Massive jam at PIE

Norzahari

I was stuck in the jam this morning, reached my office only at 9 plus instead of the usual 730. Drove past after adam road, saw a body covered with white cloth and from the radio, was believed to be a biker crushed under a lorry. 2 vehicles also kanna backside, maybe trying to stop in time to avoid hitting the body. 4 lanes turned into 1.

RIP to the biker and may all drivers drive safely. Please give way to motorcycles. [grouphug]

Ever told that in Japan, motorcycles called suicide machine. Motorcyclists (except professionals) considered immatured people there.

My observation is that mondays tend to have many accidents.

Here's from CNA report : Major traffic jam due to series of accidents

SINGAPORE: The Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) said Monday morning's major traffic congestion was caused by a series of accidents.

Traffic on the PIE in the direction of Jurong was backed up due to a fatal accident involving a motorcycle, two cars and a lorry.

The SCDF said that they first received a call about the accident, which happened near the Eng Neo exit at about 7.03am.

SCDF paramedics found the motorcycle rider pinned under the right rear tyre of the lorry and had to be extricated.

He was pronounced dead at 7.40am.

Police said he was a Malay man in his early 30s.

-CNA/ac

agreed...

also saw those F1 lorries, with many banglahs sitting behind, travelling at 70-80kmh and cutting from 2nd to 3rd lanes, and vice versa, like nobody business...

really fear the safety of those workers

Any idea whether this F1 lorries are driven by banglahs or who?

I don't have statistics but I noticed many lorries ferrying banglahs are their fellow banglahs.

Not to generalise but I thinking maybe the drivers are promoted from the fellow foreign workers.

Anyone in the know can share?

OT abit.

Anyone travelling on PIE towards changi?

Noticed the jam from the accident area stretching to BKE? the accident got nothing to do with the direction towards changi, yet still jam. Journey is smooth once cleared the accident area. lol?

whats wrong with fellow sgpreans. too many aunties uncles looking out for 4Ds?? [hur][hur][hur]

Edited by Lamzh87

OT abit.

Noticed the jam from the accident area stretching to BKE? the accident got nothing to do with the direction towards changi, yet still jam. Journey is smooth once cleared the accident area. lol?

whats wrong with fellow sgpreans. too many aunties uncles looking out for 4Ds?? [hur][hur][hur]

Always happens whenever there's an accident.

Rubberneckers. [rolleyes]

Therefore, end of the day, all the risks are transferred to the unfortunate drivers or motorists that got involved in a collision with these giants.

Motorcycles lane splitting and speeding good vehicles and lorries are recipe for disaster [shakehead]

Any idea whether this F1 lorries are driven by banglahs or who?

I don't have statistics but I noticed many lorries ferrying banglahs are their fellow banglahs.

Not to generalise but I thinking maybe the drivers are promoted from the fellow foreign workers.

Anyone in the know can share?

I used to have the same opinion as you as I felt that most of the speeding drivers are FT drivers. I started to "lookout" for these drivers and I noticed that most of them are young drivers and some are even provisional drivers. I also notice that a lot of these drivers are "ah lau" drivers as well, old fart that drives like they own the road. And finally, lots of the heavy vehicles (Buses and lorries) from "boleh land".

IMO, it is just the TP not working hard enough to warn the slow moving vehicles on the faster lane.

Hence, it is not really just the FT drivers but all the drivers of these vehicles are guilty.

TP TP, where are u ?

OT abit.

Yalor, 1st I tot PIE towards Changi also got accident then realised when saw the accident the other side. :angry:

Anyway hope the rider RIP [:(]

Last time I ever went to TP and the people told me that most of them who are on the ball are mostly ended up behind the desk, why? The reason being most of them are already broken their legs, hands and can't ride anymore. We only see one side of the story which you are being book for some offenses, but those that really go all out to get the speeder or heavy vehicle will in the end get themselves injured or killed.

