Engine Pinging

Legan

For me driving all the while with Caltex (98 RON), then engine started pinging after 2 years, even after spark plug change. Switched to Shell, still pinged with both 98 and VPower. Then tried Esso. Pinging did lessen but did not go away. Replaced fuel filter, ping disappeared.

What I did was to put on sport mode and whack.... about 5 mins.

time for a trip to KL in the dead of the night. fill up with Vpower or caltex platinum and floor it all the way [sly]. 5 mins confirm not enough la. you should be maintaining close to redline for at least 15 min. but if u heading up north that shouldn't be a problem.

of course, at your own risk :ph34r:

Hi everyone,

I'm driving a Latio (CVT). For the past few months, I experience pinging when going up slope and also at low rpm.

Last week I changed to RON98 and the pinging is gone. But I would like to go back to RON95 or even RON92.

Anyone can advise what to do? I read that need to adjust ignition timing?

Thanks

Clear your carbon deposits the good old way by revving the engine block mate.

TCM engine flush is quite ex I think. Cos my servicing is done by them due to package. Bo bian maybe have to ask them do it.

I do rev it to near redline sometimes.... Didn't seem to help

Wanted to change plugs but apparently Latio's design is such that to access the plugs, have to do a lot of work.

Why u need an engine flush? Yr car still very new. I doubt it wil make any difference.

Just try a higher ron n if it works, no need to do all those funny stuff. Might end up more problems.

Pinging on yr new car is unusual. Hv u done any mods? It just might b e cause of e pinging.

Hi Legan, Im driving lancer cs3 - used to have the pinging problem, due to faulty after market spark plugs. So changed to normal coppoer plugs and confirm no more pinging. At least this is for my case.

I think you try change yr plugs to copper plugs, cheap and good - can last 20K. Most WS can do for u one. How diff is it for WS to change plugs for Latio haha... chic feet to them i guess...

Good luck

Hmm... 2 questions I have after reading the responses here.

1. Why would RON98 solve the pinging problem if the carbon in the engine are being ignited prematurely? Why would RON95 or RON92 let the carbon ignite?

2. Only the top grade of caltex petrol would clean the engine? What about their RON95?

Pinging [pre-ignition] is caused by e fuel in e cylinder igniting b4 e spark plug fires.

It can happen when u got alot of carbon which glows red hot or a metal part like plug electrode. Or u hv a very high compression engine like turbo/sports cars.

Lower ron ignites more easily so using a higher ron might prevent it. U can try. It just might work.

If u hv too much carbon u sud find e reason. Bad air/fuel mix or poor spark might b e cause.

If u use e correct ron fuel n plugs, normal driving sud not hv too much carbon. I can use 95 in my car n its ok but i usually pump 97 cos i feel engine smoother n more power too.

Maybe yr latio needs 98 to run smooth as mentioned by another bro here driving latio.

If thats normal fr latio, then u got no choice but to pump 98.

I dont believe in pumping expensive fuels like v-power or caltex platinum all e time as its a waste of $.

Maybe u can just try 1 full tank 1st n see if it ceans up yr engine then just go back to normal 98 petrol.

You just need to go to the right source. I think Autobac Ubi has started carrying Redline product..

Redline is sold by kaiguan, one of mcf sponsors, mx and lubeszone (west)

Did a quick google on lubeszone and found that it was located at a workshop in Pioneer Road North.

Made a trip there, but unfortunately they don't seem to carry the Redline Fuel System cleaner (but they do have the Redline engine oil).

BTW, it was my first trip to the workshops at Pioneer Road North. Does anyone have a good and trustworthy mechanic to recommend at that area?

Edited by Albeniz

does it hurts to rev to red line? some more 15mins...

driving at 160km/h is about 4200rpm for me... that's good enough since i might hold it for like 30mins..

BTW, any bros here try the OWS 3-in-1 before? consists of engine flush, protector, and fuel cleaner..

does it hurts to rev to red line? some more 15mins...

driving at 160km/h is about 4200rpm for me... that's good enough since i might hold it for like 30mins..

BTW, any bros here try the OWS 3-in-1 before? consists of engine flush, protector, and fuel cleaner..

If my engine is nice n hot, i just pull to redline fr abt 10 secs only then release. Then after awhile i pull again. I can do it a few times to make sure all carbon has been blown out.

I never hold at redline too long unless if doing >160kmh on NSH. Then also not more than 20-30 mins. I heart pain to torture my engine like that.

I might cruze at abt 4.5k to 5k rpm fr longer periods but at redline fr too long puts alot of stress on e engine.

Did a quick google on lubeszone and found that it was located at a workshop in Pioneer Road North.

Made a trip there, but unfortunately they don't seem to carry the Redline Fuel System cleaner (but they do have the Redline engine oil).

BTW, it was my first trip to the workshops at Pioneer Road North. Does anyone have a good and trustworthy mechanic to recommend at that area?

Oh bummer...wasted a trip.

I always buy from Kaiguan at Joo Seng warehouse or mx.

ya bro...

usually I try not to rev too hard when at lower gears.. once it's at my 4th gear.. then my speed slowly go up..

I suppose even though it's not at red line.. at speeds of >160km/h.. it's good enough to clear carbon..

Hi Bro,

Tried up the speed higher, dun like to get caught for speeding in Singapore ($$$).

Think need to do it in Malaysia..a long journey to KL ..maybe is better.

Think in Singapore cannot clear that much carbon..hahahaha

Well for the time being, Caltex works for me so far, but a bit more $$

Yes guess Caltex really got the small little people working in the piston....hhehehe

Cheers [laugh]

Juz curious, instead of driving at high speed, does putting in "Neutral" and revving slightly the same ?

since both will achieve a high rpm.

Juz curious, instead of driving at high speed, does putting in "Neutral" and revving slightly the same ?

since both will achieve a high rpm.

neutral no load

Hi. Just an update.

I switched to Caltex 95 the last time I topped up my petrol. Seems like the sound have not come back, yet. Cos there is still leftover RON98 petrol being mixed with the RON95.

Plus Monday I will go Tan Chong and ask them to do a "Engine Refresh" during my servicing.

Will update after a few more rounds of Caltex petrol top ups.

Update

After changing engine oil and doing an engine flush at Tan Chong Motors yesterday, I went to top up Caltex Ron95 again.

End up the knocking sound is even louder.

Sian. Don't know what to do next

Hi. Just an update.

I switched to Caltex 95 the last time I topped up my petrol. Seems like the sound have not come back, yet. Cos there is still leftover RON98 petrol being mixed with the RON95.

Plus Monday I will go Tan Chong and ask them to do a "Engine Refresh" during my servicing.

Will update after a few more rounds of Caltex petrol top ups.

Bro,

your engine refresh means engine flushing???

maybe you need the fuel cleaner or something.. if not maybe the plugs liao... check ECU lor.. since you're at tan chong.. they can plug into obd and see any faults... ?

Hi bro,

Try 98 caltex,

i tried for abt 2 fulll tanks before the

ping sound goes away.

I tried after Caltex 98, i switch to

caltex 95.

After a while the ping came back

n i switch back to caltex 98, sound gone.

Good luck