Loud fan noise from engine compartment

Ishiwgao

how many fans does your radiator have? some have 2, a large and a smaller one. are both working? the larger one is noisier... so if the smaller one is not working, then the larger one works harder...

Ty chg u $800 fr ac cos u keep disturbing their ciffee breaks so ty trying to get rid of u. :D

It likely yr rad fan has 2 speeds. Usuallu e lower speed activate when temp slightly high n wil stop when coolant temp drops abit. This is not yr ac fan.

Maybe e thermostat that controlles e fan speed is faulty so instead of fan start on slow speed, it straight away come on to fast speed, which nrmally sud b when e coolant temp has reached a very high temp only.

Check if yr fan is 2 speed[most likely it is] n then ask them to check e thermostat switch that controlles e fan speed high or low.

Or yr fan bearings worn n need to replace fan. Or something is touching a spinning part which cause e sound.

If yr fan sound is very loud, much more than normal n those clowns still cannot solve e problm, take them to e gun club at bt timah n line them up n use them as live target practice.

Ty chg u $800 fr ac cos u keep disturbing their ciffee breaks so ty trying to get rid of u. :D

It likely yr rad fan has 2 speeds. Usuallu e lower speed activate when temp slightly high n wil stop when coolant temp drops abit. This is not yr ac fan.

Maybe e thermostat that controlles e fan speed is faulty so instead of fan start on slow speed, it straight away come on to fast speed, which nrmally sud b when e coolant temp has reached a very high temp only.

Check if yr fan is 2 speed[most likely it is] n then ask them to check e thermostat switch that controlles e fan speed high or low.

Or yr fan bearings worn n need to replace fan. Or something is touching a spinning part which cause e sound.

If yr fan sound is very loud, much more than normal n those clowns still cannot solve e problm, take them to e gun club at bt timah n line them up n use them as live target practice.

sweet. love the last line :D alright i'll ask them those qns tmr. see if they can answer. if not... then i think i really ask them come in the car for a ride to bukit timah liao... [laugh]

^^Well you can always try and determine which fan unit is the noisy one and change that one only. I don't understand the reason for changing the aircon compressor, radiator etc. which is not the cause of the sound. Sounds like carrot-head-chopping to me.

However, I think the problem will come back as most BMW and MB fans I have come across operate very noisily after a while. Could be due to our hot and humid climate. Another alternative is to install an aftermarket radiator fan from maybe a Jap/Korean ride which may be more suitable for our climate.

Another suggestion is to go down with a friend who knows about cars as a back-up/support to prevent the wool being pulled over your eyes.

Maybe those mechs still never came to e chapter on ''What to do if radiator fans very noisy'' during their training sessions.

Afterall ts keeps going down n disturbing them from their training n coffee break sessions. How ty going to get their 3rd class motor mechanic trainee cert. [rolleyes]

i dont think it's the air-con fan as i said i tried to off but no use. and YES i dont find a need for the air-con compressor. after thinking i really think kena [knife] =(

hmm.. so my best bet now would be to change the radiator fan to jap fan? i have no friends who know SO MUCH about cars that they can see if ppl there trying to [rifle] me.

I dont advise u to change e fan to something not suited to yr car.

U sud try to get e noisy fan prob settled. Wait e jap fan different power, yr car keep overheating then those mechs blame u say why u put jap fan in conti car.

Like that ty fix e prob n charge u $3k cos ty blame u fr e problem.

Maybe u sud consider getting a 2nd opinion fm another ws familiar wh bmw cars.

I dont advise u to change e fan to something not suited to yr car.

U sud try to get e noisy fan prob settled. Wait e jap fan different power, yr car keep overheating then those mechs blame u say why u put jap fan in conti car.

Like that ty fix e prob n charge u $3k cos ty blame u fr e problem.

Maybe u sud consider getting a 2nd opinion fm another ws familiar wh bmw cars.

hmm.. any to recommend? well it's too late to do it now since i'm going to head down tmr, but if come back still got prob i guess i'll have to get 3rd opinion already. i post this thread was to get 2nd opinion from u all liao, hahaha.

thanks to all bros who replied :)

Edited by Ishiwgao

i dunno how loud ur fan was; my fren's new vw polo fan oso very loud. goes smthg like dis - hwoooooooo... my jap car fan sounds much softer than his.. so my bet may b conti car fan louder???

hmm.. any to recommend? well it's too late to do it now since i'm going to head down tmr, but if come back still got prob i guess i'll have to get 3rd opinion already. i post this thread was to get 2nd opinion from u all liao, hahaha.

thanks to all bros who replied :)

Maybe u can try going to those local bmw forums n see if ty got some suggestions or another good ws to recommend.

I dont drive bmw so not much experience in them. U just need to find an experienced mech to solve yr problem.

Maybe u can try going to those local bmw forums n see if ty got some suggestions or another good ws to recommend.

