KARTer 2nd Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_625821.html Gahmen goot goot THE green light has been given by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) for the alignment of the North-South Expressway (NSE) between Admiralty Road West and Toa Payoh Rise. The new expressway - with construction expected to start from 2013 and finish by 2020 - will run parallel to the Central Expressway (CTE) to serve the north-south corridor, as announced by the LTA on Wednesday. Careful planning has been conducted to determine the alignment, planning and engineering requirements necessary to cater to the densely populated areas that the NSE will run through. Efforts have been made to ensure minimal impact to the public. Planning, engineering and alignment studies for the southern segment of the NSE are still ongoing. When completed, NSE will be Singapore's 11th expressway. Now, the CTE - the only expressway serving the north-south corridor - experiences heavy traffic in the northern and central part of Singapore during peak hours. Even with the CTE widening project being completed by end 2011, traffic along this north-south corridor is expected to continue growing. Shouldn't this be planned / started building many years ago when gahmen knew our population will hit 5-6million (like now) so that we wont have the traffic congestions we see today?..... a BIG mistake and lack of foresight / planning........... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Proton_neutron 1st Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 Shouldn't this be planned / started building many years ago when gahmen knew our population will hit 5-6million (like now) so that we wont have the traffic congestions we see today?..... a BIG mistake and lack of foresight / planning........... Our government don't work by faith- planning in foresight before the actual problems arise. Instead they'll only work on an existing problem. In any case, why would a city like ours not have any jams? That would be quite scary you know. It'll make it seem that Singapore is not popular and all. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 So when the traffic ends at Toa Payoh rise and then joint to which road? Thomson??? Shift all the cars to Thomson road is suicidal.... :angry: Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic January 20, 2011 Author Share January 20, 2011 looks like a lame E-way to me. the jam at CTE will still be there... duhz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andylau1177 Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 I thought they are going to scrap the ERP and implement GPS-pay-as-you-use? ERP is only in the CBD areas NO? thats even worse [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Berncsp76 6th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 You guys already start talking about government collecting money from ERP gantries, but do keep in mind it would cost money to build the expressway in the first place. I'm just happy that there will eventually be another option to travel out from the Northeast. Cost of building the new expressway would be to collect more ERP from other expressways + 10%GST + higher COE Until now LTA havent announce the cost of building and demolishing the temporary link bridge in CBD area, which dun really serve any purpose and creates more jams + congestions instead. Another from the elites of the LTA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 So when the traffic ends at Toa Payoh rise and then joint to which road? Thomson??? Shift all the cars to Thomson road is suicidal.... :angry: it's wierd that the expressway does not end by joining another expressway. Those that use Cte currently either exits near the city area or proceed on to AYE. At least KPE allows motorists to proceed on to PIE or ECP. Unless they gonna announce there's a "phase 2" later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SGCMmadman 6th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 my grandma's area named tasek utara estate and norfolk road estate(located near moulmein n bukit timah exits) were cleared in the 80s for the construction of the CTE and even then in 1985 i heard some residents saying tat wif new estates being built in bishan, expansion of AMK,Yishun, Sembawang,Woodlands, Hougang,Serangoon North, and later part Punggol n sengkang, the CTE would not be wide enough to cope wif the plans of the Govt to relocate people to the north of spore, wat was needed was a flyover from say yishun or woodlands onwards all the way to moulmein to ease congestion at the moulmein exit n entrance all the way to AMK especially braddel exit n entrance, PIE entrance n exit located at CTE.... guess scholars at LTA couldnt spend a day jus seeing wif their eyes wat was happening at the jams everyday even wif the ERP.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 (edited) those living along the NSE will be suffering construction, road works, inconvenient and noise pollution for the next 5 to 7 years, after project finish, they will be smelling CO from exhaust and noise pollution for the rest of their lives.....especially for those along viaducts and semi tunnels. unlike MRT, after project finish, property boom! I bet a lot of ppl living along the NSE will be selling their house soon. e.g. Yishun Chong Pang folks, Sembawang & Thomson condos & landed, Seletaris... those underground tunnel property will bommz! Edited January 20, 2011 by Summer69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 So when the traffic ends at Toa Payoh rise and then joint to which road? Thomson??? Shift all the cars to Thomson road is suicidal.... :angry: How come it ends at TPY Rise and not straight to city? Could this be phase 1 of the project? If phase 1 is acceptable and proven to be effective, then they continue phase 2? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 those living along the NSE will be suffering construction, road works, inconvenient and noise pollution for the next 5 to 7 years, after project finish, they will be smelling CO from exhaust and noise pollution for the rest of their lives.....especially for those along viaducts and semi tunnels. unlike MRT, after project finish, property boom! I bet a lot of ppl living along the NSE will be selling their house soon. e.g. Yishun Chong Pang folks, Sembawang & Thomson condos & landed, Seletaris... those underground tunnel property will bommz! Do you know where exactly the NSE will be build? I can't really visualise from the map. Looks like it could be running parallel with NS MRT line, passing thru Yishun, YCK, AMK. It can't be running parallel with Thomson road right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 I thought they are going to scrap the ERP and implement GPS-pay-as-you-use? ERP is only in the CBD areas NO? Everyone, especially folks staying/working outside the greater central part of the island, dreads this pay-as-you-drive system. Some are enjoying the ERP-free roads now but not for long when LTA launches this island-wide "net" to capture all "escape fishes". Imagine you stay in Pasir Ris & probably happily going Changi Village for makan some day. The moment you start your car engine, IU will emit "BEEP" sound & so begins the toll charging till you reach your destination like taking a taxi.. Anyway, for these folks who have been lucky to siam the ERPs this while, this is what I have to say: You can't run, you can't hide so welcome to the club.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_625821.html Gahmen goot goot THE green light has been given by the Land Transport Authority (LTA) for the alignment of the North-South Expressway (NSE) between Admiralty Road West and Toa Payoh Rise. The new expressway - with construction expected to start from 2013 and finish by 2020 - will run parallel to the Central Expressway (CTE) to serve the north-south corridor, as announced by the LTA on Wednesday. Careful planning has been conducted to determine the alignment, planning and engineering requirements necessary to cater to the densely populated areas that the NSE will run through. Efforts have been made to ensure minimal impact to the public. Planning, engineering and alignment studies for the southern segment of the NSE are still ongoing. When completed, NSE will be Singapore's 11th expressway. Now, the CTE - the only expressway serving the north-south corridor - experiences heavy traffic in the northern and central part of Singapore during peak hours. Even with the CTE widening project being completed by end 2011, traffic along this north-south corridor is expected to continue growing. they should have elections more often!! [laugh] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Contax 1st Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 So when the traffic ends at Toa Payoh rise and then joint to which road? Thomson??? Shift all the cars to Thomson road is suicidal.... :angry: It may eventually cut through to Toa Payoh Lor 1 in between philip factory ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 Do you know where exactly the NSE will be build? I can't really visualise from the map. Looks like it could be running parallel with NS MRT line, passing thru Yishun, YCK, AMK. It can't be running parallel with Thomson road right? Yes it is running in parallel with CTE and THomson road..... seiously I really dont think this gonna help. THey should just reduce immigrants... our infrastructure just cannot cope. Best is to slap $5 ERP going theru the gantries... sure work. All cars will be diverted to Thomson road... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Summer69 Clutched January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 (edited) Do you know where exactly the NSE will be build? I can't really visualise from the map. Looks like it could be running parallel with NS MRT line, passing thru Yishun, YCK, AMK. It can't be running parallel with Thomson road right? my guess: starts from Woodlands Ave 12, Gambas Ave, Sembawang road (Chong Pang, Heli Airbase), Yishun Ave 1, Lentor, Ave shoot along AMK Ave 6 to Marymount Rd and straight thru Toa Payoh. Whoa, ppl living North is going to jam like hell, during construction. I think Thomson Rd is spared, due to the nature reserve? Edited January 20, 2011 by Summer69 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voxy28 3rd Gear January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 (edited) Hope this helps Edited January 20, 2011 by Voxy28 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tomsss Neutral Newbie January 20, 2011 Share January 20, 2011 Now let's guess where will they set up the ERP gantries ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...