Advice needed on accident...

E_b_l_s

Dear members,

I am writing on behalf of a friend who had met with an accident late last year. I would like

to gather any information/advice/help possible as this accident case seems quite tricky and

neither my friend nor anyone he know are drivers experienced enough to know the possible outcome.

12/30/2010 - My friend was doing a delivery and had parked at a multi storey carpark to run

some errands. When he returned, he opened his door and intended to start the engine. However,

the van was still in 'reverse gear' and had cause the van to jerk backwards when he fired her up.

Since the door was still opened, it scraped the car on the right and the impact somehow was big

enough to cause the handle of the car to be dislodged from the door.

Both vehicles were parked "butt-in".

My friend did not feign ignorance and left a note on the car's windscreen, admitting to his mistake

and offered to pay for the repair charges. He left soon after thinking that it could be privately settled.

--------

1/3/2011 - There still wasn't a call from the owner of the car and my friend found something amiss.

He called up his insurance to report the matter to them (to cover his own a**) and conveyed exactly

what happened to them. They had instructed the van to be sent to IDAC for some photo taking.

However, in the afternoon, he received a letter from the police, stating that the van was involved in a

hit and run accident and summoned him to make a report with the police within 7 days. It was also

stated that someone had 'witnessed' the accident.

--------

My friend is still on P-plate. No photo evidence taken at the scene of the accident. All that was given was

a note on the car's windscreen.

Here's some questions which I hope to find answers to:

1. How long does the van need to be at IDAC for?

2. How is it possible that it is a hit and run accident when my friend did left a note? (could the witness removed it?)

3. Is it possible that witnesses of an accident case could have benefited in any way at all for being a 'witness'?

4. What may the possible outcome be?

I thank you for any help in advanced. My friend is now very extremely dejected as he has just gotten his license

and intended to use it to feed his family. And though he admitted his mistake and intended to take responsibility

over the case, he surely wasn't expecting a "hit and run"..

Your 'frd' should just feign ignorance and drive off...this is how baxtards in the real world survive well and prosper.

Although I don't encourage such behaviour which I had mentioned.....but...

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT MOST SINKIES DO TO EACH OTHER! :D

Dear Gearoil, I know that would have been the easier way out, but I have my fullest support

for my friend who choose to take responsibility.

Even saying so, what's done cannot be undone.. Have you had a similliar experience before?

1. How long does the van need to be at IDAC for? based on last experience at sin ming, 1hr if not crowded.

Thanks for the info Qpik...

Tell ur fren to contact the owner of the car to do a private settlement.. dun have to worry about his licence kanna suspense or revoked cos this won't happen unless he hit some1.. if not just let them claim the insurance and ask ur fren to tell his company that he willing to pay for the amt which the insurance claim fig.. Hit and run means alot... Just hope tat ur fren didn't hit a less than 3yo car..

Your 'frd' should just feign ignorance and drive off...this is how baxtards in the real world survive well and prosper.

Although I don't encourage such behaviour which I had mentioned.....but...

THIS IS EXACTLY WHAT MOST SINKIES DO TO EACH OTHER! :D

TS asking for help... asking for constructive suggestions...

you talk c--k and rub it in...

tsk tsk... -_-

Tell ur fren to contact the owner of the car to do a private settlement.. dun have to worry about his licence kanna suspense or revoked cos this won't happen unless he hit some1.. if not just let them claim the insurance and ask ur fren to tell his company that he willing to pay for the amt which the insurance claim fig.. Hit and run means alot... Just hope tat ur fren didn't hit a less than 3yo car..

Hi SGCMmaomao, may I ask why the mention about a "less than 3yo car"? What kind of differences will it make to the claims?

Dear Ken4555, its alright. I know how Gearoil feels. Cause that's the usual remarks gotten when seeking

advice of alot of people.. =)

But I stand firm by my friend and applaud him for not 'escaping' from the accident.

Edited by E_b_l_s

seriously........ i think it will just end up with the car's insurance claiming your friend's insurance, after your friend makes an offical statement... hit and run case i guess will depend on your statement and see if police wanna take action... but no injuries and car in a lot... hmmmm...

as for the 'left a note', no offense but i seriously doubt your friend left a note... cause there is no reason for the car not to call your frd for private settlement but instead to go through this long and troublesome way of getting the claim? no make sense...... unless it was a ferrari?.... or the whole door came out?

so advise to speak to the car owners to settle private if still can?

i know you believe your frd bro... but i dont know your frd... and did you really see the note? no right?... i am not doubting your friendship... just doubting your frd... pls dont get offended...

hope all turns out well for your frd...

No prob Ken4555, though I wasn't there to witness the situation, I will give my friend the benefit of doubt.

Coming to the note that my friend left, I am curious to know if witnesses to an accident will be benefited.. Monetary rewards probably?

Dear Ken4555, its alright. I know how Gearoil feels. Cause that's the usual remarks gotten when seeking

advice of alot of people.. =)

But I stand firm by my friend and applaud him for not 'escaping' from the accident.

less than 3yo car, most of the workshop will CHANGE NEW parts to the car instead of knocking it back...eg, scr door, they will change a new door.. they will earn many many from it.. for cars more than 3yo, they will try to knock the damage parts back to the max..

No prob Ken4555, though I wasn't there to witness the situation, I will give my friend the benefit of doubt.

Coming to the note that my friend left, I am curious to know if witnesses to an accident will be benefited.. Monetary rewards probably?

Innocent unless proven otherwise.

Now i worry for my friend. The car's license plate starts with SJQ.

Is there any way that I can find out the original registration date of the car using its license plate number?

I know and remember it can be done, just that I have searched through LTA and One Motoring but to no avail...

TS asking for help... asking for constructive suggestions...

you talk c--k and rub it in...

tsk tsk... -_-

What I had mentioned to TS is exactly for low class Sinkie like you....

Of course, if Sinkie was high Class...'he would reply as in TS frd case..

'So what...what they want to claim from me?...tell that to my lawyer lah..O.K?'

But the above is not for you...

You would go round breaking laws and whether the State or some private individual pursue you for it is NOT the point..

The point is ...

You don't learnt anything good in life at all and have all the wrong notions about what life is for you!

Sorries....can't help there. :D

What I had mentioned to TS is exactly for low class Sinkie like you....

Of course, if Sinkie was high Class...'he would reply as in TS frd case..

'So what...what they want to claim from me?...tell that to my lawyer lah..O.K?'

But the above is not for you...

You would go round breaking laws and whether the State or some private individual pursue you for it is NOT the point..

The point is ...

You don't learnt anything good in life at all and have all the wrong notions about what life is for you!

Sorries....can't help there. :D

老虎,老鼠,傻傻分不清楚!