Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 Here is what I have done last year. I have 3 kids all in different schools. Total School Bus cost/Month = $450. I bought a 2nd hand car for my wife to do the job (paid cash for it). Yes its higher cost but I roughly calculated the cost of : a. Insurance b. Depreciation cost/year c. Roadtax d. Petrol e. Repairs f. MSCP And it cost me $800/mth or $350 more Remember, many times my children will miss the RETURN School Bus due to school activities... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 If you have a few kids in the same area, can share a cab. Surely less than the amount you are paying. Somemore save on time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 i dont think ts was complaining but judging by his post he's looking more for clarification as there is a time gap between his 1st child and 2nd child taking the school bus he just want to know what contribute to the price increase take a step back bro not all forumers come in to complain but rather to seek other views even though the views might not be agreeable In Sinkland, there is never a need to seek for 'price clarifiactions' on any price increase. If you NOT HAPPY.... then don't pay. Or if you are more resourceful, find a cheaper alternative. You can... 'want to know'.... until the 'cows come home from grazing from dawn to dusk' ... It still doesn't make any differenece to your outcome. YOU STILL HAVE TO PAY! I thought a Sinkie would have learnt such BASICS about life here in SINKLAND! Or are youi still in denial mood? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 seat belt is a one time cost. not recurring like petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 I understand that last time they can take in more children/bus but with SeatBelts fixed they have to limit it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 6, 2011 Author Share January 6, 2011 Dist by car is only 10mins but my poor girl is the first to board, last to alight. Sorry bros, just to clarify, i am paying $300 per term, which is abt 2.5mth...... Happened to my P1 2nd kid too. 1st to board at around 6:15am, though so near (actually 10 mins distance). But reached school at 7:20am. So I've decided to drive him to school. Better still now, the 1st kid also joined in. Save even more. So it seems to me that driving does have its benefit in saving cost, not entirely negative equity . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Passion 5th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 $108 is like crazy.I remember my time,not too long ago, around 15 years ago when I'm in primary school, bus fee only $25 for to and fro.Slowly increase to $30 when I leave primary school. Now $108? that's is like 3.5 times increase for 10 years? 300% over 10 years which is to say,1 year 30% increase?crazy I would say. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1565ep3 Neutral Newbie January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 wow y so X??? my only 48 per month for 2 way or 30 for 1 way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 My girl K1 we paid $48/month. This year P1, pay $50/month. School is only 1 precinct away. The price of teaching independence. How come you brudders here so ex one? Must be very far away school or elite school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 (edited) In Sinkland, there is never a need to seek for 'price clarifiactions' on any price increase. If you NOT HAPPY.... then don't pay. Or if you are more resourceful, find a cheaper alternative. You can... 'want to know'.... until the 'cows come home from grazing from dawn to dusk' ... It still doesn't make any differenece to your outcome. YOU STILL HAVE TO PAY! I thought a Sinkie would have learnt such BASICS about life here in SINKLAND! Or are youi still in denial mood? are you local? like born and bred Singaporean? because you seem pretty out of this world.. 老虎,老鼠,傻傻分不清楚 ! [laugh] Edited January 6, 2011 by Rainbowbiatch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 $108 is like crazy.I remember my time,not too long ago, around 15 years ago when I'm in primary school, bus fee only $25 for to and fro.Slowly increase to $30 when I leave primary school. Now $108? that's is like 3.5 times increase for 10 years? 300% over 10 years which is to say,1 year 30% increase?crazy I would say. [hur] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ben5266 Supercharged January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 $100 per head. 1 mini bus only takes 20 heads. That's $2k per month nia. If school has 2 sessions, then another $2k. Minus $1k for depreciation, insurance, road tax, diesel and repairs. Left $3k for the driver and another assistant to share. Bo ho than le... