Dunch tailgate me!

Mockngbrd

err i am the moral police and i take bribes.

it takes 2 to waltz. not that i know how to waltz. but u know what i mean.

many times am caught in a situation where either way i get punished. either by my boss or by my wife.

do not worry about being punished. we are adult and adult is supposed to make sensible decisions. we have our priorities , haven't we? :)

yea, i wanted to ask that too

I am also, like you, abit sian of explaining the other side of the coin or the so called 2 different somewhat contradicting set of rules.

One will say do not road hog.

One will say keep left unless over taking.

The other will say keep within the speed limit. (of course not way below the speed limit).

However traffic police will also say keep within the speed limit.

So my question to all - is me subscribing to the laws of government wrong? Will i be punished for doing so?

If you can answer the questions, then you get the answer.

So which is the lesser evil?

No one is being a moral police here.

Edited by Slayer

no true. they will sometime say keep within speed limit. not always.

i travel faster than 90km/hr and over took Highway TP before. also did not catch me. so you cannot say always

not all will catch. some of the TP may be in the stationary car making phone calls and what not. or the travelling TP car may have other assignments to go to.

But that is not the point. If i were to write an official email to the TP or write on the forum of the straits times asking the TP of their stand.

I am very sure the TP will state that all motorist should adhere to the speed limit.

Edited by Rubberstamp

I am also, like you, abit sian of explaining the other side of the coin or the so called 2 different somewhat contradicting set of rules.

The other will say keep within the speed limit. (of course not way below the speed limit).

So my question to all - is me subscribing to the laws of government wrong? Will i be punished for doing so?

Actually, you can keep all three laws. Don't be so pessimistic, simi lesser evil la.

Just keep to the middle lane, and you will observe that you are not road hogging, not speeding and keeping left when not overtaking.

My suggestion good? No?

yes, i agree. they give an allowance to how much you can exceed the speed limit. 10 to 15% would be reasonable

that is why cannot say always mah [laugh]

Actually, you can keep all three laws. Don't be so pessimistic, simi lesser evil la.

Just keep to the middle lane, and you will observe that you are not road hogging, not speeding and keeping left when not overtaking.

My suggestion good? No?

yea.

I personally do not road hog or tail gate.

I am just arguing from the other side of the coin as those who so blatantly insist that all should keep off lane 1 unless over taking or road hoggers should crash and burn are getting on my nerves. Dont understand why cant they see both sides.

yea.

I am just arguing from the other side of the coin as those who so blatantly insist that all should keep off lane 1 unless over taking or road hoggers should crash and burn are getting on my nerves. Dont understand why cant they see both sides.

same here..i am merely looking at both sides of the fence.

haha..i wanted to point that out too. but i reckon, those who love to speed and tailgate will just find the next victim not too far ahead, whom they will execute the same move, and claim to be hogged, again.. so, really no need for them to travel on lane 2 one. hurhur..

this is a topic which 80% of the pple cannot fathom and they are the impatient ones who will argue and twist words to their advantage..that is to ask "everybody" to get out of lane 1 so they can cruise all the way to their destination "hopefully".. [laugh]

fortunately the real world dun work that way..u can win on the internet using twisted logic like "if u scared breaking the law, u shld get out of lane 1" but u cannot defy the law of physics - there will always be another car in front of the tailgater..but in their minds they probably think of themselves only hence everyone else is just a hindrance or obstacle :D

yea.

That's why there is a need to be gracious to one another and follow the spirit of the law, not just follow law.

Even our TPs give grace. But some champions take law into their own hands by travelling on Lane 1 at 90km/h when the middle lane is empty, trying to be TP and slow every one down to legal speed.

Or some other champions who try to bulldoze through Lane 1 when they can overtake from the middle lane instead of tailgating. Insisting that blur sotongs learn to keep left.

No way we can understand everyone la. So just be more gracious and drive safely. If everyone insists on their rights, the road will be a battlefield.

Subscribing to law also mean no road hogging. Even when i travel @ 100km/h, i will give way to faster vehicle.

this one wont comprehen with them lah. if they subscript to law, they wont be travelling at lane 1 when lane 2 is empty liao.

Trying to explain the issue to roadhoggers in this forum is just like tailgating them on the road - leaves one frustrated and helpless. And most would not be reading us anyway..

Just "Jam the Hogger".. do it once, do it more, create a culture of deterrence..

Imagine you are good old Mr Soh from thread #1, cruising at 80-90km/h on lane 1, happy that the more tailgators behind you would be summoned by TP after your glorious letter to ST.. but wait! .. the white car behind you had cut in steathily in front of you and all of a sudden, the brake lights came on! and you had to brake too! but you know he did it on purpose... and a check with your other roadhogging friends, same experience!

Another ST letter perhaps.. But you know that wouldn't save you..

Would you not think twice when you are next on a good nice stretch of lane 1 ECP? Which of these cars in your rearview mirror you will wonder is CRAZY?

please don't cruise on lane one.... use only for overtaking. don't say you try to overtake from jurong to tampines.

I so many times already, travel 90 on lane two and some bugger behind me tailgate. and tailgate. and I increase to 95.... continue to tailgate. huh? act professional? why dont overtake me?

then also. sometime bo pian. in front got road hogger. but cannot change lane as right side got constant stream of cars. suddenly someone behind decides to tailgate me. high beam me. horn me somemore. hello? make sure it's the true hogger first! don't suka suka chut pattern. sometimes I just want to jam brake and give the bugger behind a good scare.

this one wont comprehen with them lah. if they subscript to law, they wont be travelling at lane 1 when lane 2 is empty liao.

The more they don't comprehend, the more post i could clock.

Ask Mr Soh drive at night better.

No cars, he can road hog all the lanes if he want. <_<

:angry: Its damm TL when u see lane one road hog by a tortoise driver and 500m in front is empty and u cant filter in to overtake him~~~

The more they don't comprehend, the more post i could clock.

Well I don't see why its so hard to adapt to road conditions..

When lane 1 is clogged with hoggers, switch to lane 3 and 4 if possible and experience the open road magic. That happened to me a few nights along the PIE. [laugh]

Well I don't see why its so hard to adapt to road conditions..

When lane 1 is clogged with hoggers, switch to lane 3 and 4 if possible and experience the open road magic. That happened to me a few nights along the PIE. [laugh]

ya... this is true.

in the evening, PIE must take left most lane.

definitely faster than Lane 1 and avoid accidents which always happens on Lane 1.

u must be an experienced driver who have thoroughly read road conditions in sg.

ya... this is true.

in the evening, PIE must take left most lane.

definitely faster than Lane 1 and avoid accidents which always happens on Lane 1.

u must be an experienced driver who have thoroughly read road conditions in sg.

Ha?? no lar, just that i take PIE everyday only. :wub:

please don't cruise on lane one.... use only for overtaking. don't say you try to overtake from jurong to tampines.

I so many times already, travel 90 on lane two and some bugger behind me tailgate. and tailgate. and I increase to 95.... continue to tailgate. huh? act professional? why dont overtake me?

then also. sometime bo pian. in front got road hogger. but cannot change lane as right side got constant stream of cars. suddenly someone behind decides to tailgate me. high beam me. horn me somemore. hello? make sure it's the true hogger first! don't suka suka chut pattern. sometimes I just want to jam brake and give the bugger behind a good scare.

haha, happened to me many times too. But the "good" thing is that if I happen to fall behind a car that is going very slowly, I will first see if that guy is also being blocked by another vehicle or just simply taking his/her own sweet time driving.

Don't anyhow highbeam/horn, tailgate.