This was already more that 15+ years ago, which could be the reason why now a days TP will not go after any speeder as they are also doing their job only, why risk their limbs due to this? Except for those highway patrol in WRX, those riding motorbike are basically risking their life just to get someone booked.

Another thing is so far of all my friend that ride motorbike, I have not seen anyone who claim that they have never get into accident, be it fall themselves or get into accident with another vehicle. So that is just how dangerous motorbike is.

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...540-215634.html

I don't know why everyone like to straight away conclude that it is the lorry at fault.

From the newspaper article, it was the 2 cars that knock down the biker

The lorry behind just happen to run over the biker after he flung out of the bike.

Nothing can be done to avoid this even if the lorry was going at 30km/h

Maybe someone should write to LTA or TP and ask them to remove the speed limit on these vehicles.

Some of them are not even displaying the sticker anymore.

Makes no difference and no worries for retrenchments within the enforcement departments since they are not enforced anyway.

I only see one organisation's vehicles still "faithfully" following the speed limits of 50kmh and 70km/h without making any noise.

Even when speed limits are raised to 60km/h, they are still following the 50km/h limit.

They always have a VC beside them dude. [laugh]

Nowdays morning go to work, go PIE, Jam... Go ECP, Jam... everywhere jam jam jam, can bua loti and eat already.

Only Nicoll Highway not really jam.

I live in the east

Is West Coast Highway suppose to be class as a "highway"? From morning 8am onward till evening hours u can see heavy vehicles on all three lanes. :angry:

TP working hard ok! u think it is easy to hide on overhead bridge or behind bush to take photo? need to be patient and have very still hands. if not go back how to answer to madam commissioner?

PIE so jialat leh... why huh? Last Sat nearly involve in a chain collision after Eng Neo exit (to changi)....heng i maintain a safe distance from the car infront of me and heng the taxi behind me does the same thing [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

Last Saturday afternoon also has a 4 vehicle chain collision on PIE after Paya Lebar towards Tuas direction.

3 cars and the last is a Van, on Lane 1.

Good Luck to the van driver [rifle] .

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...540-215634.html

I don't know why everyone like to straight away conclude that it is the lorry at fault.

From the newspaper article, it was the 2 cars that knock down the biker

The lorry behind just happen to run over the biker after he flung out of the bike.

Nothing can be done to avoid this even if the lorry was going at 30km/h

second you.. even if its a car treavellin on the lorry lane.. if the biker flung right infront of it.. no matter how good ur brakes or reaction time to brake also cannot be avoided. hear say is 1 car go langar the biker..causing biker to langa another car infront and the rider flung right into the path of the lorry.. hmmm

I ride motorcycle everyday and drive car occasionally. Motorcycle riding is mostly safe IF you follow all the safety procedures and good habits - no speeding, check blind spots, etc, very simple stuff. Before I ride, I used to drive everyday for past 15 years. Knowing the driving habits of sg drivers, I make sure that as far as possible, I take my own precautions instead of assuming that the drivers follow the rules.

So here are some helpful pointers for all you drivers out there with regards to road safety for riders:

1. Check your blind spots and signal in advance before turning, switching lanes! If not, you can easily side-swap a rider which is enough to cause him to fall, and be run over by someone else.

2. Stop or go very slowly and look out for oncoming bikes when exiting a slip road. They are smaller in profile so you might miss them coming at you if you don't look carefully.

3. At a T or cross junction, please do not suddenly accelerate to beat the amber to red light. If you really must, please flash high beam to alert the rider on the opposite turning right. If not, he might assume that you are slowing down and he might move off. If you chiong and he moves off, the consequence will be bad.

4. Do not tailgate a rider!! Tailgating a car, ok, if he stops suddenly, you hit his boot. Car damage, person mostly no big problem. Tailgating a rider, he might jam brake to avoid road debri (e.g. fallen goods, branches and a whole lot of possibilities), you hit him, he dies.

These are some basic driving habits and I am very sure all drivers can adopt. Happy driving and be safe. Thank you.