Massive jam at PIE

Norzahari

hmm....true also

but what i want to highlight is that no matter you are driving a small bike or big truck, as long as the driver road hog then is not right

just that i feel that it is more irritating for a bike to road hog when they can easily speed up or filter to the left and give way.

I believe biker should be more aware of their surrounding compare to a car driver who sit in the comfort of enclosed air-con space and audio system.

A lot of bikers take it for granted that cars will give way to them. Correct me if i'm wrong car drivers most of the time on the losing end if collision with bikes.

I may not have my license to ride or drive yet, however, i do believe that each one of us has to play a part in looking out for each other. Sure, a bike occupying the lane and riding slowly does irk many, however, the "escape route" for a bike should a car cut into its lane/path is also much more than a car, for they can weave and find alternative "escape route" other than being stuck in their lanes, like what it would be if it's a car. The driver's view from the Class 4/5 Lorries out can be quite intimidating too, since they're sitting so high up, especially the Prime Movers. Try sitting in the driver's seat of a Prime Mover and you'll know what i mean.

So for bikers, do not EVER assume that cars would signal before they change lanes. You should have known by now that the culture of signalling here "is a sign of weakness". Always keep a look out, and have that anticipative mind, furthermore, should there be slow traffic or jams, please don't do 60kmh lane splitting between cars. Reduce the speed to 30-40kmh. You really don't want to risk it.

And the reality is, there're many reasons why people want to own a motorbike, even though the bike and biker is at a higher risk compared to a 4-wheeler should there be an accident. 1)Cheap mode-of-transport, 2)Interest- Passion for riding, 3)Self-awareness (Don't see the need to drive a car since it's only himself travelling around) etc.

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story...540-215634.html

I don't know why everyone like to straight away conclude that it is the lorry at fault.

From the newspaper article, it was the 2 cars that knock down the biker

The lorry behind just happen to run over the biker after he flung out of the bike.

Nothing can be done to avoid this even if the lorry was going at 30km/h

because this is my car forum. not my lorry forum. ppl here especially a certain group of ppl, seem to be like finding every single chance to blame lorry, van, etc. from their mindset, car is the best of the world (cause they drive car).

thanks for clarifying the fact, if not, this thread will become blaming lorry thread again.

see now that no one talk about why there is a collision of motocycle and the car. and all the attention is how dangerous to ride a motocycle.

again, this is a car forum.

yeah i myself once a rider too.. so i know how a biker would behave while on the road.. those who never rode a bike for some good time before on the roads will never know how a biker feel. those who claimed that bikers are pest go try riding a bike one day urself.. why i say that?

You stay within the lane following behind other cars, 1 bugger will come from behind and tailgate you trying to "force" you out of the lane. Yet when you squeeze in between lanes, either you are being labelled as reckless or either that some bugger will change lane without checking blindspots attempting to knock you down. so which is which?

Well, 95% of bikers I see on the road do this:

1. Lane straddling at high speeds when traffic is slow moving. When one long line of bikers do this, it is almost impossible to switch lanes without slowly inching out. They are being their own pest in this situation, all it takes is for a fender to suddenly appear to send them flying to heaven. I'm ok with lane straddling during jams, but doing that at high speeds is asking for early death certificate to be issued to them.

2. Again, lane straddling even when traffic is smooth. And when they feel like it, they just cut in front of my car and travel at their own grandmother speed without keeping up with the traffic in front, causing me to brake to in order not to run them down. Tell me how not to tailgate them?

So, tell me, are bikers pests or not? I'm sure a lot of other peeps have the same observations as me as well.

Agreed. Simply because lorry drivers are the easiest to point finger at.

All car drivers are angels. [rolleyes]

totally agree wit u....car drivers are "angels" even for those drivers whose road hogg at 60-80km at 2rd lane/1st lane...

http://motoring.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/...117-258641.html

seems that a picanto and an impreza are the two cars that causes the biker to fall.

Can't really see any damage on the picanto but the rear of the impreza seems to be hit by the biker?

I will say the lorry driver is the innocent one, he was there at the wrong place and wrong time.

From the look of it, it seems that the biker crashed to the back of the Impeza and fall onto the path of the truck. My guess is that the speed of the bike must be fast otherwise it will not be able to cause such damage to the back of the Impeza.

I have nothing against biker but I had a personal experience and I would have kill the biker if I had not brake in time. I was travelling on the right lane on KJE towards CCK and at the Y junction between PIE and KJE, a biker on the left lane chnages his mind to cut across my car towards PIE. I E braked, horned and my car almost hit the railing. If I was not alert at the moment, I would have probably sent the rider to hell. The worst part is when I overtook his bike after the incident, the Farker look at me and gave me that "look". WTF .... I was really pissed....

I have to say that some Bikers are asking for it .....