I dont drive bmw so not much experience in them. U just need to find an experienced mech to solve yr problem.

well my friend's jap car when start up got the sound already. but that one is since coming out from AD till now got the fan noise. not as loud of course, but have. but for me at first is no sound at all, then now so loud. yeah some other bros said conti cars the fan may be louder. so in any case it may actually be nothing wrong? just gotta make sure they check everything liao, if all ok tmr then i'll just ignore the problem.

hmm.. i'll go find bmw forums and see what they have to say ba.

well my friend's jap car when start up got the sound already. but that one is since coming out from AD till now got the fan noise. not as loud of course, but have. but for me at first is no sound at all, then now so loud. yeah some other bros said conti cars the fan may be louder. so in any case it may actually be nothing wrong? just gotta make sure they check everything liao, if all ok tmr then i'll just ignore the problem.

hmm.. i'll go find bmw forums and see what they have to say ba.

Some of those half-baked trainee mechs do stupid things wh our cars.

I had 1 time change rad fan n i check e fan come on even when just start n engine cold.

This is wrong. E idiot mech re-wire e fan so car wont overheat.

This is totally e wrong thing to do. This prevents e engine from reaching its optimum temp quickly. I immediately inform e foreman n he fark e young boy dont try to b too smart.

If i dont know anything, i happily kenna con by this trainee mech n drive off with a car that takes very long to warm up n e fan wil not last long as its running all e time.

This is an indication of e quality of mechs that r working on our expensive cars.

Some of those half-baked trainee mechs do stupid things wh our cars.

I had 1 time change rad fan n i check e fan come on even when just start n engine cold.

This is wrong. E idiot mech re-wire e fan so car wont overheat.

This is totally e wrong thing to do. This prevents e engine from reaching its optimum temp quickly. I immediately inform e foreman n he fark e young boy dont try to b too smart.

If i dont know anything, i happily kenna con by this trainee mech n drive off with a car that takes very long to warm up n e fan wil not last long as its running all e time.

This is an indication of e quality of mechs that r working on our expensive cars.

Many years back, when a company driver reported to me the company lorry lacks power, I found the air filter choked up. I instructed the driver to sent the lorry to the workshop with a note "air filter choked". The lorry was back soon and more powerful: the workshop people simply made two dollar-coin sized punctures through the choked air filter, instead of charging us for replacement air filter element and labour (creative solution but destructive result to engine soon)

hello all, really need all bro's help with this. i'm really quite fed up with PML, not that i dont like their service, but i know the car and i know something is wrong but they keep saying

"nothing is wrong" or "computer diagnostic is ok". zzz.

here's the problem:

i have a 3 yr old 320i, and when i start the car up and drive around, everything's ok. after a while, the fan or something giving a fan noise starts coming up from my engine compartment, so loud until i sit inside my car with windows close can also hear the "vheeeeeeng" sound from the fan. when u hear from outside its like an aeroplane engine noise -.- ok la not so loud, but u get the idea. it's too loud for a normal car.

so here's what's next. I bring to PML for at least 5++ times liao. from before warranty over until now past a few months after warranty still havent solve the problem. first time they say radiator got fault, which makes sense since maybe engine too hot then fan need to blow faster (is it?). ok fine that was before warranty over, FOC change of whole radiator. but then when i drove back, the next day problem still there. so send back, they said dunno what's the problem. after that few days i was too busy, so had to use the car. i send again after maybe 1 month? they say computer say no problem. so i figured, they may not see the problem since the car doesnt have the problem until after a while of driving then the noise will come up, so i sent again and told them. then after a week of sitting in their workshop, they said got some problem with air-con pump and dunno what, charge me $800 cos no warranty liao. ok lor, LLST just pay cos also my fault i nvr tell them it's after a while.

lagi best, the next day still got the loud fan noise -.-. i told them once the noise come up, i'll bring in and show them. they said ok, so i brought it in and they had their mechanics ready. i left the car there for 1 day, and they replied saying nothing wrong, just the fan sensor a bit off and think the car overheating so make the fan blow faster. !!!! then last time i change the aircon thing $800 for what? till today i still havent wrote in, planning to do so soon and get my money back.

but GUESS WHAT?!?!? (no points for right answer though haha :D ) the stupid fan noise is STILL THERE after about 30 mins of driving, and it ROARS like an aeroplane (not exhaust noise hor haha). seriously, any of you out there ever faced this stupid problem before? I really wanna go [knife] PML and fix my car problem. If not everyday i drive around i also scared the car suddenly catch fire -.-

Please help! thanks.

could it be from AC compressor, instead of fan? did they check that, too?

For european cars, most of them have rather big size cooling fans with cowling- that may have cause air flow turbulent resulting in higher level of noise.

Most of such cars have aerodynamic font design and therefore the engines are mounted slightly tilted in such a way that one ise of the transverse engine is higher than the front. This is one of the possible cause of air bubbles trapped in the highest position. Unless the air bubbles or air lock is removed the cooling system will boil much faster.

PS Photo 1 a vacuum operated air bubbles eliminator

Photo 2 a cheaper way to solve the problem - filling by gravity

post-272-1287359678_thumb.jpg

post-272-1287359888_thumb.jpg

omg! now i super dulan. went down there and the guy was on leave! nvr even call to say dont go. waste my time -.- hmm.. i guess this means i have more time to get 2nd opinion till he comes back