Engine Pinging

Legan

Hi GemLeo,

Yup, engine refresh is engine flushing. Tan Chong always give ECU readout when servicing. Everything is "OK". But of course... everything to AD is ok one. [laugh]

Dtitan,

Last tank I used Caltex 98. No sound also. But sian, cos Latio supposed to be able to use RON92. Don't know why like that.

Hi Legan,

Yea I understand,

anyway price between 95 & 98 is bit more.

Take it as extra cleaner everytime u pump petrol lor..

Take it easy.

Maybe u can consider going to Malaysia short trip,

1 day to KL, shop shop, then back to Sin.

Think it will help alot..

Cheers [:)]

Update

After changing engine oil and doing an engine flush at Tan Chong Motors yesterday, I went to top up Caltex Ron95 again.

End up the knocking sound is even louder.

Sian. Don't know what to do next

have you tried clear carbon as many suggested? [cool]

Update

After changing engine oil and doing an engine flush at Tan Chong Motors yesterday, I went to top up Caltex Ron95 again.

End up the knocking sound is even louder.

Sian. Don't know what to do next

just change the damned spark plugs can or not? It's obvious that they need to be changed even if there's no pinging but what I see is that you're just lazy to get it done.

Bro, not lazy to change. is there is a lot of things to remove in order to access the plugs for Latio. Plus plugs for Latio is expensive. And labour is expensive too.

Just want to try other options first.

Tried clear carbon at high rev for 10mins only. no use also, maybe need to go north....

have tried STP. Maybe will try Redline.

Dun think the ping got anything with

the plugs.

Latio plugs can last 100k km as stated in manual.

i jus changed mine at 95k,

it started to ping at 110k km.

So dun think its the plug.

cheers

Isn't changing plugs cheaper than flushing engine?

Bro, is Tan Chong using the original Denso spark plugs?

Went over to Ubi branch last week and they used NGK ones instead.

Hi bro,

Try 98 caltex,

i tried for abt 2 fulll tanks before the

ping sound goes away.

I tried after Caltex 98, i switch to

caltex 95.

After a while the ping came back

n i switch back to caltex 98, sound gone.

Good luck

im mostly on caltex 95.. still not sure what pinging sounds like..

am used to the noise... from engine and tyres..

but the noise doesnt sound irregular to me... [blush]

Bro, not lazy to change. is there is a lot of things to remove in order to access the plugs for Latio. Plus plugs for Latio is expensive. And labour is expensive too.

Just want to try other options first.

So many people have pointed fingers at the spark plugs and you still refuse to change. Oh well [rolleyes]

Latio plugs alone is $120 or more. Havent include labour to remove remove intake manifold etc.

it's that troublesome

Just buy normal spark plugs from stockist lah. There's Fong Tat and Teck Guan for you too choose from.