Yeshe Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Depend on fly to where.. if asia nothing to be proud off.. i prefer flying to asia region than europe or US. 1st thing is the travel time, anything >8hrs flight is a torture. 2nd thing is the expenses, in asia region, u get more fun per buck spent , in western countries, cant afford ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dpsk Neutral Newbie November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 when you do it too often liao. it wont be glamor or fun. now i settle down for 5yrs liao no more flying for me. getting old. rather sit around shake leg take pay then fly in and out to make you age faster. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 true.. nothing glamorous flying to a meeting. i'd wish the meetings were here in sg instead. after a certain point i feel its like taking a freaking day/night long bus ride just to get to a meeting and back. Focus on the meeting, rather than the transportation to get there. and when you get back still have the same things to follow up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zanter 3rd Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Used to fly a lot in last job but now maybe once a year. I guess initially its a novelty but wears out fast. When you are goin there for work, its like no time for much leisure except for the odd dinner. Then after work go hotel watch tv and think about what to eat. Maybe the 1st time you visit a country its an eye opener, the next time its just routine. I think I dont like the hassle but if work for MNC I think its expected and normal. Some people enjoy travelling cos can get away from gf/wife..nobody to hawk and can go KTV, Massage etc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kxbc Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 (edited) Agree with TS. I hate flying for work. Somemore I keep going back to the same country. For the last 5 years. Every month 1 week. And the country is 3rd rate. It's like Singapore in the 60s, maybe worse. Dirty, noisy, dusty. Totally barren of any entertainment. Not that I have much time since the traffic is so bad it takes more than an hour to travel approx 5km. Edited November 9, 2010 by Kxbc Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hasegawa Neutral Newbie November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 I'm curious as to how much do you guys get paid for allowance for such trips, care to share? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Depend on fly to where.. if asia nothing to be proud off.. pinkerton syndrome? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Karoon Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 I'm curious as to how much do you guys get paid for allowance for such trips, care to share? my allowance? haha.. with my company its pay first claim later. meaning i get $0.00 additional income for my troubles. and claim also not easy... HR will ask all kinds of questions eg you buy this overseas sim card how much you use for personal call how much for work? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 pinkerton syndrome? haha..spot on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben1977 Neutral Newbie November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 flying for work is so tiring. need to entertain people, away from family, so many things to pack, come back need to update superiors, and also need to buy things for others/ requested by others... i prefer leisure holiday anytime... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaron_soh80 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 pinkerton syndrome? Chow ang mo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Opinion very much depends on the schedule for the overseas trip and what you have waiting for you back home. I know of people who fly for the sake of flying, because they don't have much to do anyway and just fly so as to 'escape' to a foreign office on company's account. I think at the end of the day, no fixed answer and depends on personal situation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thargor 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 I been doing regional work for most of my career so far and had to travel alot in the past. Can fly up to 7 different countries in 3 weeks. Frankly speaking after the initial thrill of flying around, you hate it after awhile. You stopped going shopping and sightseeing but rather go straight to hotel after meeting to catch up on sleep. Especially now I have a beautiful baby princess, I try to do everything via conference call. So far been quite successful in turning down Taiwan and Australia trip :p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Author Share November 9, 2010 i think there are two kind of people that will make such conclusion....either very hao lian or truely think so....for me...i always go back to the same few places....so it is kind of bored....benefit is everything will be on company once I am out of SG...so if one week out....the whole week expense will be on company...in SG...I still need to pay for my own lunch and dinner and beer....then also I can clock some miles as well...so overall it is still not bad...but home is still best... Ah, the jet lag as well, terrible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Benarsenal Turbocharged November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Flying Good: Can see the world, sometimes free stuff Bad: Long hours, tiring, sometimes very sian Plus and minus lor. Everything also got good and bad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 flying for work frequently will become tiresome, tedious, boring and etc after a while...I have been doing that for 6-7 yrs until recently when I changed to a more local role with occasional travelling of abt once every 6-8 weeks..it certainly felt much better... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Flying Good: Can see the world, sometimes free stuff Bad: Long hours, tiring, sometimes very sian Plus and minus lor. Everything also got good and bad. this is good unless if there is some kind of rotation in market responsibilities...if there is no rotation and handle the same accounts every yr, it means flying to the same city numerous times...after sometime will get absolutely boring when you keep seeing the same thing.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear November 9, 2010 Share November 9, 2010 Got fly or no fly for work is not important, most important thing is the money good to earn or not, aka qian hao bu hao zuan. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...