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 6, 2011 Author Share January 6, 2011 My girl K1 we paid $48/month. This year P1, pay $50/month. School is only 1 precinct away. The price of teaching independence. How come you brudders here so ex one? Must be very far away school or elite school. Hence the reason I wanted to check around here to find out the average that others are paying. It seems to me that there is a great disparity in prices between schools and transports companies. I wonder is there a governing body to monitor the school bus fares? Not far and also not some top schools for my case. May be elite schools got fund to subsidize the school bus fares so fares are a lot lower . Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jordanplus 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 $100 per head. 1 mini bus only takes 20 heads. That's $2k per month nia. If school has 2 sessions, then another $2k. Minus $1k for depreciation, insurance, road tax, diesel and repairs. Left $3k for the driver and another assistant to share. Bo ho than le... they r not only survive by fetching pupils, they do fetching working adults after that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 6, 2011 Author Share January 6, 2011 $100 per head. 1 mini bus only takes 20 heads. That's $2k per month nia. If school has 2 sessions, then another $2k. Minus $1k for depreciation, insurance, road tax, diesel and repairs. Left $3k for the driver and another assistant to share. Bo ho than le... The effort lasted for that hour or so a session and enough to earning a living for 2 ? School holidays can don't work too and still got money to feed you. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear January 6, 2011 Author Share January 6, 2011 $108 is like crazy.I remember my time,not too long ago, around 15 years ago when I'm in primary school, bus fee only $25 for to and fro.Slowly increase to $30 when I leave primary school. Now $108? that's is like 3.5 times increase for 10 years? 300% over 10 years which is to say,1 year 30% increase?crazy I would say. I also cannot understand why child only takes one way home after school, cannot give half price of S$108. which is $54? The school bus driver just said this is to "follow the market practice" and must pay S$84. Wonder what is the rationale here? I mean pay and pay lor but must know paying for what mah. Regards, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mikethm Clutched January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 (edited) I also cannot understand why child only takes one way home after school, cannot give half price of S$108. which is $54? The school bus driver just said this is to "follow the market practice" and must pay S$84. Wonder what is the rationale here? I mean pay and pay lor but must know paying for what mah. Regards, Actually all of you know what you all paying for but live by the attitude that " I earn more can but others cannot." Using the kind of logic you all using... you go MD see burger $3 fries $2 and drink $1. BUT Combo is $5. Then you will ask why they cannot just sell you the burger for $2.5. They sell you burger at $3 is ripping you off? What more a bus service where lost opportunity due to intangible product cannot be made up for unlike MD's burger which if you dun eat someone else can walk in buy and eat. On the journey to school, 20 kids go and on the return journey only 10 want to take the bus. They can say "Oh only 10 kids not economic I dun want to take... I go take nap then go fetch factory workers at 5pm better..." can? Only those whose kids are not among the 10 would come out here and kpkb say can. It is fair blah blah blah. If the bus driver change 1/2 price for one way trip and decide not to fetch return journey due to economic factors... then the parents of the 10 kids needing to fetched home will kpkb complain to school and start a thread on MCF. Next someone else will ask why still have to pay during holidays machiam like holiday the minibus no need depreciate, no need pay road tax, the driver no need eat etc etc etc. Not to mention that 5 years ago, eat hawker food plus soft drink $3 enough liao. Now need $4. Cost of living increase? Then I deserve a pay increment to make up for it mah. The bus driver? NO NEED LAH. He eat grass can liao. 2 person share $3K more than enough lah. They wanna eat hawker, food court or resturant??? Resturant is for deserving people like me OK!!! PS. I think the $3K for an hour work figure is ridiculous. 1st to and fro is 2hours, not one. $1K depreciation, petrol etc etc is also on the low side. A person who can afford to buy a minibus for $75K will work for $1.5K per month... Oh he just work for fun and love kids especially your adorable kids? You use capital deserve returns others no need return on capital? The barriers to entry to the school bus market isn't all that high... If they are really earning shiok shiok... everybody will be rushing in... Did anyone of you encourage your kids by saying " Study hard hor. Then next time you can drive school bus and earn shiok shiok big money!" Edited January 6, 2011 by Mikethm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear January 6, 2011 Share January 6, 2011 How come I am paying $300 for 2-way for my girl??? My girl is attending K1 this yr. Is your name Robert? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...