he s--t inside the car so no need to rush already.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...