Maroon5 5th Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Great! Thanks for ur advices bro... i wan to scare u further...constantly causing the fuel light to come on and driving on low fuel wil cause premature damage of the fuel pump and that will cost $$$ ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Alright guys, Got my Latio FINALLY.. Some questions again, hope fellow forumer can answer. Normally how much litres of pertrol is left when petrol light lights up? Is there reserve tank? When the light lights up, i went to pump and it clock full tank at 38l. So am i right to say my car still have another 7l of petrol? 12l per km consider average FC for a latio sports? Thanks hmm Latio is known for its great FC..so 12 liter/km seems bad imho when talking about Latio. Am getting 12 to 13 km for my Swift Sport.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Sometime I wonder how you guys get such a good fuel economy. My Honda Jazz can only manage best 10.4km/l from the onboard computer (After travelling on smooth traffic PIE/ECP)! Usually it will be 9.8km/l from the onboard computer(daily jam packed PIE/ECP to work during peak timing). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Friendstar Supercharged December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Housing is quite out of the question for me of course.... But I paid for my car in full.... To me, its a good way to cultivate self discipline... I remembered when I was driving a bread and butter back then, I had friends earning much lesser driving Rexs and Evos.. Was so tempted to throw in the towel and take up loans.... But I'm glad i persevered cuz with monthly savings, I managed to set aside funds for investments and house downpayments while paying for my car in full.... Actually to be honest... you see many yaya car drivers around because they have the impression that "my car is pricier than yours...so i'm superior.." If only there were compulsory coloured decals on each car seperating the >50% loans kind vs the fully paid cars... let's see how the faces of these self deluded superior drivers will change.... I'm just curious. ur nick connotes that u'r 31 this year. if u'r a singaporean who serve NS 2.5years, and u chose a lucrative career like medicine, law, accountancy etc, u'll most likely graduate at 25-26yo. now u'r 31, so u've been in the workforce for 5-6 years and have amassed sufficient liquid cash to pay in full for a 2nd hand UK type-R, say 80+k. in addition, u owned a B&B car before this type-R, which based on ur principle, should be fully paid also, say 60-70k? after working for say, just 3 years (i supposed at 28). and u mentioned that one shouldn't deplete his cash reserves to pay in full for a car cos u'll never know there might be golden investment opportunities coming. From this, I suppose u used approximately <50% of ur cash reserves to pay in full for your car. lastly, at this young age 31, there are so many big ticket items that u've to juggle with, new house? wedding packages? life insurance? its really impressive what you've achieved. (i'm sincere and not sarcastic) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Helpmeplz Neutral Newbie December 4, 2010 Author Share December 4, 2010 hmm Latio is known for its great FC..so 12 liter/km seems bad imho when talking about Latio. Am getting 12 to 13 km for my Swift Sport.. Any servicing that need to be done to slightly increase FC? anyone can share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Sometime I wonder how you guys get such a good fuel economy. My Honda Jazz can only manage best 10.4km/l from the onboard computer (After travelling on smooth traffic PIE/ECP)! Usually it will be 9.8km/l from the onboard computer(daily jam packed PIE/ECP to work during peak timing). auto sibo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 (edited) Sometime I wonder how you guys get such a good fuel economy. My Honda Jazz can only manage best 10.4km/l from the onboard computer (After travelling on smooth traffic PIE/ECP)! Usually it will be 9.8km/l from the onboard computer(daily jam packed PIE/ECP to work during peak timing). sorry to say but it may be a problem with your leg. can claim never step brake hard etc but u really need someone with good driving habits (and prob good FC) as a passenger to verify yr driving habits. Edited December 4, 2010 by Karebu Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 Housing is quite out of the question for me of course.... But I paid for my car in full.... To me, its a good way to cultivate self discipline... I remembered when I was driving a bread and butter back then, I had friends earning much lesser driving Rexs and Evos.. Was so tempted to throw in the towel and take up loans.... But I'm glad i persevered cuz with monthly savings, I managed to set aside funds for investments and house downpayments while paying for my car in full.... Actually to be honest... you see many yaya car drivers around because they have the impression that "my car is pricier than yours...so i'm superior.." If only there were compulsory coloured decals on each car seperating the >50% loans kind vs the fully paid cars... let's see how the faces of these self deluded superior drivers will change.... i concur. i propose a special color for cars paid in full. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karebu 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 I'm just curious. ur nick connotes that u'r 31 this year. if u'r a singaporean who serve NS 2.5years, and u chose a lucrative career like medicine, law, accountancy etc, u'll most likely graduate at 25-26yo. now u'r 31, so u've been in the workforce for 5-6 years and have amassed sufficient liquid cash to pay in full for a 2nd hand UK type-R, say 80+k. in addition, u owned a B&B car before this type-R, which based on ur principle, should be fully paid also, say 60-70k? after working for say, just 3 years (i supposed at 28). and u mentioned that one shouldn't deplete his cash reserves to pay in full for a car cos u'll never know there might be golden investment opportunities coming. From this, I suppose u used approximately <50% of ur cash reserves to pay in full for your car. lastly, at this young age 31, there are so many big ticket items that u've to juggle with, new house? wedding packages? life insurance? its really impressive what you've achieved. (i'm sincere and not sarcastic) accountancy is fast track. u will be out by 23-24. and besides. those are not all the lucrative jobs in the world. if he's not on the typical singaporean 'fast track' (jc->uni->work) he may have been out working when he was 21 years old. the previous car i would think might be a gift from parents. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lucaswh 1st Gear December 4, 2010 Share December 4, 2010 accountancy is fast track. u will be out by 23-24. and besides. those are not all the lucrative jobs in the world. if he's not on the typical singaporean 'fast track' (jc->uni->work) he may have been out working when he was 21 years old. the previous car i would think might be a gift from parents. he mention b4 last time his dad buy for him, but apparently he paid it back. not sure la, might want to check again. still curious to see pics of his modded altis lei. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 i concur. i propose a special color for cars paid in full. When that day comes, you will see less of this bigger car = superiority complex trend.... Eg, a fully paid Sunny is still pricier than a Rex with donkey years of loan left..... Only cars with this fully paid colour decal is well..... owned by the driver, not banks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 I'm just curious. ur nick connotes that u'r 31 this year. if u'r a singaporean who serve NS 2.5years, and u chose a lucrative career like medicine, law, accountancy etc, u'll most likely graduate at 25-26yo. now u'r 31, so u've been in the workforce for 5-6 years and have amassed sufficient liquid cash to pay in full for a 2nd hand UK type-R, say 80+k. in addition, u owned a B&B car before this type-R, which based on ur principle, should be fully paid also, say 60-70k? after working for say, just 3 years (i supposed at 28). and u mentioned that one shouldn't deplete his cash reserves to pay in full for a car cos u'll never know there might be golden investment opportunities coming. From this, I suppose u used approximately <50% of ur cash reserves to pay in full for your car. lastly, at this young age 31, there are so many big ticket items that u've to juggle with, new house? wedding packages? life insurance? its really impressive what you've achieved. (i'm sincere and not sarcastic) Well... my previous B&B wasn't fully paid... at that time, I didn't have the means to follow my principles so I had to take a loan... thankfully after a few years of working and some profits from investments, my cash liquidity is much better than before. Also, my car is my only big ticket item... I don't have to worry about housing cuz i'm still unmarried... The only immediate cash investment for houses is probably the down payment and stamp duties which I have already set aside (rest can be taken care by CPF and of course housing loans - which doesn't work out to be a bomb... afterall a house is not a depreciating asset like a car)... Other big ticket items like life insurance (had been settled since I was young - I was lucky), wedding (already set aside... plus, you could recover some from ang pows - hopefully) I don't have to support my parents cuz they are way self sufficient.... So yeah, its not a fair comparison against other folks who have heavy commitments.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 accountancy is fast track. u will be out by 23-24. and besides. those are not all the lucrative jobs in the world. if he's not on the typical singaporean 'fast track' (jc->uni->work) he may have been out working when he was 21 years old. the previous car i would think might be a gift from parents. Yup it was a gift from my parents (which was painful cuz I wasn't given a choice - hence the Altis - It was like welcome back to Singapore Son.. here's your car... its an Altis - well how "cool" ya!!) I eventually paid them back though they insisted not to accept it - the money is still sitting somewhere and I have a strong inclination that it will come back to me eventually afterall. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 Well... my previous B&B wasn't fully paid... at that time, I didn't have the means to follow my principles so I had to take a loan... thankfully after a few years of working and some profits from investments, my cash liquidity is much better than before. Also, my car is my only big ticket item... I don't have to worry about housing cuz i'm still unmarried... The only immediate cash investment for houses is probably the down payment and stamp duties which I have already set aside (rest can be taken care by CPF and of course housing loans - which doesn't work out to be a bomb... afterall a house is not a depreciating asset like a car)... Other big ticket items like life insurance (had been settled since I was young - I was lucky), wedding (already set aside... plus, you could recover some from ang pows - hopefully) I don't have to support my parents cuz they are way self sufficient.... So yeah, its not a fair comparison against other folks who have heavy commitments.... wow... you're lucky.. but i agree with your principles... i bought a 2nd hand sunny cuz it's the only car i could pay in full... need to learn to invest bettr and make my money work harder Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 Yup it was a gift from my parents (which was painful cuz I wasn't given a choice - hence the Altis - It was like welcome back to Singapore Son.. here's your car... its an Altis - well how "cool" ya!!) I eventually paid them back though they insisted not to accept it - the money is still sitting somewhere and I have a strong inclination that it will come back to me eventually afterall. Haaa, u seem like dun really like Altis eh?! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 (edited) he mention b4 last time his dad buy for him, but apparently he paid it back. not sure la, might want to check again. still curious to see pics of his modded altis lei. I'll try to find it and post it.... basically wasn't very proud of it so I didn't keep the pictures PS: DJ spike will know... it has the largest GT wing with the widest bodykit and loudest exhaust - basically chingay at its best... ha! I've seen it at KJE some time ago... the dealer took off the wing and body kits... was driven by a new owner now.... somehow seeing it brings back some memories.... One hilarious moment with that car I will never forget -> was at bugis coming out of the carpark with my (then) gf... the bumper kissed the ground and snapped off... I had to park by the roadside, get some cable tie from 7/11 and tie the bumper back... of course the ex-gf was complaining and making a huge din!! (she drives a Tuscani back then... always said mine was a bone shaker car...) that was 2006... I think DJ spike will know who she is too.... Anyways, I always wanted to ask... why did you change from your Koup to SSS?? Edited December 7, 2010 by Icebrush79 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icebrush79 4th Gear December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 Haaa, u seem like dun really like Altis eh?! Not that I hated Altis... but I wanted a DC5 back then... if I had a choice.... ahh well..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear December 7, 2010 Share December 7, 2010 no need to support parents win half the battle liao... the money saved can be used to finance a regular sedan u must thank your parents and pay it forward to your kids.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...