TP working hard ok! u think it is easy to hide on overhead bridge or behind bush to take photo? need to be patient and have very still hands. if not go back how to answer to madam commissioner?

I'm a project worker who drives at least 100km daily to my various worksites via small roads & xways, the last time i saw a TP on the road was abt 2yrs ago.. ok, i've seen them on bridges many many times..

I agree as well, hardly see any TP on the road nowadays .... even those on the WRX ....

No wonder all the slow moving vehicles are driving on Lane 1 on the major expressway ... "Bo zheng Hu".

Well, 95% of bikers I see on the road do this:

1. Lane straddling at high speeds when traffic is slow moving. When one long line of bikers do this, it is almost impossible to switch lanes without slowly inching out. They are being their own pest in this situation, all it takes is for a fender to suddenly appear to send them flying to heaven. I'm ok with lane straddling during jams, but doing that at high speeds is asking for early death certificate to be issued to them.

2. Again, lane straddling even when traffic is smooth. And when they feel like it, they just cut in front of my car and travel at their own grandmother speed without keeping up with the traffic in front, causing me to brake to in order not to run them down. Tell me how not to tailgate them?

So, tell me, are bikers pests or not? I'm sure a lot of other peeps have the same observations as me as well.

I also notice those ah laos riders mostly ride in the whole lane without lane splitting, they are doing the right thing..although they are hogging at times..what i'm curious is how come those new riders who got their licence practice lane splitting? is it a monkey see monkey do? or just to fit in?

if enough bikers respect their own lives, the motorists in other vehicle types will start to behave as well. It takes 2 hands to clap.

Any bikers care to comment?

Edited by Darthrevan

very true, nowadays I c lorries n vans on lane 2 n not as frequently but u will c them on lane 1 at times as well, usually those vans with young drivers.

some motorcyclists are juz damn reckless. Juz last nite as I was turing to drive up the ramp in a MSCP, I almost collided into this scooter (mind u a rider in his 40s or 50s) becoz this joker was riding his bike down an up ramp juz to save himself some time from taking the proper exit. He was going against the flow of traffic.

Luckily for him, I wasn't those WRX wannabe who speed in MSCP. Brake in time n he was visibly shaken but juz siam his bike n drove off.

Motorcycles lane splitting and speeding good vehicles and lorries are recipe for disaster [shakehead]

That is the problem, when the whole enforcement is neglected, the road traffic conditions deterroriated.

And to think that our TP still believes in educating the drivers via tv commercials or talks/exhibitions.

If education had worked, the roads would have been a much better place to drive, ride amd cycle.

10-20 years ago, majority of the drivers are locals and a small percentage of foreigners. Today, we have a larger percentage of foreigners driving on the roads that brings their driving culture here that is not suitable on our roads, but this time with lesser enforcements.

I used to have the same opinion as you as I felt that most of the speeding drivers are FT drivers. I started to "lookout" for these drivers and I noticed that most of them are young drivers and some are even provisional drivers. I also notice that a lot of these drivers are "ah lau" drivers as well, old fart that drives like they own the road. And finally, lots of the heavy vehicles (Buses and lorries) from "boleh land".

IMO, it is just the TP not working hard enough to warn the slow moving vehicles on the faster lane.

Hence, it is not really just the FT drivers but all the drivers of these vehicles are guilty.

TP TP, where are u ?

Lately I also noticed another type of speeding vehicles besides lorries and trucks.

These are the minibuses with "PA/PB/PC" plates. Most of them belongs to tour agencies and you can always see them speeding down and lane cutting on ECP towards airport.

The lack of enforcement is causing 1 problem after another.

The removal of speed limiters is the starting point, followed by the sudden disappearance of TP.

In the end, everything will balloon until it's out of control. When TP tries to clamp down, these companies/drivers who are so used to speeding will make some noise and ask for concessions. And when TP gives in, everything is back to square one.

I also notice those ah laos riders mostly ride in the whole lane without lane splitting, they are doing the right thing..although they are hogging at times..what i'm curious is how come those new riders who got their licence practice lane splitting? is it a monkey see monkey do? or just to fit in?

if enough bikers respect their own lives, the motorists in other vehicle types will start to behave as well. It takes 2 hands to clap.

Any bikers care to comment?

i ride to work every day..

no probs with most driver.. except someeeee...

ride in b/w lane sometimes when traffic is high.. keep to slower lane and only on fastest lane during wee hours when there are no cars on the road.

my prob with some drivers (im a driver as well), usually cab and aunties, are they would miss out on blind spot. or they dun even check their sides.

a few times, i would come close to meeting hades.

there are a few dreadful new riders that would send me into rage at times too,looking at the way they put danger on themselves and other road users.

