Oregon 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Dunno what is the official name for this but its the the box where you have to give way to SBS bus exiting the bus stop. Anyway it has arrived in my neighbourhood and I don't really know how it works. All this new rules....blur liao..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 its LLST give way Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 (edited) Be prepared to get rear ended by those kuku drivers behind. Modulate your speed and anticipate stunts by bus drivers. Edited January 13, 2011 by Kangadrool Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pelican 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 meaning when bus is moving off from the bus stop, you have to stop Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoytusa84 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 My area had it long ago but apparently its useless.. No one stopped! And if langa from behind u think bus driver will stopped and help? They will just slowly drive their bus away and leave you to settle your own problem haha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrbms 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 wif box or no box no diff cos our island's FTs/captains will charge their cos' tanks out of bus bays like you weren't ther Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingarm 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 better stop if u r moving, n avoid stopping inside if there is a jam... Buses are equipped with cameras... if u stop inside, they just flip the switch and u r caught... fine is 130dlrs and donno got point or not.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unfair 3rd Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 better stop if u r moving, n avoid stopping inside if there is a jam... Buses are equipped with cameras... if u stop inside, they just flip the switch and u r caught... fine is 130dlrs and donno got point or not.... i saw one kuku LTA guy in the morning filming with hand held camcorder at tampines bus stop lor. No tripod or anything. Wonder how his hand can tahan... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 read here if you dont know http://www.onemotoring.com.sg/publish/onem...y_give_way.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GLZT 6th Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 The one that cause RadX to get rear end by a malaysian bike? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Just avoid taking the left most lane. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 You just have to treat it as a yellow box. If the yellow box is right at the traffic light....you will just have to stop your car outside the box, leaving a very wide space between your car and the traffic light's stop line. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Oregon 1st Gear January 13, 2011 Author Share January 13, 2011 Thanks for pointing our the Onemotoring info Dafansu. However unlike zebra crossing when you can see the person going to cross the road the bus exiting is a little vague. I'm not used to judging whether to stop, as in JAM BRAKE or slow down and drive past. Need more practice I think. Someone wrote in the ST that this is not an internationally common rule and as such can have some new FT drivers langgar your backside. How the Scheme Works The Mandatory Give-Way to Buses Scheme is similar conceptually to a zebra crossing, except that it is meant for buses. When nearing a bus stop under this scheme, motorists will first see triangular give way markings on the road. These markings indicate that motorists approaching these bus stops need to slow down and watch in case buses are pulling out of the bus bay. Motorists come to a complete stop before the give way line and give way to buses exiting the bus bay at the location. Motorists may continue their journey once the bus has successfully exited the bus bay and no other buses are pulling out from the bus bay. It will be a traffic offence if motorists do not give way to buses exiting from bus bays where the new road markings are drawn or if they stay in the yellow box marked 'Give Way to Buses'. The penalty for each offence is a fine of $130 (no demerit points). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Thanks for pointing our the Onemotoring info Dafansu. However unlike zebra crossing when you can see the person going to cross the road the bus exiting is a little vague. I'm not used to judging whether to stop, as in JAM BRAKE or slow down and drive past. Need more practice I think. Someone wrote in the ST that this is not an internationally common rule and as such can have some new FT drivers langgar your backside. How the Scheme Works The Mandatory Give-Way to Buses Scheme is similar conceptually to a zebra crossing, except that it is meant for buses. When nearing a bus stop under this scheme, motorists will first see triangular give way markings on the road. These markings indicate that motorists approaching these bus stops need to slow down and watch in case buses are pulling out of the bus bay. Motorists come to a complete stop before the give way line and give way to buses exiting the bus bay at the location. Motorists may continue their journey once the bus has successfully exited the bus bay and no other buses are pulling out from the bus bay. It will be a traffic offence if motorists do not give way to buses exiting from bus bays where the new road markings are drawn or if they stay in the yellow box marked 'Give Way to Buses'. The penalty for each offence is a fine of $130 (no demerit points). for me , just slow down when near to these bus stop, once you are align with the bus and it's not moving just pick up speed if traffic in front is clear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
questionedfish Clutched January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 this bus box thing is really a st*pid idea, as with bus lanes. i think fellow motorists should get wat i mean, esp during jams. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sg2303 2nd Gear January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 Are you talking about the yellow box or the box with a curved arrow? Yellow box = Option 2 Box with curved arrow = Option 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 this bus box thing is really a st*pid idea, as with bus lanes. i think fellow motorists should get wat i mean, esp during jams. if you are taking bus then you wont think it's stupid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged January 13, 2011 Share January 13, 2011 You just have to treat it as a yellow box. If the yellow box is right at the traffic light....you will just have to stop your car outside the box, leaving a very wide space between your car and the traffic light's stop line. exactly, treat it like a yellow box, so far i have no issues with this "give way to bus" scheme since day one..i noticed only those impatient ones who likes to rev engine eg. taxi drivers got problems i think its good that they come out with this..else given the mentality in sg roads that not much pple gives way, how is the bus going to filter out? before this scheme, i gave way to buses(which is nothing wrong), and the cab driver horn me, although in front itself is a 1 km jam..whats the point? i can't move, and he also can't move, whats the point of horning? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...