Last time I ever went to TP and the people told me that most of them who are on the ball are mostly ended up behind the desk, why? The reason being most of them are already broken their legs, hands and can't ride anymore. We only see one side of the story which you are being book for some offenses, but those that really go all out to get the speeder or heavy vehicle will in the end get themselves injured or killed.

This was already more that 15+ years ago, which could be the reason why now a days TP will not go after any speeder as they are also doing their job only, why risk their limbs due to this? Except for those highway patrol in WRX, those riding motorbike are basically risking their life just to get someone booked.

Another thing is so far of all my friend that ride motorbike, I have not seen anyone who claim that they have never get into accident, be it fall themselves or get into accident with another vehicle. So that is just how dangerous motorbike is.

First of all, TPs chose this job, so they should have fully understood the risks associated with it and they are paid for it, unlike those volunteer cops whom are paid a small amount hourly.

If the heads over at TP knows these are the risks their men are exposed to, they can try to implement many other ways to carry on their enforcements. In fact there are infrastructures available for them, it is whether they want to make use of it a not.

1. On a 3 lane expressway, permit them to trave on lane 3 only and on a 4 lane expressway, lanes 3 and 4. Lanes 1 and 2 are permanently banned unless there are exit points on the right or traffic accidents/blockage on lanes 3 and 4. Simple and yet effecitve measure to enforce speed limits coz those who want to exceed the speed limit are slowed down by the other slower moving vehicles in front. A fine for straying into other lanes will keep these drivers in check.

2. Drivers like to play cat and mouse game with TP. Now with so many cameras mounted on the roads, TP just need to get some of their desk bound guys to man the console. They could bring back the flashing orange flashing lights, excuse given then for their removal is they can't clear some MSCP. Fine, mount them at the A pillar above the side mirror and align with the roof of the lorry/van. No more excuses or protruding objects as the side mirror protrudes more than the flashing light. TP can monitor the number of beeps from those road mounted cameras to determine the estimated speeds with recorded footage.

3. Many excuses given by delivery drivers caught for speeding is because they have deadlines to meet. In that case, if a commericial vehicle is booked for speeding related offences, fine the employer as well. This will make employers have a stake and responsibility of the driver's actions.

4. The use of overhead cameras is a powerful physological tool. TP can randomly monitor 1 or 2 expressways/roads while drivers on the road don't know which one they are looking at. Most would not want to take the risk and get caught.

5. If they wish to depend on technology, then install GPS tracking to replace the flashing orange lights. Other further measures thay can take is to install these GPS trackers or flashing orange lights on passenger cars that are caught frequently for speeding offences.

6. Impound the vehicle for a period of time if it had been caught for xx times within a certain period. Owner pays for storage fees or it could still be parked at the owner's premises, but with a court seal on the ignition keyhole to prevent usage.

All these measures can get the TPs off the roads yet provided a more deterrent measures.

Camera recordings can also be used in court proceedings.

Wei Wei... sorry to go OT...

Your 21" got custom make rims or not.

I would like to make a set of 18" with the below design.

hello20kitty20rims.jpg

Or do you have "sand blasting" then just polishing services?

Last time I ever went to TP and the people told me that most of them who are on the ball are mostly ended up behind the desk, why? The reason being most of them are already broken their legs, hands and can't ride anymore. We only see one side of the story which you are being book for some offenses, but those that really go all out to get the speeder or heavy vehicle will in the end get themselves injured or killed.

This was already more that 15+ years ago, which could be the reason why now a days TP will not go after any speeder as they are also doing their job only, why risk their limbs due to this? Except for those highway patrol in WRX, those riding motorbike are basically risking their life just to get someone booked.

Another thing is so far of all my friend that ride motorbike, I have not seen anyone who claim that they have never get into accident, be it fall themselves or get into accident with another vehicle. So that is just how dangerous motorbike is.

perhaps that also the reason why seldom see TP bikes... so dangerous!

I think drivers like to speed in tunnels because the sense of security and less distraction.

I suggest LTA to plant taller shrubs in the center divider of expressway or install concrete isolating blocks, to reduce one side drivers seeing the other side.

This way each driver only concentrate his front and traffic will be smoother!

i think it will be worse people will try to even slower to try to see

Well, I reckon u nv rode a bike before. When bikers travel on left lane, the heavy vehicle drivers are less tolerant of bikers. They will tailgate, high beam and even horn. So they take centre lane, most bikers will move over to left lane when safe for you to overtake la if they traveling slowly.

Like you said bikes are small, heavy big vehicles like to bully. Think about the characters who are driving heavy vehicles in general, they are not usually the best at tolerance or patience.

2 bikes in one lane is definitely a no no. If any bike hits pothole or stuff on the road they will skid and knock into each other.

if people driving cars are already so lazy to check blind spot, how about the people driving heavy vehicles with so many more blindspots.

forcing motorcyclists into leftmost lane is an invitation to trouble